Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    63

    Lost access to original hdd. HELP!

    Hi, guys.

    What I did?

    Ok, let's go.

    I have this G75VW-BHI7N07. When I got it, I made a clone (macrium) of the original 1Tb hdd to a ssd drive, changed the order of boot and left this original drive as a file drive.

    Everything was going very good, nothing was wrong, BUT, as I was not having success to install the remote server admin tools at the clone of win8 I have in the ssd.
    I thought: "And what if I try to install it in the original win8 in the 1Tb hdd, and them if it does happen, I clone this original drive again and I will be able to use the RSAT on the new clone at the ssd.
    Everything's got wrong at the very beginning.

    1. I changed the boot order, for the first time after that cloning process I was talking. When boot with the hdd...

    2. It was going very slow at the rog black screen, then, very slow at the blue first screen of win8. I tried to put the password to start the windows. It didn't accept. (I don't know if it is important, but my router was not properly working exactly at this moment, so there was not internet to the damm microsoft password account be validated). I tried a second time, and a message appeared: preparing your windows...

    3. The start screen appeared in a special mode. I coudn't access files. Strange, I thought.

    4. I restarted, changed the boot order again to see what was happening, if it was everything ok with the clone, if I could access the hdd as D: from the clone.
    It was ok with the clone (it is, i am talking from it), but NO ACCESS to the original hdd. Nothing.

    5. Restarted it again. At the black rog screen, it was written: if you want to repair the disk press any key. I did.
    It started a repair. Stopped at 41% and the windows started normally. Again, no access to D: (the hdd)

    6. Tried boot from the HDD: a blue screen

    "Recovery

    Your PC need to be repaired

    The Boot Configuration Data for your PC is missing or contains errors

    File: \EFI\Microsoft\Boot\BCD
    Error code 0xc0000001(or "f", I can't read)

    You'll need to use the recovery tools of your installation media. If you don't have any installation media (like a disc or USBdevice), contactyour system administrator or PC manufacturer"



    The only option from this screen was go to bios.
    7. From there I boot from ssd and started windows.

    WHen I try to access the hdd as D: windows tell me: windows can't access the disk, or D:\ is not accessible, or access denied.

    Before all this freshly fault, I changed all the folders destinies to D: .

    Now, I can't do anything.

    Working in the clone, I mean ssd as C:, I can't create any folder. An unexpected error happens 0x80270200 with no description.



    Sorry about the long text. I am trying to give all the details.

    Could somebody help me to get my D: back again?





    PS: at the ssd I didn't cloned the recovery partition! There was not enough space... The only recovery I had was there, at the hdd.


    Translating pictures:

    1st.

    the location is not available
    D: is not accessible
    access denied

    2nd.

    Properties OS
    (hardware)
    ...
    status: this device is working properly

    3th.

    (tools)
    Verify/check
    ...
    Could not run check disk because Windows can not access the disk

    5th.

    (General)
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos 567143_10151363521694244_1604899189_o.jpg  

    708448_10151363522509244_1133728516_o.jpg  

    729837_10151363523274244_1026831623_o.jpg  

    730369_10151363525459244_782822555_o.jpg  

    730372_10151363524494244_1811903993_o.jpg  

    Last edited by Paulovrv; 01-23-2013 at 03:28 AM. Reason: I forgot an important information and translations

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    63

    Sorry. I didn't realize the pictures I posted was all in portuguese. I translated them.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array rewben PC Specs
    rewben PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G55VW-3D
    MotherboardASROCK Z97 EXTREME 6
    ProcessorINTEL 4790K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL RIPJAWZ 2400MHZ (F3-19200CL10Q-32GBZHD)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorDELL U2713HM
    Storage #1SAMSUNG SM843 480GB X2
    Storage #2WD GREEN 3TB X2
    CPU CoolerSWIFTECH H240-X
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power SupplyTHERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER XT PLATINUM 1275W
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 RGB
    Mouse STEELSERIES KINZU V3
    Headset STEELSERIES 9H
    Mouse Pad STEELSERIES QCK+
    Headset/Speakers LOGITECH Z506
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO AU
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    178
    Posts
    2,229

    this is terrible :/. always set up a local account to prevent things like this from happening (or created one if you insisted on using microsoft account).

    it should be permission issues. you should log in to the system with the administrative user account.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    2,441

    if you only plug other hdd, i think it same problem, did you try rewben say, setting administration accound to login?

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    63

    Just done it. Login with administration account was not better.

    I'm foreseeing...
    I feel I must buy another windows8 and clean install on ssd, format the hdd, and... lose all data.
    Patience.

    Was it the bad luck with router at that very moment?

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array dstrakele's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    4,437

    The errors look similar to those I received when troubleshooting a failing HDD.
    G74SX-A1 - stock hardware - BIOS 202 - 2nd Monitor VISIO VF551XVT

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array rewben PC Specs
    rewben PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G55VW-3D
    MotherboardASROCK Z97 EXTREME 6
    ProcessorINTEL 4790K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL RIPJAWZ 2400MHZ (F3-19200CL10Q-32GBZHD)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorDELL U2713HM
    Storage #1SAMSUNG SM843 480GB X2
    Storage #2WD GREEN 3TB X2
    CPU CoolerSWIFTECH H240-X
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power SupplyTHERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER XT PLATINUM 1275W
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 RGB
    Mouse STEELSERIES KINZU V3
    Headset STEELSERIES 9H
    Mouse Pad STEELSERIES QCK+
    Headset/Speakers LOGITECH Z506
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO AU
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    178
    Posts
    2,229

    uh? with the administrator's account, you should be able to modify the permissions in properties > security tab, right?

    @dstrakele, i hope it's not that serious though :/

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    63

    Quote Originally Posted by dstrakele View Post
    ...troubleshooting a failing HDD.
    I will search for this thread. Thanks!

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    63

    Quote Originally Posted by rewben View Post
    uh? with the administrator's account, you should be able to modify the permissions in properties > security tab, right?
    Nothing, pal.

    All permissions are done, now. No success.
    I even tried to change the owner/proprietor. It says "Unable to display current owner".


    Bad omens, guys.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array dstrakele's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    4,437

    There's no thread on it. My daughter told me she couldn't boot her Windows 7 laptop. I removed the HDD and and put it in a USB drive enclosure attached to my computer. Access to the drive was extremely slow. Properties indicate 0 capacity, 0 bytes in use, 0 bytes free. I was getting "Access Denied" errors. My System Event Log reported numerous bad blocks on the disk from my access attempts.

    I used a freeware utility called "TestDisk" to repair the MBR on the drive and was able to recover some files.
    G74SX-A1 - stock hardware - BIOS 202 - 2nd Monitor VISIO VF551XVT

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •