Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Maximus v extreme bios update

    Hello guys... I am having a delimma. A friend of mine who is a computer engineer he says that when a motherboard BIOS is running perfect with the rest of the system i shouldn't do any update. But i have the version 0257 (06/06/2012) and as i can see is quite old... What I should do...?

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,247

    They're right. If your system is stable, then you're good. Don't update just to get the "latest" of everything. Only update when a problem presents itself. Enjoy your motherboard.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Thanks a lot Chino...I am really enjoying my motherboard... + the rest of my system..! Goodnight

  4. #4
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse ROG Chakram Core
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    Mouse Pad Steelseries QCK Prism XL
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,437

    I see you have an ROG motherboard like me, I found 3 different ways to update. The way I chose to update the bios was to install AI suite II from the disc that came with the motherboard. Open AI suite II, click update, It will bring up a list of the bios versions, click 1604 as that is the latest one, click next and it downloads it. After it downloads you will be prompted to reboot. Installation begins. It only takes 5 or 10 seconds for it to install and you're done. You don't even have to download it onto a disc or flash drive. How cool is that? Bios updates are usually released for stabilty/compatibilty issues. I didn't have any issues with the previous bios version either but it MAY help if you want to try and do some crazy overclocking.
    Last edited by Nate152; 02-06-2013 at 05:24 PM.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Hi dude... thanks for replying.. i have installed AI suite from the first momment... And I learned how to Update... I was just "afraid" to do it since my computer is running perfectly for 5 months without even a small delay. Thanks anyway

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,358

    Until that system satisfies your needs, don't update it... - why fix something what's not broken?

    If time will come for updating, better use the BIOS flashback from a USB stick...

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    44

    Don't do the handy update from within Windows. Rather, download the bios update file to a USB key, then use the EZ Bios updater within the bios to flash itself. Also don't update unless you need to. Resist the urge to brick your board!
    i5-3570k | V Gene | HD 4000 | Crucial M4 256GB | Fractal Design Mini | NEC 2490WUXi2

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    I really wish folks would not update their bios using the OS based application. Yeah I know some folks get away with it, and sometimes even get away with updating in OS three of four times. Bottom line why go the high risk route.

    FIrst. DO NOT update BIOS unless you have to. And have too means fixing an error.
    Second. Use the BIOS based utility EZFlash2 NOT the OS.

    And uninstall AIsuite if you can. Not my number 1 utility.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •