Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    19
    Posts
    128

    ROG Connnect wont adjust CPU Upwards...

    Hi guys,
    Playing with ROG connect for the first time and how cool is it?!
    However... and have an issue.

    No matter what I set the CPU in the bios, the ROG software wont let me go above it.
    I can set it to say, 4.7ghz and then rog will let me adjust any parameter I like, including CPU down, But I can never send the CPU upwards of what its set to in the bios, including having bios set to auto speed.

    Please advise which feature I have moronically forgotten to switch on!

    PC specs in siggy below....
    Last edited by Stu @ MSD; 01-20-2013 at 12:30 PM.

    Asus Maximus IV Extreme Z
    i7 3770K @ 4.4ghz
    AMD 7970 HD x3 in TriFire @ 1200/1800.
    2x 240GHZ OCZ Vertex 3 SSD & 1x 512Gb Vertex 4
    16GB 2133mhz Patriot DDR3
    Ennermax Max Revo 1500w PSU
    Huge water loop with an internal EK 340mm & external Supernova 1260mm
    Windows 7 64 bit.

    Aquaero Fan control & monitoring

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    19
    Posts
    128

    293 views and no words of wisdom?
    Does nobody use this program, or does nobody have this problem?

    Asus Maximus IV Extreme Z
    i7 3770K @ 4.4ghz
    AMD 7970 HD x3 in TriFire @ 1200/1800.
    2x 240GHZ OCZ Vertex 3 SSD & 1x 512Gb Vertex 4
    16GB 2133mhz Patriot DDR3
    Ennermax Max Revo 1500w PSU
    Huge water loop with an internal EK 340mm & external Supernova 1260mm
    Windows 7 64 bit.

    Aquaero Fan control & monitoring

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    19
    Posts
    128

    Can anyone from Asus help me maybe?

    Asus Maximus IV Extreme Z
    i7 3770K @ 4.4ghz
    AMD 7970 HD x3 in TriFire @ 1200/1800.
    2x 240GHZ OCZ Vertex 3 SSD & 1x 512Gb Vertex 4
    16GB 2133mhz Patriot DDR3
    Ennermax Max Revo 1500w PSU
    Huge water loop with an internal EK 340mm & external Supernova 1260mm
    Windows 7 64 bit.

    Aquaero Fan control & monitoring

  4. #4
    ROG AirWays Captain Array TenBlade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    45
    Posts
    815

    K, I´ll give it a try. Look in BIOS to deactivate CPU frequency limit. I´ve only briefly encountered a discussion on that function, so this is the limit of my knowledge. I don´t remember the board or BIOS revision that was discussed, possibly MVF. So, that particular function may not apply to your BIOS...

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    19
    Posts
    128

    Hi,
    I dont appear to have one in my Bios that I know of.

    Maybe it only allows you to downclock, but the instructions dont suggest that.
    Its still handy for Bclock, Core Volts etc, of course, but I guess most of us want to test for faster multipliers.

    Asus Maximus IV Extreme Z
    i7 3770K @ 4.4ghz
    AMD 7970 HD x3 in TriFire @ 1200/1800.
    2x 240GHZ OCZ Vertex 3 SSD & 1x 512Gb Vertex 4
    16GB 2133mhz Patriot DDR3
    Ennermax Max Revo 1500w PSU
    Huge water loop with an internal EK 340mm & external Supernova 1260mm
    Windows 7 64 bit.

    Aquaero Fan control & monitoring

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    19
    Posts
    128

    Any Asus guys free today?

    Asus Maximus IV Extreme Z
    i7 3770K @ 4.4ghz
    AMD 7970 HD x3 in TriFire @ 1200/1800.
    2x 240GHZ OCZ Vertex 3 SSD & 1x 512Gb Vertex 4
    16GB 2133mhz Patriot DDR3
    Ennermax Max Revo 1500w PSU
    Huge water loop with an internal EK 340mm & external Supernova 1260mm
    Windows 7 64 bit.

    Aquaero Fan control & monitoring

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    yeah,still handy for Bclock, Core Volts etc, of course, but I guess most of us want to test for faster multipliers.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    183
    Posts
    8,327

    I haven't got there yet... to try the ROG connect... - but just an idea: what if you hit F5 in BIOS, then try the entire OC from the ROG connect?

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array HalloweenWeed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    87
    Posts
    1,466

    IDK much about the Maximus. I have however used RC TweakIt for OCing. Perhaps you need your core multi set to:
    By all cores (can adjust in OS)
    And leaving things set on auto may override any increase attempts, IDK.
    Also, if you have installed Ai Suite it can be setting things, fighting W/RC TweakIt. Turn off all adjusting functions in Ai Suite including auto tune.
    Last edited by HalloweenWeed; 01-30-2013 at 03:58 PM.
    i7-3930K; Asus RIVE; G.SKILL Ripjaws Z 4x4GB DDR3 1866; MSI 7870 2GD5/OC; Crucial M4 SSD 256GB;
    Corsair 1000HX; Corsair H100, 4x Excalibur 120mm PWM CPU Fan p-p, AS5; SB X-Fi Titanium Fata1ity Pro;
    Dell U2412m IPS 1920x1200; Cooler Master HAF 932 case; Tripp-Lite OMNIVS1500 UPS fully Line-interactive.
    (EVGA site: ) And I have a second (wife's) computer, Eve.

    Overclocking is useless to me if it is not rock stable.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array KPRage PC Specs
    KPRage PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus V Gene
    Processor3570k
    Memory (part number)Vengance 1866 8Gb Ram
    Graphics Card #1Zotac GTX 1070 Mini
    Graphics Card #2ASUS R9 280 DC2
    Graphics Card #3Radeon 5850 HD
    MonitorASUS VZ27AQ
    Storage #1Samsun EVO 850 Pro
    Storage #23 1TB HDDs
    CPU CoolerH80
    CaseMerc Alpha
    Power SupplyTX 650 80 plus Gold
    OS Win 7/ Win 8.1/ Win 10
    KPRage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    26
    Posts
    572

    I stumbled upon an interesting thing while trying OC.. If I set the Turbo Ratio in CPU Power Management Configuration, it won't allow me to change this in the extreme tweaker.. Can you check if this is the case?
    CPU: Intel i5 3570k OC'd to 4.6GHz @1.170V; Mobo: MVG; GPU: Zotac 1070 mini OC'd to +210MHz/+205MHz; Memory: 8GB (2X4GB dual channel) Corsair Vengeance 1333Mhz 9-10-9-T2; SSD: Samsung 840 pro; HDD: 1TB WD Green 6Gbps; PSU: Corsair GS 600w; Case: Bitfenix Merc Alpha:Hybrid Octane in progress; Cooler: Corsair H80 closed loop cooling @ high profile;

    Pre & Post Build Guide

    A lot of epic FAIL videos are made before one epic WIN video is made

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •