Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 37
  1. #21
    New ROGer Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,761

    Quote Originally Posted by fostert View Post
    Yeah, I'm waiting for those too! You can get 1x16GB DDR3 sticks now for desktops/servers,
    http://ncix.com/products/?sku=78668&...cture=Kingston

    so I imagine 1x16GB SODIMMs aren't that far off.
    Actually, you can get 1x32 GB sticks as well, but they are insanely expensive.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820239425
    I am disturbed because I cannot break my system...found out there were others trying to cope! We have a support group on here, if your system will not break, please join!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=16
    We now have 178 people whose systems will not break! Yippee!
    LINUX Users, we have a group!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=23

  2. #22
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Hello Guys,

    Now I'm really worried, I have no option to boot from CD/DVD in the G75VX???

    How am I supposed to install any OS or recover from an image (DVDs) to the G75VX if I CAN'T boot from CD/DVD?
    I try to do this in my other laptopt "G75VW", and if I press esc at boot time I have the option to choose where to boot from, BUT in the G75VX I CAN'T do that and I don't see the option to change that in BIOS??!!

    Any help please...

  3. #23
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array rewben PC Specs
    rewben PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G55VW-3D
    MotherboardASROCK Z97 EXTREME 6
    ProcessorINTEL 4790K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL RIPJAWZ 2400MHZ (F3-19200CL10Q-32GBZHD)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorDELL U2713HM
    Storage #1SAMSUNG SM843 480GB X2
    Storage #2WD GREEN 3TB X2
    CPU CoolerSWIFTECH H240-X
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power SupplyTHERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER XT PLATINUM 1275W
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 RGB
    Mouse STEELSERIES KINZU V3
    Headset STEELSERIES 9H
    Mouse Pad STEELSERIES QCK+
    Headset/Speakers LOGITECH Z506
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO AU
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    178
    Posts
    2,229

    in bios:

    1. disable secure boot control; disable fast boot;
    2. enable launch csm.

    you might need to disable fast startup option in your active power plan. spam esc/f2 key during POST.

  4. #24
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    I just used Macrium Reflect to clone my 1 TB drive onto a Seagate Momentus XT. The cloning took all of 25 minutes, and it booted up on the new drive without a glitch. Highly recommend it.

    If you peruse the other threads, you'll see that there are no DVD backup/recovery disks. Also, evidently the Windows 8 tool to create a USB flash drive backup doesn't work to migrate to a new drive either. Gotta bless ASUS on that one.

    Keyfinder worked great to find my Activation Key for Win8.

    I'm also planning on adding two 8GB ram chips to give me 24.

    Scott in SLC
    New G75VW-BH17NO7, Win 8
    Seagate Monmentus XT 750 GB, 7200 rpm + Samsung 1 TB 5400
    8 GB RAM, soon to be 24 GB

  5. #25
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array fostert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    706

    24GB is a great amount of RAM that'll keep your notebook future-proof for quite a while! Good show. Be sure to set aside 4-8GB for a RAMdisk, and you can probably turn off the windows pagefile too and reclaim that disk space.
    --
    G74SX-CST1-CBIL, i7 2630QM 2GHz
    32GB DDR3 RAM @1333MHz
    GTX560M 3GB DDR5 (192 bit)
    17.3" LED 1920x1080
    Sentelic TP, BIOS 203
    Debian Linux Wheezy (Testing) Kernel 3.2, NVIDIA 295.40

  6. #26
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array fostert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    706

    Quote Originally Posted by Zygomorphic View Post
    Actually, you can get 1x32 GB sticks as well, but they are insanely expensive.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820239425
    Holy crap...I did not know of these! Imagine 128GB of **memory** on your server mainboard! Sheesh...I remember when upgrading from 1MB to 4MB cost me nearly $500, but it made windows 3.0 fly...
    --
    G74SX-CST1-CBIL, i7 2630QM 2GHz
    32GB DDR3 RAM @1333MHz
    GTX560M 3GB DDR5 (192 bit)
    17.3" LED 1920x1080
    Sentelic TP, BIOS 203
    Debian Linux Wheezy (Testing) Kernel 3.2, NVIDIA 295.40

  7. #27
    New ROGer Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,761

    Quote Originally Posted by fostert View Post
    Holy crap...I did not know of these! Imagine 128GB of **memory** on your server mainboard! Sheesh...I remember when upgrading from 1MB to 4MB cost me nearly $500, but it made windows 3.0 fly...
    How about 8 of these things and 256 GB of memory...
    Hey, I was really proud of the 26 KB of RAM in my TI calculator!
    I am disturbed because I cannot break my system...found out there were others trying to cope! We have a support group on here, if your system will not break, please join!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=16
    We now have 178 people whose systems will not break! Yippee!
    LINUX Users, we have a group!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=23

  8. #28
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Quote Originally Posted by rewben View Post
    in bios:

    1. disable secure boot control; disable fast boot;
    2. enable launch csm.

    you might need to disable fast startup option in your active power plan. spam esc/f2 key during POST.
    rewben, once again thank you for your help, following your steps solve the problem.

    Can I leave "secure boot control" disabled? What is used for?

    Thank you again.

  9. #29
    New ROGer Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,761

    Quote Originally Posted by JMSPT View Post
    rewben, once again thank you for your help, following your steps solve the problem.

    Can I leave "secure boot control" disabled? What is used for?

    Thank you again.
    "Secure boot control" is the security system in the EFI firmware that is designed to prevent booting of un-signed kernels. It is partly a security feature, and partly a method by Microsoft to lock out other operating systems. Namely, LINUX.
    I am disturbed because I cannot break my system...found out there were others trying to cope! We have a support group on here, if your system will not break, please join!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=16
    We now have 178 people whose systems will not break! Yippee!
    LINUX Users, we have a group!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=23

  10. #30
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array rewben PC Specs
    rewben PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G55VW-3D
    MotherboardASROCK Z97 EXTREME 6
    ProcessorINTEL 4790K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL RIPJAWZ 2400MHZ (F3-19200CL10Q-32GBZHD)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorDELL U2713HM
    Storage #1SAMSUNG SM843 480GB X2
    Storage #2WD GREEN 3TB X2
    CPU CoolerSWIFTECH H240-X
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power SupplyTHERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER XT PLATINUM 1275W
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 RGB
    Mouse STEELSERIES KINZU V3
    Headset STEELSERIES 9H
    Mouse Pad STEELSERIES QCK+
    Headset/Speakers LOGITECH Z506
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO AU
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    178
    Posts
    2,229

    Quote Originally Posted by Tomislav View Post
    here's the same question you've got from me the other day. rewben you should really post a thread about this and someone should make it sticky (this sounds so wrong ) ! It will save you a bunch of typing rewben. And as MS changed their ways with win 8 I guess a bunch of people will ask about this.
    Quote Originally Posted by JMSPT View Post
    rewben, once again thank you for your help, following your steps solve the problem.

    Can I leave "secure boot control" disabled? What is used for?

    Thank you again.
    hey don't mention it

    like @Zygomorphic pointed out, it's a security feature. you can try to revert the bios options to its default states one at a time. if it doesn't work, you can leave them as is.

    (of all the features in the UEFI, this one is taken advantage of, claimed it's for security's sake, and made the system deny access to other nice OS, including their own; pfff!)

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •