Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    G55VW Wifi Problem

    Hello all.
    Brief History:
    1. Purchased G55VW from Amazon. G55 #1 had a problem with wifi. The computer would connect to the router, but internet could not be reached. I have 3 other PCs that access this network without issues. I have reinstalled a number of drivers Atheros Wifi versions 9 - 10 and no change. I called Asus Support. Asked me to do the exact same thing, no change. I blamed back luck for receiving a lemon and returned it to Amazon for a replacement.

    2. Replacement G55VW arrived from Amazon. Long story short, same problem. Fiddled with 10.0 drivers from Asus website and Atheros website to no avail. Contacted Asus support... Got a case number and no resolution.

    I LOVE this laptop. It is quite an amazing machine. But no wifi is a deal breaker. I have searched a number of times and have not found anyone complaining about this. There are some discussions about Atheros Drivers and Windows 8, but no solutions. I've tried all the "solutions" I've found online. Is there a bad batch of Atheros G55s that some how made it to Amazon?

    The funny thing is I plugged in a noname USB network adapter from another PC and I get internet through there no problem.

    Details:
    Core i7 3630
    Windows 8
    Atheros 9485WB-EG Wireless Network Adapter

    I'll give the forum a shot. If that doesn't work, then back to Amazon it goes... I will probably not seek a replacement.

    Does anyone have experience with this issue?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,761

    Welcome to the forums! Sorry to hear about your G55, since that is strange. I'm no expert in the area, but I have a G53SX which has an Atheros card as well, but it has no problems with either LINUX or Windows. This is what LINUX tells me I have:
    Network controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) (rev 01)

    Have you tried uninstalling the driver from Device Manager and rebooting the computer to see what Windows re-installs?

    Actually, I am curious, does the second system have problems with Internet access, but not the local WiFi network? That sounds like a configuration problem on either your router or your computer. If the WiFi card were faulty, it wouldn't connect to the network.
    I am disturbed because I cannot break my system...found out there were others trying to cope! We have a support group on here, if your system will not break, please join!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=16
    We now have 178 people whose systems will not break! Yippee!
    LINUX Users, we have a group!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=23

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Thanks for the quick response.

    Yes, I have uninstalled the drivers from the device manager. When I reboot Windows uses some Microsoft Qualcomm Atheros driver. That one does not work at all.

    Not sure about the router being the problem. I have 3 other PCs an iphone and ipad connected with no problems. The only constant is that the G55s don't seem to like it. I was going to experiment by taking mine to work to see if it connects there. I am using WPA2 encryption as well.

    Could it be a driver issue if I can connect to the access point but cannot resolve internet addresses?

    Forgot to answer: It does "see" some other PCs on the network, but does not connect to them. I can't see my NAS either.
    Thanks again!
    Last edited by ZenosteR; 02-05-2013 at 01:32 AM.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array rewben PC Specs
    rewben PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G55VW-3D
    MotherboardASROCK Z97 EXTREME 6
    ProcessorINTEL 4790K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL RIPJAWZ 2400MHZ (F3-19200CL10Q-32GBZHD)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorDELL U2713HM
    Storage #1SAMSUNG SM843 480GB X2
    Storage #2WD GREEN 3TB X2
    CPU CoolerSWIFTECH H240-X
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power SupplyTHERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER XT PLATINUM 1275W
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 RGB
    Mouse STEELSERIES KINZU V3
    Headset STEELSERIES 9H
    Mouse Pad STEELSERIES QCK+
    Headset/Speakers LOGITECH Z506
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO AU
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    178
    Posts
    2,229

    @ZenosteR, what is the version number for your driver? i cannot guarantee this will work for you (but mine is actually working fine here):

    1. please turn off the power saving feature for the wifi (device manager > network adapters > wifi > power management;
    2. in terms of drivers, can you please tell us which versions you have tried before, or currently using?
    3. can your wifi card connect to the router, assigned with the valid ip?

    also, please look for @dstrakele's posts. he has a number of good advices and tips on the wifi trouble shooting. alternatively, google 'site:rog.asus.com wifi wireless issue g75' without quotes.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    48

    Try to reinstall the ATk package and the wireless console 3~

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by rewben View Post
    @ZenosteR, what is the version number for your driver? i cannot guarantee this will work for you (but mine is actually working fine here):

    1. please turn off the power saving feature for the wifi (device manager > network adapters > wifi > power management;
    2. in terms of drivers, can you please tell us which versions you have tried before, or currently using?
    3. can your wifi card connect to the router, assigned with the valid ip?
    also, please look for @dstrakele's posts. he has a number of good advices and tips on the wifi trouble shooting. alternatively, google 'site:rog.asus.com wifi wireless issue g75' without quotes.
    1. Already tried this. no effect
    2. ok, MS driver vs 3.0.0.130, Atheros Drivers: Win8 - 10.0.0.217, 10.0.0.209, and the one it came with 9.0.x.xx..
    3. Yes, and I have tried to give it a static route (no dhcp) based on findings from your search advice below. No luck.

    Ok, Interesting thing: I was able to see my other PC on the network and download a shared file. Still no access to the internet on the G55. All others have no problem.
    Last edited by ZenosteR; 02-05-2013 at 11:00 AM.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    What about a wired connection? Does it work with LAN?

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array rewben PC Specs
    rewben PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G55VW-3D
    MotherboardASROCK Z97 EXTREME 6
    ProcessorINTEL 4790K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL RIPJAWZ 2400MHZ (F3-19200CL10Q-32GBZHD)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorDELL U2713HM
    Storage #1SAMSUNG SM843 480GB X2
    Storage #2WD GREEN 3TB X2
    CPU CoolerSWIFTECH H240-X
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power SupplyTHERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER XT PLATINUM 1275W
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 RGB
    Mouse STEELSERIES KINZU V3
    Headset STEELSERIES 9H
    Mouse Pad STEELSERIES QCK+
    Headset/Speakers LOGITECH Z506
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO AU
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    178
    Posts
    2,229

    Quote Originally Posted by ZenosteR View Post
    1. Already tried this. no effect
    2. ok, MS driver vs 3.0.0.130, Atheros Drivers: Win8 - 10.0.0.217, 10.0.0.209, and the one it came with 9.0.x.xx..
    3. Yes, and I have tried to give it a static route (no dhcp) based on findings from your search advice below. No luck.

    Ok, Interesting thing: I was able to see my other PC on the network and download a shared file. Still no access to the internet on the G55. All others have no problem.
    that probably means something is not right about the DNS on your laptop. when you issue the command nslookup google.com as admin, is the result similar to the following?

    C:\Windows\system32>nslookup google.com
    Server: UnKnown
    Address: your.dns.server

    Non-authoritative answer:
    Name: google.com
    Addresses: 2404:6800:4003:802::1009
    173.194.38.136
    173.194.38.137
    173.194.38.142
    173.194.38.128
    173.194.38.129
    173.194.38.130
    173.194.38.131
    173.194.38.132
    173.194.38.133
    173.194.38.134
    173.194.38.135

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    147

    Atheros wireless card is bad. Buy an intel Centrino card and install on your G55 but it Is not going to be easy since you have to disassemble the entire G55 but there should be a guide already out and had been done by several people already.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array dstrakele's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    4,437

    I find it unlikely for the WiFi cards to be defective in both G55 laptops, particularly since one exhibits some local network connectivity.

    I'd try booting into Windows Safe Mode, uninstalling the current Atheros WiFi driver from Control Panel, rebooting into Safe Mode and installing Atheros 10.0.0.217 by running SETUP.EXE from the Atheros WiFi driver installation file set.

    What Security software - Antivirus, AntiMalware, and Firewall are currently running on this laptop?
    Last edited by dstrakele; 02-05-2013 at 05:53 PM.
    G74SX-A1 - stock hardware - BIOS 202 - 2nd Monitor VISIO VF551XVT

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •