Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    B(TX)assist Array 4Strings PC Specs
    4Strings PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP ZBook Studio G3 (Intel Xeon E3-1505M, 16GB RAM, Nvidia Quadro m1000M, 500GB + 1TB M.2)
    MotherboardASUS PRIME X399-A
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen Threadripper 1900X @ 4.166GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z (non-RGB) 3200MHz (32GB)
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080Ti GX11G
    Sound CardPropellerhead Balance (USB DAC/ADC)
    MonitorAcer Predator XB271HK
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo (1TB)
    Storage #2WD Blue SATA SSD (500GB) + HGST NAS Drive (3TB) + WD Red (4TB, 2x in RAID 1)
    CPU CoolerEnermax LiqTech 360 sTR4
    CaseSilverstone Fortress FT02 (Black, Windowed)
    Power SupplyEnermax MaxTytan 1050W
    Keyboard Logitech G710+
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Audio Technica ATH-M50 + Massdrop AGK K7XX
    Mouse Pad Tek Syndicate XXL Mouse Mat
    Headset/Speakers Bose Companion II
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC68U + TP-Link TL-SG1005D (5-Port Gigabit Switch)
    Accessory #1 Korg microKorg Midi Keyboard
    4Strings's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    223

    Unhappy Need help with new build!!!!!

    Hi,
    I just finished assembling a new build and whenever I start up the system, it just shuts down after a few seconds!!!!

    My specs are:
    Crosshair V Formula-Z
    AMD FX-8350
    Corsair H80i (with two Sythe Gentle Typhoons in push-pull)
    Corsair AX760i
    Kingston HyperX Beast 2,133MHz
    XFX Radeon HD 7950
    Samsung 840 250GB SSD
    WD Caviar Black 1TB
    Silverstone Fortress FT02

    I tried to do a BIOS update but it didn't do anything...
    I unplugged everything from the PSU an pressed the self-test button and it works fine...
    I tried unplugging everything from the PSU except the motherboard, VGA and the H80...

    It just shuts down...
    I got to the UEFI once, but it shut down again....
    Whats wrong, and how can I fix it????

    HELP PLEASE!!!!!!

    Thanks,
    4Strings

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    First thing to do is just chill and take a couple of deep breaths. Yeah it looks dire right now but we will walk you through this.

    What you need to do is go through your entire build all over again. Check each and every connector from the PSU to the board. Look in the connectors to make sure the silver metal pins have not moved. It happens.

    Next thing is please post your bios version up here. Look at the white sticker that is on or near to the SATA and 24 pin PSU connector. The last 4 digits are the shipping BIOS.

    Try booting with only one stick or ram and no hard drive; you just want to get into BIOS for now.

    Will check back once you have had a chance to read and try this.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  3. #3
    B(TX)assist Array 4Strings PC Specs
    4Strings PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP ZBook Studio G3 (Intel Xeon E3-1505M, 16GB RAM, Nvidia Quadro m1000M, 500GB + 1TB M.2)
    MotherboardASUS PRIME X399-A
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen Threadripper 1900X @ 4.166GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z (non-RGB) 3200MHz (32GB)
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080Ti GX11G
    Sound CardPropellerhead Balance (USB DAC/ADC)
    MonitorAcer Predator XB271HK
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo (1TB)
    Storage #2WD Blue SATA SSD (500GB) + HGST NAS Drive (3TB) + WD Red (4TB, 2x in RAID 1)
    CPU CoolerEnermax LiqTech 360 sTR4
    CaseSilverstone Fortress FT02 (Black, Windowed)
    Power SupplyEnermax MaxTytan 1050W
    Keyboard Logitech G710+
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Audio Technica ATH-M50 + Massdrop AGK K7XX
    Mouse Pad Tek Syndicate XXL Mouse Mat
    Headset/Speakers Bose Companion II
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC68U + TP-Link TL-SG1005D (5-Port Gigabit Switch)
    Accessory #1 Korg microKorg Midi Keyboard
    4Strings's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    223

    Quote Originally Posted by HiVizMan View Post
    First thing to do is just chill and take a couple of deep breaths. Yeah it looks dire right now but we will walk you through this.

    What you need to do is go through your entire build all over again. Check each and every connector from the PSU to the board. Look in the connectors to make sure the silver metal pins have not moved. It happens.

    Next thing is please post your bios version up here. Look at the white sticker that is on or near to the SATA and 24 pin PSU connector. The last 4 digits are the shipping BIOS.

    Try booting with only one stick or ram and no hard drive; you just want to get into BIOS for now.

    Will check back once you have had a chance to read and try this.
    I couldn't find the BIOS sticker... But I already Updated the BIOS to 1302...

    I tried to unplg and replug everything... I also took out the motherboard, cleaned and re-applied the thermal paste to the CPU and H80... and booted again...
    This time it booted to the BIOS and I quickly went to the Monitoring tab...
    The only thing I noticed was that The CPU temp went up to 50C and then the system shut down again...

    Could I have put the thrmal past wrong again???

    Thanks.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    90

    try different psu, and dont touch cpu unless u have to !!
    - Asus Maximus, 2.4 4core - 3.6ghz(o.c), raid5_6hdd, 3gb Crucial, HD 3870(o.c), Air Cooled, PSU-750w; Nzxt Apollo, 5-5-5-12-2-45-6-3 | 8-3-5-4-6-4-6 Republic of gamers !!!

    - Asus Crosshair Formula Z, 4.0 8core - 4.4stable ; FX-8350 8core , g-SKILL PC19200 cl9 16gb, HD 6950x2, H100 Hydro+Air Cooled, Cm Storm Trooper, PSU1000w FATAL1TY, OCZ Vertex3x3

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,358

    Hm... overheating CPU? You should be on stock settings with the BIOS after flashing it... maybe a Clear CMOS...

    Have you followed the instructions for mounting the H80's block? be sure that it's seated correctly on the CPU... or try the original cooler, just to be sure...

  6. #6
    B(TX)assist Array 4Strings PC Specs
    4Strings PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP ZBook Studio G3 (Intel Xeon E3-1505M, 16GB RAM, Nvidia Quadro m1000M, 500GB + 1TB M.2)
    MotherboardASUS PRIME X399-A
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen Threadripper 1900X @ 4.166GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z (non-RGB) 3200MHz (32GB)
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080Ti GX11G
    Sound CardPropellerhead Balance (USB DAC/ADC)
    MonitorAcer Predator XB271HK
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo (1TB)
    Storage #2WD Blue SATA SSD (500GB) + HGST NAS Drive (3TB) + WD Red (4TB, 2x in RAID 1)
    CPU CoolerEnermax LiqTech 360 sTR4
    CaseSilverstone Fortress FT02 (Black, Windowed)
    Power SupplyEnermax MaxTytan 1050W
    Keyboard Logitech G710+
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Audio Technica ATH-M50 + Massdrop AGK K7XX
    Mouse Pad Tek Syndicate XXL Mouse Mat
    Headset/Speakers Bose Companion II
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC68U + TP-Link TL-SG1005D (5-Port Gigabit Switch)
    Accessory #1 Korg microKorg Midi Keyboard
    4Strings's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    223

    I followed the instructions carefully... Twice.
    I'm using Prolimatech PK-1 Thermal Paste....
    I tried to boot again, (it's been about an hour) and once I get to the Monitor tab of the BIOS the CPU temp is about 36C and quickly rises to 51C where it shuts down...

    Should I try re-doing the cooler again???

    But why would it shut down at 50dC??? That's 11 degrees below the CPU's limit, isn't it???
    Last edited by 4Strings; 02-05-2013 at 02:52 AM.

  7. #7
    B(TX)assist Array 4Strings PC Specs
    4Strings PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP ZBook Studio G3 (Intel Xeon E3-1505M, 16GB RAM, Nvidia Quadro m1000M, 500GB + 1TB M.2)
    MotherboardASUS PRIME X399-A
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen Threadripper 1900X @ 4.166GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z (non-RGB) 3200MHz (32GB)
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080Ti GX11G
    Sound CardPropellerhead Balance (USB DAC/ADC)
    MonitorAcer Predator XB271HK
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo (1TB)
    Storage #2WD Blue SATA SSD (500GB) + HGST NAS Drive (3TB) + WD Red (4TB, 2x in RAID 1)
    CPU CoolerEnermax LiqTech 360 sTR4
    CaseSilverstone Fortress FT02 (Black, Windowed)
    Power SupplyEnermax MaxTytan 1050W
    Keyboard Logitech G710+
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Audio Technica ATH-M50 + Massdrop AGK K7XX
    Mouse Pad Tek Syndicate XXL Mouse Mat
    Headset/Speakers Bose Companion II
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC68U + TP-Link TL-SG1005D (5-Port Gigabit Switch)
    Accessory #1 Korg microKorg Midi Keyboard
    4Strings's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    223

    Well... Turns out that the H80i's pump is dead... I cleaned off the CPU and put on the stock cooler and I've been sitting at the BIOS for about 20 minutes now and the CPU temperature is stable at 39dC... Not such a great temp, but oh well... :P
    I've already contacted Amazon and they'll send my a replacement that should be here on Thursday... I'll stay with the stock cooler 'till then.

    Thanks to everyone for all the advice!!!

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Just as well I read to the bottom of the thread. Saw your mention about getting to 51'c and powering down.

    The AMD CPU's do not have a very high shut down point 65'c or so. And was about to ask if your pump was working or connected correctly.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array skellattarr PC Specs
    skellattarr PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair viii hero
    ProcessorRyzen 9 3950x
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL Trident Z RGB 64GB 4X16 3200MHZ
    Graphics Card #1rog strix gtx 1080
    Sound Cardcreative sound blaster ae-5
    Monitoracer 28inch 4k
    Storage #1Samsung 960 evo 1tb m.2/Mushkin Reactor 1tb ssd
    Storage #23x 3tb hhd/segate 10TB drive
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i
    CaseThermaltake veiw 71 case
    Power Supplycorsair 1200w
    Keyboard Corsair k95 rgb
    Mouse corsair m65 pro rgb
    Mouse Pad corsair mm800 rgb polaris
    Headset/Speakers logitech 5.1
    OS windows 10 pro
    skellattarr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    668

    man thats enough to make me pole my hair out lol glad you found the problem.
    amd ryzen 9 3950x
    CROSSHAIR Viii hero
    Corsair Hydro Series H115i
    G.SKILL Trident Z 3200mhz 64gb 4x16 timings 16,18,18,38
    asus rog strix gtx 1080
    TOSHIBA 3TB hdd 3x a total of 9tb, 10 tb hdd and a 1tb mushkin ssd
    corsair axi 1200i 1200 watt psu
    thermal take view 71 case

  10. #10
    B(TX)assist Array 4Strings PC Specs
    4Strings PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP ZBook Studio G3 (Intel Xeon E3-1505M, 16GB RAM, Nvidia Quadro m1000M, 500GB + 1TB M.2)
    MotherboardASUS PRIME X399-A
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen Threadripper 1900X @ 4.166GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z (non-RGB) 3200MHz (32GB)
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080Ti GX11G
    Sound CardPropellerhead Balance (USB DAC/ADC)
    MonitorAcer Predator XB271HK
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo (1TB)
    Storage #2WD Blue SATA SSD (500GB) + HGST NAS Drive (3TB) + WD Red (4TB, 2x in RAID 1)
    CPU CoolerEnermax LiqTech 360 sTR4
    CaseSilverstone Fortress FT02 (Black, Windowed)
    Power SupplyEnermax MaxTytan 1050W
    Keyboard Logitech G710+
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Audio Technica ATH-M50 + Massdrop AGK K7XX
    Mouse Pad Tek Syndicate XXL Mouse Mat
    Headset/Speakers Bose Companion II
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC68U + TP-Link TL-SG1005D (5-Port Gigabit Switch)
    Accessory #1 Korg microKorg Midi Keyboard
    4Strings's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    223

    Well... I got the replacement H80i from Amazon yesterday, installed it and my FX-8350 is now running ~10-12 degrees C cooler!!

    Only problem now is that one of the AP-181 intake fans in the bottom of my FT02 died two days ago... I contacted Silverstone and then sent them an RMA form... So hopefully they'll send me a replacement fan soon... :/ If they won't send me a replacement then I guess I'll have to shell out $18 and just buy a replacement from Amazon... :P

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •