Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 17 of 17
  1. #11
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    7
    Posts
    458

    I don't know. I just put the CD in and said boot from CD. I thought it would just boot.
    Motherboard: RIVE (3602 bios)
    CPU: Intel 3930K @4646MHz
    OS Drive: 2 X Samsung 840 PRO (Raid 0)
    Storage Drive: 2 X 1.5TB WD Caviar Black RAID 0, 2 X 3TB WD Caviar Red, Kingston V100 256GB SSD
    Memory: 64GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z (F3-12800CL10Q2-64GBZL)
    GPU: Gigabyte GeForce GTX580 @795MHz - 1536MB GDDR5
    PSU: OCZ ZX1250
    Cooling: Phantek PH-TC14PE
    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64. (EUFI)

  2. #12
    New ROGer Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,761

    Quote Originally Posted by Melting Point View Post
    I don't know. I just put the CD in and said boot from CD. I thought it would just boot.
    Do you have an EFI-based motherboard? Those can sometimes cause problems.
    I am disturbed because I cannot break my system...found out there were others trying to cope! We have a support group on here, if your system will not break, please join!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=16
    We now have 178 people whose systems will not break! Yippee!
    LINUX Users, we have a group!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=23

  3. #13
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    7
    Posts
    458

    Quote Originally Posted by Zygomorphic View Post
    Do you have an EFI-based motherboard? Those can sometimes cause problems.
    I've got the 3301 bios, but have changed any of the EFI settings.
    Motherboard: RIVE (3602 bios)
    CPU: Intel 3930K @4646MHz
    OS Drive: 2 X Samsung 840 PRO (Raid 0)
    Storage Drive: 2 X 1.5TB WD Caviar Black RAID 0, 2 X 3TB WD Caviar Red, Kingston V100 256GB SSD
    Memory: 64GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z (F3-12800CL10Q2-64GBZL)
    GPU: Gigabyte GeForce GTX580 @795MHz - 1536MB GDDR5
    PSU: OCZ ZX1250
    Cooling: Phantek PH-TC14PE
    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64. (EUFI)

  4. #14
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Area 66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Reputation
    49
    Posts
    2,276

    For Linux, I like to use Pinguy , it's a mod version of Ubuntu, on the MIVE-Z it work fine but the probe don't work, it work fine on my Rampage III Gene and all the probles work very well. Honestly why are you installing Linux on a system with a GTX 680 ? Mint is now a pain in the A$$, it don't install well on VM too. Pinguy install very well, give it a try it's come with everything install even a Docky and a Conky

  5. #15
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    The point is, I have built/owned many computers in my life and only two have refused to load Linux, the RIVE being one of them, also I have used Linux since Redhat 5 first came out so I've got a fair amount of Linux experience. In my opinion, if a motherboard doesn't support Linux then I simply never use that brand again, so, now my RIVE gets donated to my kids to play games on, I think I'll try another brand of motherboard ie one that handles Linux without fuss, I simply don't have the time or the inclination to try work arounds for something that should just work. Thanks though to the well intentioned for the advice they offered, much appreciated, bye bye Asus.

  6. #16
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    7
    Posts
    458

    Quick, everyone sell their shares in Asus while they're still worth something, they're bound to go broke now that Zargs is no longer buying their motherboards.
    Motherboard: RIVE (3602 bios)
    CPU: Intel 3930K @4646MHz
    OS Drive: 2 X Samsung 840 PRO (Raid 0)
    Storage Drive: 2 X 1.5TB WD Caviar Black RAID 0, 2 X 3TB WD Caviar Red, Kingston V100 256GB SSD
    Memory: 64GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z (F3-12800CL10Q2-64GBZL)
    GPU: Gigabyte GeForce GTX580 @795MHz - 1536MB GDDR5
    PSU: OCZ ZX1250
    Cooling: Phantek PH-TC14PE
    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64. (EUFI)

  7. #17
    New ROGer Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,761

    OpenSUSE loads just fine on my G53SX, but that is an older system without EFI, which is probably advantageous for ease of system operation.
    I am disturbed because I cannot break my system...found out there were others trying to cope! We have a support group on here, if your system will not break, please join!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=16
    We now have 178 people whose systems will not break! Yippee!
    LINUX Users, we have a group!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=23

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •