Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    109

    About Virtual Machine & Fragmenting your SSD

    Sup guys!!! Just wondering is it safe to have a virtual machine? if so whats the best set up for it like what is the best Memory for storage and Ram set up? Also im using SSD a 128gb samsung SSD should i defrag my SSD once in a while like what i do when i used to in my HDD?

    Cooler Master HAF 922
    Samsung 830 128GB SSD
    500GB W'D Caviar Black HDD
    G Skill Ripjaws X (2x8gb) 1866
    ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z/GEN3
    Intel i5-2500k @ 4.5mhz 1.270vcore
    CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W
    ThermalTake Frio running at 1300-1400rpm
    EVGA SuperClocked GeForce GTX 560 Ti (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit

  2. #2
    ROG AirWays Captain Array TenBlade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    45
    Posts
    815

    From personal experience I can´t recommend defragging SSD, even if whatever maintainance program tells you, it´s safe and you should do it...
    Defragging a harddisk is for reducing the sum of the physical distance, the needle has to travel to obtain the required data from the disk. An SSD has no moving parts. Just keep the SSD filled up no more than about 80% or so, for ot to function properly.
    Last edited by TenBlade; 01-25-2013 at 01:20 AM.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,761

    Virtual machine is fine, same as installing another OS to the drive. Keep in mind that an SSD will have limited number of writes per cell, and a second OS working off the SSD will hit that limit much faster. Otherwise, you shouldn't have any problems. The VM should be lightning fast.
    I am disturbed because I cannot break my system...found out there were others trying to cope! We have a support group on here, if your system will not break, please join!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=16
    We now have 178 people whose systems will not break! Yippee!
    LINUX Users, we have a group!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=23

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Area 66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Reputation
    49
    Posts
    2,276

    The best is to install the VM in another drive than your OS, so both OS ( host and virtual ) will not try to access the same drive at same time.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    109

    Quote Originally Posted by Area 66 View Post
    The best is to install the VM in another drive than your OS, so both OS ( host and virtual ) will not try to access the same drive at same time.
    so i can do that??? coz i have a 500gb WD black HDD which i no longer use? is it really possible to install it in my HDD?

    Cooler Master HAF 922
    Samsung 830 128GB SSD
    500GB W'D Caviar Black HDD
    G Skill Ripjaws X (2x8gb) 1866
    ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z/GEN3
    Intel i5-2500k @ 4.5mhz 1.270vcore
    CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W
    ThermalTake Frio running at 1300-1400rpm
    EVGA SuperClocked GeForce GTX 560 Ti (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Area 66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Reputation
    49
    Posts
    2,276

    Of course you can, you can even use the HD himself instead of create a virtual disk. What is the Hypervisor you will use ( the VM software ) ? I'm very addicted with VM stuff.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    109

    Quote Originally Posted by Area 66 View Post
    Of course you can, you can even use the HD himself instead of create a virtual disk. What is the Hypervisor you will use ( the VM software ) ? I'm very addicted with VM stuff.
    so if i connect my HDD again it will come up as diskG) or something right like a storage i can run install the VM and run it from that HDD? Im using VMware workstation actually my friend is doin it for me i dont really mess with that VM im only using it to run 2 games that i play at the same time so that i can boost ^_^

    Cooler Master HAF 922
    Samsung 830 128GB SSD
    500GB W'D Caviar Black HDD
    G Skill Ripjaws X (2x8gb) 1866
    ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z/GEN3
    Intel i5-2500k @ 4.5mhz 1.270vcore
    CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W
    ThermalTake Frio running at 1300-1400rpm
    EVGA SuperClocked GeForce GTX 560 Ti (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Area 66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Reputation
    49
    Posts
    2,276

    With VMware WS you can run few VMs at the same time with your 16 GB. What game is this, all true VMware WS support 3d acceleration it as limitation.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    109

    http://soldierfront.aeriagames.com/ its this game!!! so that should do it right? i will reformat my pc this sunday then after installing my main OS at my SSD i will plug the HDD and use it like a storage then install the VM at HDD. Also should i set up the HDD as NTFS file or someting different?

    Cooler Master HAF 922
    Samsung 830 128GB SSD
    500GB W'D Caviar Black HDD
    G Skill Ripjaws X (2x8gb) 1866
    ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z/GEN3
    Intel i5-2500k @ 4.5mhz 1.270vcore
    CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W
    ThermalTake Frio running at 1300-1400rpm
    EVGA SuperClocked GeForce GTX 560 Ti (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,761

    HDD should be NTFS. When you create the VM, it should ask you where you want to put the gigantic VM file (a file that your VM thinks is a drive) and you select somewhere on the HDD.
    I am disturbed because I cannot break my system...found out there were others trying to cope! We have a support group on here, if your system will not break, please join!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=16
    We now have 178 people whose systems will not break! Yippee!
    LINUX Users, we have a group!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=23

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •