Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array MaxxOmega's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    Hard Drive / BIOS Problem

    OK

    I been doing PC hardware for 25 years. First time I ever seen this.

    New build ASUS MB / Velociraptor Drive

    Working great for 2 weeks. I get up Sunday, power it on and it can't find a HD.

    OK, I know it's there I wonder if it's toast. I reboot and go into BIOS and all I can see is the DVD drive, no hard drive. That is, I cannot even add it as a boot device into the BIOS. Open the case, and I replaced the SATA cable, and used a different MB port. Same crap, no Drive in BIOS.

    I add another Drive I have in one of those Thermaltake caddy's with an E-SATA connection. It has another Drive that I had just cloned from the Raptor a few days before (Whew)...

    I reboot and up it comes. Yayy I got booted up. But here is the wierd part. The other "dead" Reptor isn't so dead. I can see all the partitions and files, etc. Everything is there and accessible both in Explorer and Drive Management.

    So the drive is there, readable, usable, but the BIOS cannot see it as a choice to use it anymore. I'm thinking I got a MB issue but wonder if a BIOS Update might help?? Crazy...

    MB is a ASUS P8Z77-M PRO
    Gaming Rig #1

    - ASUS ROG Swift PG3480Q Monitor
    - Thermaltake Level 10 GT
    - Asus Maximus VIII Hero
    - Intel 6700K Processor
    - ASUS ROG Strix GeForce GTX 1080 8GB GDDR5 X 2 SLI
    - G.Skill 32 GB RAM
    - Western Digital Velociraptor 150GB Hard Drive x 4
    - Seagate 2 TB Drive
    - Creative Sound Blaster ZX
    - ASUS Storage BW-16D1HT Blu-Ray Writer

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array MaxxOmega's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    WOW... A lot of views and no replies. I guess this doesn't happen often...(or no one likes me...lol)

    I did finally figured it out though. I got to looking at the SATA Motherboard Port Configs. For some reason, all the Ports had become "DISABLED"... I renabled them all, rebooted, went into BIOS and WEEEEEEEE !!!. There was the drive again.... Added it, rebooted and away I went. Very annoying to say the least, this is not something I ever had to touch, they are usually all Enabled by default...
    Last edited by MaxxOmega; 01-28-2013 at 03:38 PM.
    Gaming Rig #1

    - ASUS ROG Swift PG3480Q Monitor
    - Thermaltake Level 10 GT
    - Asus Maximus VIII Hero
    - Intel 6700K Processor
    - ASUS ROG Strix GeForce GTX 1080 8GB GDDR5 X 2 SLI
    - G.Skill 32 GB RAM
    - Western Digital Velociraptor 150GB Hard Drive x 4
    - Seagate 2 TB Drive
    - Creative Sound Blaster ZX
    - ASUS Storage BW-16D1HT Blu-Ray Writer

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    30

    Thanks for reporting back. It may help someone eventually.

    When messing with hardware, especially connections, afterwards I reset BIOS settings, then reload one of the saved settings profiles or set everything up the way I like it manually, depending on what I've been doing. Maybe that old habit is now redundant. Weird how it reset some settings on its own, but that seems to be happening to others recently, so it's smart to have those profiles. Nice to know nothing died on you. Good you had it backed up though, always smart.
    CRO AIR SLI ROG RIG:
    PCMark 7: 6671 3DMark 11: P16718, X6969

    MBo: Asus Maximus V Formula CPU: Intel i7-3770k (@4.6GHz)
    RAM: Corsair Dominator GT (4x 4GB 2133MHz 9-11-10-27-1T)
    GPU: 2x Asus GTX 680 DirectCU II OC in SLI (@1200MHz)
    SSD: 2x Corsair Force GT 240 in RAID0
    PSU: Corsair AX1200 Cha: Lian Li X500FX
    Coo: Prolimatech Armageddon Fan: 5x Prolimatech Vortex Aluminium

    Mon: LG IPS235V Cam: Logitech C920 Spk: Logitech Z906
    Kbd: SteelSeries 6Gv2 Mou: Cyborg R.A.T. 7 Mat: Razer Sphex

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array MaxxOmega's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    Yeah, I worked as a Mainframe Storage guy and still spend time dealing with production data. Backup is my middle name...
    Gaming Rig #1

    - ASUS ROG Swift PG3480Q Monitor
    - Thermaltake Level 10 GT
    - Asus Maximus VIII Hero
    - Intel 6700K Processor
    - ASUS ROG Strix GeForce GTX 1080 8GB GDDR5 X 2 SLI
    - G.Skill 32 GB RAM
    - Western Digital Velociraptor 150GB Hard Drive x 4
    - Seagate 2 TB Drive
    - Creative Sound Blaster ZX
    - ASUS Storage BW-16D1HT Blu-Ray Writer

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array sectionate PC Specs
    sectionate PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair V Formula
    Processor8350 - 1090T
    Memory (part number)G Skill Sniper F3-14900CL9-4GBSR
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX660-DC2O-2GD5
    MonitorAcer GD235HZ - ViewSonic VX2439wm - SyncMaster P2350
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    CaseHAF 932
    Power SupplyCorsair Professional HX850
    Mouse Zowie EC1 eVo
    OS Microsoft Windows 7 Enterprise 64bit
    sectionate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    57
    Posts
    878

    MaxxOmega I was going to say to recheck your power/sata cables on the harddrive. Dont ask me how I know about ahtt
    Crosshair IV 1090T 4093.7 - Crosshair V FX - 8350 Batch # 1243PGT 4.422MHz - 4816.08 MHz 1.5v - GSKILL F3-14900CL9D-8GBSR(x2)1087.6 11-12-10 1.5volts - ViewSonic VX2439wm - Acer GD235HZ - SyncMaster P2350 - PowerColor Red Devil RX 480 8GBD5-3DH/OC - Current Mode: 5760 x 1080 - (retired) ASUS GTX660DC2O2GD5 - Nvidia 3D Vision Wired - HAF 932 - Corsair HX850 - Corsair H100i - latest quakelive.com - Day thirteen 60fps - as always I'm powered by Futurelooks.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •