Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 41
  1. #11
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array fostert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    706

    Get 32GB...make a 24GB RAMdisk, use 8GB for OS. @Rewben's got the best idea....get your OS to R/W all its temporary runtime files and cache/swap files on the RAMdisk.
    --
    G74SX-CST1-CBIL, i7 2630QM 2GHz
    32GB DDR3 RAM @1333MHz
    GTX560M 3GB DDR5 (192 bit)
    17.3" LED 1920x1080
    Sentelic TP, BIOS 203
    Debian Linux Wheezy (Testing) Kernel 3.2, NVIDIA 295.40

  2. #12
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Tomislav's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    227

    Quote Originally Posted by fostert View Post
    Get 32GB...make a 24GB RAMdisk, use 8GB for OS. @Rewben's got the best idea....get your OS to R/W all its temporary runtime files and cache/swap files on the RAMdisk.
    that is a good idea + you can also BRAG MORE!!!
    ASUS G75VX
    Win 8, i7-3630QM, 2,4 GHz, GeForce GTX 670MX, 8 GB Ram,120 Gb Samsung 840 SSD+750 Gb HDD

  3. #13
    New ROGer Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,761

    Quote Originally Posted by fostert View Post
    Get 32GB...make a 24GB RAMdisk, use 8GB for OS. @Rewben's got the best idea....get your OS to R/W all its temporary runtime files and cache/swap files on the RAMdisk.
    Or wait a few months, spend the money, and get 64 GB and BRAG BIG TIME! Actually, @fostert is right, that is something to consider. Do you do that? I didn't set up a RAM disk since I only have 16 GB and use a good deal of it with my VMs. I also don't tend to generate zillions of temporary files, and with enough RAM, I never use the swapfile.
    I am disturbed because I cannot break my system...found out there were others trying to cope! We have a support group on here, if your system will not break, please join!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=16
    We now have 178 people whose systems will not break! Yippee!
    LINUX Users, we have a group!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=23

  4. #14
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    313

    Ah... Thanks for all the suggestions. 32GB RAM. Wow that would be insane. But yeah Ramdisk is perfect for that.

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Tomislav's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    227

    bragging aside, you could start doing some video/photo editing to put that RAM to good use. I personally always had better software and no money for
    good hardware that is up until now. Now I have G. So to paraphrase someone in one of the threads here : just the mere ability to have 16 GB of RAM, feels like...victory.
    ASUS G75VX
    Win 8, i7-3630QM, 2,4 GHz, GeForce GTX 670MX, 8 GB Ram,120 Gb Samsung 840 SSD+750 Gb HDD

  6. #16
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    313

    Quote Originally Posted by Tomislav View Post
    bragging aside, you could start doing some video/photo editing to put that RAM to good use. I personally always had better software and no money for
    good hardware that is up until now. Now I have G. So to paraphrase someone in one of the threads here : just the mere ability to have 16 GB of RAM, feels like...victory.
    Ah... I found a use now... Will put Browser caches, Hawken and eventually Steam Games (when I buy Dead Space 3, etc.) onto RAMDisk. As for video/photo editing yes, perhaps in time, I am switching from Mac so in a few months I will need to decide whether to use Adobe CS6 or some other tool (used Adobe for a long time, I think it is very professional but getting rather bloated now). Cheers.

  7. #17
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array rewben PC Specs
    rewben PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G55VW-3D
    MotherboardASROCK Z97 EXTREME 6
    ProcessorINTEL 4790K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL RIPJAWZ 2400MHZ (F3-19200CL10Q-32GBZHD)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorDELL U2713HM
    Storage #1SAMSUNG SM843 480GB X2
    Storage #2WD GREEN 3TB X2
    CPU CoolerSWIFTECH H240-X
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power SupplyTHERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER XT PLATINUM 1275W
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 RGB
    Mouse STEELSERIES KINZU V3
    Headset STEELSERIES 9H
    Mouse Pad STEELSERIES QCK+
    Headset/Speakers LOGITECH Z506
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO AU
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    178
    Posts
    2,229

    Quote Originally Posted by fostert View Post
    Get 32GB...make a 24GB RAMdisk, use 8GB for OS. @Rewben's got the best idea....get your OS to R/W all its temporary runtime files and cache/swap files on the RAMdisk.
    well, that's not my idea; i learned it from some nice folks many many years ago (when we could brag if we had 64mb of RAM haha!); then i put it to use in linux.

    a few months ago there's a bottle neck of hard disk when i needed to process thousands of incoming emails through antivirus/spam software; so a small ram disk as temp helped boost up the process a lot; that's how i managed to get an old box from a client, with intel p4 and 1gb ram to process 15k emails a day, without hiccups haha!

  8. #18
    New ROGer Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,761

    Quote Originally Posted by rewben View Post
    well, that's not my idea; i learned it from some nice folks many many years ago (when we could brag if we had 64mb of RAM haha!); then i put it to use in linux.

    a few months ago there's a bottle neck of hard disk when i needed to process thousands of incoming emails through antivirus/spam software; so a small ram disk as temp helped boost up the process a lot; that's how i managed to get an old box from a client, with intel p4 and 1gb ram to process 15k emails a day, without hiccups haha!
    That's really pretty awesome! When you are bound up in the disk, everything grinds to a halt. I may have to consider moving my tmp runtime files to a RAM-disk, but I think most of them are. With my 16 GB of RAM, I never page-out anything.
    I am disturbed because I cannot break my system...found out there were others trying to cope! We have a support group on here, if your system will not break, please join!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=16
    We now have 178 people whose systems will not break! Yippee!
    LINUX Users, we have a group!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=23

  9. #19
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array rewben PC Specs
    rewben PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G55VW-3D
    MotherboardASROCK Z97 EXTREME 6
    ProcessorINTEL 4790K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL RIPJAWZ 2400MHZ (F3-19200CL10Q-32GBZHD)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorDELL U2713HM
    Storage #1SAMSUNG SM843 480GB X2
    Storage #2WD GREEN 3TB X2
    CPU CoolerSWIFTECH H240-X
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power SupplyTHERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER XT PLATINUM 1275W
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 RGB
    Mouse STEELSERIES KINZU V3
    Headset STEELSERIES 9H
    Mouse Pad STEELSERIES QCK+
    Headset/Speakers LOGITECH Z506
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO AU
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    178
    Posts
    2,229

    Quote Originally Posted by Zygomorphic View Post
    That's really pretty awesome! When you are bound up in the disk, everything grinds to a halt. I may have to consider moving my tmp runtime files to a RAM-disk, but I think most of them are. With my 16 GB of RAM, I never page-out anything.
    haha you're correct; 16gb of ram is really abundant

  10. #20
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    63

    Quote Originally Posted by rewben View Post
    yeah make a ram disk
    How do you do that?
    G75VW-BHI7N07: i7-3630QM * 32Gb ram Crucial * Windows damn 8 PRO
    Kingston HyperX 3K 120 SSD + 1TB hdd (sad 5400 rpm)

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •