Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 41
  1. #31
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array rewben PC Specs
    rewben PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G55VW-3D
    MotherboardASROCK Z97 EXTREME 6
    ProcessorINTEL 4790K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL RIPJAWZ 2400MHZ (F3-19200CL10Q-32GBZHD)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorDELL U2713HM
    Storage #1SAMSUNG SM843 480GB X2
    Storage #2WD GREEN 3TB X2
    CPU CoolerSWIFTECH H240-X
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power SupplyTHERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER XT PLATINUM 1275W
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 RGB
    Mouse STEELSERIES KINZU V3
    Headset STEELSERIES 9H
    Mouse Pad STEELSERIES QCK+
    Headset/Speakers LOGITECH Z506
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO AU
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    178
    Posts
    2,229

    Quote Originally Posted by BNaughty View Post
    Could you be more specific with the size of your RAMDisk and what you have remapped Windows to store there? I haven't really explored the idea of using a RAMDisk because I have 2 SSD in RAID-0 and don't expect much performance increase... but I have began looking into it...
    the idea is this:
    1. ssd takes care of OS/app loading;
    2. for data, we know ssd has a limited writes/erase cycles; to minimize writes/erases on ssd, a ram disk is a better alternative than a hdd; so you identify and remap a few directories that are used by the OS/apps to cater for high read/write operations.

    what i need and do is very simple:
    1. create a 16gb ramdisk and set up the ramdisk app;
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	rbn_rd_setup_0.1.jpg 
Views:	64 
Size:	41.9 KB 
ID:	16310

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	rbn_rd_setup_0.2.jpg 
Views:	52 
Size:	35.3 KB 
ID:	16311

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	rbn_rd_setup_0.3.jpg 
Views:	53 
Size:	29.1 KB 
ID:	16312

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	rbn_rd_setup_0.4.jpg 
Views:	50 
Size:	19.2 KB 
ID:	16313

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	rbn_rd_setup_0.5.jpg 
Views:	53 
Size:	28.8 KB 
ID:	16314

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	rbn_rd_setup_0.6.jpg 
Views:	53 
Size:	12.4 KB 
ID:	16315

    2. map user temporary folder, cache folders of my firefox and chrome, and all browsers have their download folder pointed to ram disk.

    a ram disk is still about 7 times faster than a raid0.

    edit: note that i use the option that creates the ramdisk and directory structures on-the-fly; i do not create a ramdisk image that can be reused (i.e. preserve the state of ram disk contents and reloaded upon next boot).
    Last edited by rewben; 01-25-2013 at 01:56 AM.

  2. #32
    Recognized Troll Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    316

    Super thanx man, I clicked the Rep button, let's see if it works...
    G75VW-DS73-3D | 670m 3GB | 32GB RAM | 1TB RAID-0 2 x 830 512GB SSD DualBoot | Killer-N 1103 WiFi

  3. #33
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array rewben PC Specs
    rewben PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G55VW-3D
    MotherboardASROCK Z97 EXTREME 6
    ProcessorINTEL 4790K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL RIPJAWZ 2400MHZ (F3-19200CL10Q-32GBZHD)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorDELL U2713HM
    Storage #1SAMSUNG SM843 480GB X2
    Storage #2WD GREEN 3TB X2
    CPU CoolerSWIFTECH H240-X
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power SupplyTHERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER XT PLATINUM 1275W
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 RGB
    Mouse STEELSERIES KINZU V3
    Headset STEELSERIES 9H
    Mouse Pad STEELSERIES QCK+
    Headset/Speakers LOGITECH Z506
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO AU
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    178
    Posts
    2,229

    no problem man

    to me, the good thing about this ram disk thing is that i can still free up the used space when i need to run many vms; it's very flexible

    Quote Originally Posted by Tomislav View Post
    huh, I really like to see mac going down from his throne, especially from an Adobe user. @rewben that idea with e-mails is awesome. I would give you more rep but I already did. If there is a tutorial on how to do that or something please share. @everybody sorry for digression...
    in linux things are even more simple (you have all the tools in place already); just define a mount point (say, /tmp; /var/tmp) with type tmpfs and size in /etc/fstab (in centos for instance) and you're good to go.

    note that there are more than one way to do it in linux; and i just choose the directories that i can safely discard the contents upon shut-down.

  4. #34
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    313

    Quote Originally Posted by Tomislav View Post
    I think I've shed a tear after reading "two SSD-s in RAID 0" what's your boot time? like -12 seconds?
    Indeed. With 2 SSDs in RAID0 ~Time Itself~ slows down so that we can keep pace with it. That's why we don't notice much difference.

  5. #35
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    313

    Cheers all (thanks especially Rewben) I set up a 4GB RAMDisk (I still love lots of unused RAM ) and put Windows Temp, User Appdata Local Temp (through Junction), and Firefox cache on it. Feels like... victory, with a dash of peppermint.

  6. #36
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array fostert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    706

    Quote Originally Posted by rewben View Post
    in linux things are even more simple (you have all the tools in place already); just define a mount point (say, /tmp; /var/tmp) with type tmpfs and size in /etc/fstab (in centos for instance) and you're good to go.
    Here is what I do to put the /tmp filesystem on a RAMdisk:

    First, make sure your /etc/fstab file has this line:

    # Device Mountpoint Filesystem Options Check/Backup
    tmpfs /tmp tmpfs size=1G 0 0

    Then; move and remount the /tmp directory in linux:
    1) cd /
    2) mv tmp tmpold
    3) mkdir tmp
    4) mount /tmp

    I also mount /var/lock, /var/run and /run as a ramdisk, if you have them. That way obsolete lock and temporary runtime files disappear on reboot.
    --
    G74SX-CST1-CBIL, i7 2630QM 2GHz
    32GB DDR3 RAM @1333MHz
    GTX560M 3GB DDR5 (192 bit)
    17.3" LED 1920x1080
    Sentelic TP, BIOS 203
    Debian Linux Wheezy (Testing) Kernel 3.2, NVIDIA 295.40

  7. #37
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array rewben PC Specs
    rewben PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G55VW-3D
    MotherboardASROCK Z97 EXTREME 6
    ProcessorINTEL 4790K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL RIPJAWZ 2400MHZ (F3-19200CL10Q-32GBZHD)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorDELL U2713HM
    Storage #1SAMSUNG SM843 480GB X2
    Storage #2WD GREEN 3TB X2
    CPU CoolerSWIFTECH H240-X
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power SupplyTHERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER XT PLATINUM 1275W
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 RGB
    Mouse STEELSERIES KINZU V3
    Headset STEELSERIES 9H
    Mouse Pad STEELSERIES QCK+
    Headset/Speakers LOGITECH Z506
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO AU
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    178
    Posts
    2,229

    @fostert, nice tip! i will definitely use this later on

  8. #38
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Tomislav's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    227

    great tips all of you guys ! tnx!
    ASUS G75VX
    Win 8, i7-3630QM, 2,4 GHz, GeForce GTX 670MX, 8 GB Ram,120 Gb Samsung 840 SSD+750 Gb HDD

  9. #39
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    313

    Yeah Firefox is lightning fast now and I'm so happy I don't have Windows and User temp files going onto my SSD. Don't like "polluting" my SSD like that ha ha.

  10. #40
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    1

    Quote Originally Posted by BNaughty View Post
    Super thanx man, I clicked the Rep button, let's see if it works...
    And I'm going to super thanx your super thanx.

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •