Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Crosshair V with FX 8350 and (2x4GB) G.SKILL Ripjaws X DDR3 2133 freeze issues

    I have a Crosshair Formula V with an FX 8350 Processor and (2x4GB) G.SKILL Ripjaws X DDR3 2133 (9-11-9-28 1.65V) and the system will freeze randomly including in Memtest-86 4.0a (boot from CD-ISO). I previously had a Phenom II 1100T (running the RAM at 1600) instead of the FX-8350 and it worked perfectly. I thought the CPU was faulty and RMA'ed it but the replacement is doing the exact same thing.

    I have tried it at 1333 and at 1600 but it still randomly freezes. I can get each stick to run just fine for 20+ passes individually but not when they are both in. To clarify I am not trying to get the 2133 speed I just want both sticks to run stable in my system at either 1600 or 1333. I also realize that the ram is not on the qualified list but I had it working just fine with the Phenom II 1100T Processor.

    As a side note I have tested the CPU, RAM, PSU, Graphics card, SDD in another computer they all worked fine. I also tried a fresh install of windows 7 Ultimate (64bit). All drivers are up to date and temps are also good, with nothing above 50°C. I also was recommended to raise the CPU/NB Voltage to 1.32 then to 1.4 from the guys at gskill but that didn't help either

    Here is my current settings and any help would be greatly appreciated

    DRAM CAS# Latency - 9
    DRAM RAS# to CAS# Delay - 11
    DRAM RAS# PRE Time - 9
    DRAM RAS# ACT Time - 28
    DRAM READ to PRE Time - 6
    DRAM RAS# to RAS# Delay - 5
    DRAM WRITE to READ Delay - 6
    DRAM CAS# write latency - 8
    DRAM WRITE Recovery Time - 12
    DRAM REF Cycle Time - 300ns
    DRAM Row Cycle Time - 37
    DRAM READ to WRITE Delay - CHA. 6 CHB. 7
    DRAM WRITE to READ Delay(DD) - 2
    DRAM WRITE to WRITE Timing - 3
    DRAM READ To READ Timing - 5
    DRAM Refresh Rate - Every 7.8ms
    DRAM Command Rate - 2T

    CPU Ratio - 20.0
    CPU Bus Frequency - 200
    Memory Frequency - DDR3-1600MHz

    CPU Manual Voltage - 1.344V (Auto)
    CPU/NB Manual Voltage - 1.400V
    CPU VDDA Voltage - 2.493V (Auto)
    DRAM Voltage - 1.650V
    VDDR - 1.205V
    NB Voltage - 1.08V to 1.10V (Auto set and fluctuating)
    NB HT Voltage - 1.203V
    NB 1.8V Voltage - 1.802V
    VDD PCIE - 1.113V
    SB Voltage - 1.113V

    Everything else is currently set at auto

    Crosshair Formula V (BIOS 1703)
    AMD FX-8350
    (2x4GB) G.SKILL Ripjaws X DDR3 2133 (9-11-9-28 1.65V)
    Antec High Current Pro HCP-1200 1200W
    MSI N450GTS CYCLONE 1GD5/OC GeForce GTS 450 (Fermi) 1GB
    OCZ Vertex 2 (4x60GB RAID0 with RocketRaid 640)
    LG Blu-Ray Burner
    Razer Orochi Mouse
    Logitech G510 Keyboard

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    878

    If you standby testing under the bios manual hardware monitor,have the same problem?(Random freeze,abnormal voltage or temperature)

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by SUKARA@ASUS View Post
    If you standby testing under the bios manual hardware monitor,have the same problem?(Random freeze,abnormal voltage or temperature)
    I assume you mean to leave it on in the BIOS and watch the voltage, temps and if it freezes...

    I have had it on in the BIOS for 9 hours and it seems fine. Temps are good, voltage is steady, and no freezes.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array oldbrave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    240

    The fact that the memory ran just fine with the 1100T chip is completely immaterial because now you have the FX 8350 and the memory controller is completely different and if this memory is not listed then the best you can do is to get some that is listed.
    I would recommend that you get some 1600 memory, then you can just plug it in and have a nice day !
    Electronic Smoke Signals From my TechnoTeepee
    ASUS Crosshair V Formula AM3+ 990FX, 1703 bios
    AMD FX 8350 Vishera @ 5162Mhz [21x245] 1.546v
    Water Cooled - Koolance EX2-1055, CPU 370 WB, Idle=22c Load=52c
    32Gb G.Skill Sniper ddr3 1600 8G X 4 , 9-9-9-24 @ 1.55v
    ASUS HD7970-DC2T-3GD5, Cat 13.5 beta 2, Dell U3011 @ 2560x1600
    SanDisk Extreme 120Gb SSD SATA 6Gb, 250Gb SATA 6Gb, 1Tb SATA 6Gb x2
    Win 7 Ultimate 64bit, Corsair Obsidian 800D, Corsair HX1000w PSU

  5. #5
    imMortal Kombatant Array Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage IV Formula
    ProcessorIntel i7 3930K
    Memory (part number)8GB Corsair XMS3 1600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Radeon 7970 3GD5
    Sound CardROG Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster SA300
    Storage #1Corsair Neutron 128GB
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair A50 Pro Air Cooler
    CaseBitFenix Merc Alpha
    Power SupplyThermaltake Litepower 700W
    Keyboard Alienware TactX Keyboard
    Mouse Tesoro Gandiva H1L
    OS Win7 Ultimate x64
    Myk SilentShadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    5,241

    which slots are you using? red, black or one of each? have you tried notching the RAM voltage up just a little?

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    I have tried both red, both black and one of each with testing them. The two red slots being the most successful. I haven't done anything with the RAM voltage but I have kicked up the CPU/NB voltage. I figured I wouldn't need extra voltage with the RAM as I am not really pushing them since they are listed to handle 2133 and I am only setting them to 1600.

    oldbrave is probably right about getting different ram that is listed. I just hate to see perfectly good ram not being used.

    I am willing to try some other things before giving up though. How much of a voltage increase do you recommend with the RAM?

  7. #7
    imMortal Kombatant Array Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage IV Formula
    ProcessorIntel i7 3930K
    Memory (part number)8GB Corsair XMS3 1600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Radeon 7970 3GD5
    Sound CardROG Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster SA300
    Storage #1Corsair Neutron 128GB
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair A50 Pro Air Cooler
    CaseBitFenix Merc Alpha
    Power SupplyThermaltake Litepower 700W
    Keyboard Alienware TactX Keyboard
    Mouse Tesoro Gandiva H1L
    OS Win7 Ultimate x64
    Myk SilentShadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    5,241

    Maybe 2 bumps, oh and also...have you updated your BIOS at all?

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array skellattarr PC Specs
    skellattarr PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair viii hero
    ProcessorRyzen 9 3950x
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL Trident Z RGB 64GB 4X16 3200MHZ
    Graphics Card #1rog strix gtx 1080
    Sound Cardcreative sound blaster ae-5
    Monitoracer 28inch 4k
    Storage #1Samsung 960 evo 1tb m.2/Mushkin Reactor 1tb ssd
    Storage #23x 3tb hhd/segate 10TB drive
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i
    CaseThermaltake veiw 71 case
    Power Supplycorsair 1200w
    Keyboard Corsair k95 rgb
    Mouse corsair m65 pro rgb
    Mouse Pad corsair mm800 rgb polaris
    Headset/Speakers logitech 5.1
    OS windows 10 pro
    skellattarr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    668

    you can try this ram they work well with this board
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820226274
    amd ryzen 9 3950x
    CROSSHAIR Viii hero
    Corsair Hydro Series H115i
    G.SKILL Trident Z 3200mhz 64gb 4x16 timings 16,18,18,38
    asus rog strix gtx 1080
    TOSHIBA 3TB hdd 3x a total of 9tb, 10 tb hdd and a 1tb mushkin ssd
    corsair axi 1200i 1200 watt psu
    thermal take view 71 case

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array RangerXP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    103

    You might even try going the other way on your vDIMM. I have similliar ram and it is designed to run at 1.5v at 1600. Pushing through too much voltage may have the unintentded consequence. Rule out timing by going to the 800mhz JEDEC 11-11-11-30 @ 1.5 and see if it alleviates what I think you are already aware of.. the ram is faulting. The Phonom II IMC required a lot more voltage to run the same timing.. the FX just works without having to bump up the vDIMM
    CPU:AMD FX-8350 BE @ 4800Mhz C5F 1803
    Clocks: FSB: 200x24 NB:2400Mhz HT:2400 Mem:2133Mhz
    Voltage: CPU:1.50 NB:1.20 HT:1.20 Mem:1.65
    Memory: 8GB Gskill DDR3-2133 (F3-17000CL9D-8GBSR)
    Storage: sysvol: 2x256GB Transcend SSD RAID0 (amd_sata) Game: 128GB SSD Data: 2TB SATA
    GPU: EVGA GTX 680 SC+ SIG 2GB 1254/3105




  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by RangerXP View Post
    You might even try going the other way on your vDIMM. I have similliar ram and it is designed to run at 1.5v at 1600. Pushing through too much voltage may have the unintentded consequence. Rule out timing by going to the 800mhz JEDEC 11-11-11-30 @ 1.5 and see if it alleviates what I think you are already aware of.. the ram is faulting. The Phonom II IMC required a lot more voltage to run the same timing.. the FX just works without having to bump up the vDIMM
    After trying the RAM @ 800mhz 11-11-11-30 @ 1.5v I encountered the same problem of it freezing up just like before. I also tried raising and lowering the voltage as recommended. Still no luck. With that being said....

    I would like some recommendations on new RAM for my system. Optimally I want at least (2x8GB) 16 GB @ 2133mhz. I understand I will need to overclock it a bit and I would like some help with the settings on that as well.

    Here is what I have currently
    Crosshair Formula V (BIOS 1703)
    AMD FX-8350
    (2x4GB running one stick) G.SKILL Ripjaws X DDR3 2133 (9-11-9-28 1.65V)
    Antec High Current Pro HCP-1200 1200W
    MSI N450GTS CYCLONE 1GD5/OC GeForce GTS 450 (Fermi) 1GB
    OCZ Vertex 2 (4x60GB RAID0 with RocketRaid 640)
    LG Blu-Ray Burner
    Razer Orochi Mouse
    Logitech G510 Keyboard

    Thanks for the help!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •