Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    19
    Posts
    128

    3770K Multiplier voltages for 47x and 48x. What are yours? (Ok - I MEAN HELP ME!)

    Hi Guys,
    Decided to fire some extra effort at getting this 3770K above multiplier 46 stable.

    She will do 4737mhz at 46x103 no problem with voltages around 1.28v and bench all night at 4780mhz with 45x105, indeed this week she has been doing with great results. Super Pi 32m / 3Dmark / catzilla / You name it.

    However, no matter what I do, I cant get her Super Pi 8m stable on multipliers 47x or higher no matter what i do. (All initial multiplier testing is done on 100mhz bus and 1600 ram)

    Also, perhaps worth mentioning is something I personally find a little odd about OC'ing the 3770K, (or this one at least) is that if I get her stable at any speed, I can have too much voltage and make her unstable again.

    Example:
    4737mhz (46x 103 @ 1.280v) she will pass SuperPi 32m no problem, but she wont at 1.30v.

    In the past, I have never had any problem with too much voltage other than heat.
    Is this normal For IVY, or is mine odd? I wonder if my leakage is too high and she simply wont run voltages higher than 1.290v at all ad I have tried so far right up to 1.55v in 0.01v steps.

    For reference...
    Asus maximus Extreme IV Z68
    i7 3770K delidded (Never sees above 60C no matter what volts I put in it... rarely exceeds 45c).
    Larger than most water loop with external 1260 rad.

    Tried all manner of BIOS tweaks, all the usual:

    • LLC optimised / High / Extreme
    • Phase 350 / 400 / 450 / 500
    • CPU PLL enabled
    • C states all off
    • Spread spectrum always off
    • Looser ram timings



    Nothing seems to make any difference.
    Always the same result - boots to windows fine, but put it under load with higher than 1.295v - dead stop - black screen error. 124. Every single time.

    The point of this topic I guess, is to get some feedback, ideas and discussion going and then if lots of people tell me they have had to exceed 1.55v to get 47x, I will try it as that is the highest I have tried. But it seems high considering what I have read on the forums about others experiences.

    Another thought I have yet to investigate - can peripherals cause it?
    Last edited by Stu @ MSD; 02-08-2013 at 09:45 AM.

    Asus Maximus IV Extreme Z
    i7 3770K @ 4.4ghz
    AMD 7970 HD x3 in TriFire @ 1200/1800.
    2x 240GHZ OCZ Vertex 3 SSD & 1x 512Gb Vertex 4
    16GB 2133mhz Patriot DDR3
    Ennermax Max Revo 1500w PSU
    Huge water loop with an internal EK 340mm & external Supernova 1260mm
    Windows 7 64 bit.

    Aquaero Fan control & monitoring

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Just a warning. I probably have the worst overclocking chip on these forums lol. I need a massive amount of volts to get a stable overclock. I don't move the BCLK much because I've found it harder to find a stable OC moving it. I use the multiplier mostly. I'm also running slower RAM than you, so you might need to play with your VCCIO. Try overvolting your RAM a little too if you need.

    Multiplier - 48
    Internal PLL Overvoltage - Enabled
    Vcore - 1.5v
    CPU LLC - Extreme
    CPU Voltage Frequency - 500
    CPU Current Capability - 140%
    All C states - Disabled
    Spread Spectrum - Disabled
    SpeedStep - Disabled
    CPU PLL - 1.85v

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    19
    Posts
    128

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    I don't move the BCLK much because I've found it harder to find a stable OC moving it. I use the multiplier mostly. I'm also running slower RAM than you, so you might need to play with your VCCIO. Try overvolting your RAM a little too if you need.
    Hi mate,
    I mentioend above, but probably not easy to spot if speed reading, that my testing is all done at 1600 ram and 100mhz bus. My ram is set at 1.65v and timings the same as I usually run it for benching which is now 2520mhz.

    My VCCIO/SA is1.10v and CPU PLL 1.80v
    I have tried PLL 1.60 - 1.70 and 1.85 - 1.95 with no joy.

    The minute I try 1.3v or above on the vcore = dead.
    Last edited by Stu @ MSD; 02-07-2013 at 11:09 PM.

    Asus Maximus IV Extreme Z
    i7 3770K @ 4.4ghz
    AMD 7970 HD x3 in TriFire @ 1200/1800.
    2x 240GHZ OCZ Vertex 3 SSD & 1x 512Gb Vertex 4
    16GB 2133mhz Patriot DDR3
    Ennermax Max Revo 1500w PSU
    Huge water loop with an internal EK 340mm & external Supernova 1260mm
    Windows 7 64 bit.

    Aquaero Fan control & monitoring

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    My bad. I was looking at the specs from your signature.

    i'm not familiar with the MIVE bios so I don't know if you have any of the following options:
    Internal PLL Overvoltage - Enabled
    Xtreme Tweaking - Enabled
    Extreme OV - Enabled

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    19
    Posts
    128

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    i'm not familiar with the MIVE bios so I don't know if you have any of the following options:
    Internal PLL Overvoltage - Enabled
    Xtreme Tweaking - Enabled
    Extreme OV - Enabled
    Yes to all and tried all.

    Asus Maximus IV Extreme Z
    i7 3770K @ 4.4ghz
    AMD 7970 HD x3 in TriFire @ 1200/1800.
    2x 240GHZ OCZ Vertex 3 SSD & 1x 512Gb Vertex 4
    16GB 2133mhz Patriot DDR3
    Ennermax Max Revo 1500w PSU
    Huge water loop with an internal EK 340mm & external Supernova 1260mm
    Windows 7 64 bit.

    Aquaero Fan control & monitoring

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Please see if you are able to pass the x47 mark with a single or dual core disabled in BIOS.

    The voltage thing is quite common actually with Ivy, they do have a preference in some instances and if you exceed that no show. You might also find that you can go to 50x and increase the voltage no problem. So try to skip 47 and go for 50
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    19
    Posts
    128

    Quote Originally Posted by HiVizMan View Post
    Please see if you are able to pass the x47 mark with a single or dual core disabled in BIOS.

    The voltage thing is quite common actually with Ivy, they do have a preference in some instances and if you exceed that no show. You might also find that you can go to 50x and increase the voltage no problem. So try to skip 47 and go for 50
    Hmm... not actually sure how or where to disable actual cores.
    Will try that mate, thanks. have already tried 50x. Same effect... will boot into windows, but wont load up if over 1.29v

    Asus Maximus IV Extreme Z
    i7 3770K @ 4.4ghz
    AMD 7970 HD x3 in TriFire @ 1200/1800.
    2x 240GHZ OCZ Vertex 3 SSD & 1x 512Gb Vertex 4
    16GB 2133mhz Patriot DDR3
    Ennermax Max Revo 1500w PSU
    Huge water loop with an internal EK 340mm & external Supernova 1260mm
    Windows 7 64 bit.

    Aquaero Fan control & monitoring

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    In the BIOS there is a section that deals with the CPU, there you are able to set number of cores. I will post the screen of where when I power down this system.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    19
    Posts
    128

    No need to trouble yourself mate, I will find it.
    Thanks for the kind offer though.

    Asus Maximus IV Extreme Z
    i7 3770K @ 4.4ghz
    AMD 7970 HD x3 in TriFire @ 1200/1800.
    2x 240GHZ OCZ Vertex 3 SSD & 1x 512Gb Vertex 4
    16GB 2133mhz Patriot DDR3
    Ennermax Max Revo 1500w PSU
    Huge water loop with an internal EK 340mm & external Supernova 1260mm
    Windows 7 64 bit.

    Aquaero Fan control & monitoring

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    19
    Posts
    128

    Tried 50 and 51 and also tried with all, 2 and 1 core.
    No joy.

    Looks like this one just isnt going to play my game.

    Asus Maximus IV Extreme Z
    i7 3770K @ 4.4ghz
    AMD 7970 HD x3 in TriFire @ 1200/1800.
    2x 240GHZ OCZ Vertex 3 SSD & 1x 512Gb Vertex 4
    16GB 2133mhz Patriot DDR3
    Ennermax Max Revo 1500w PSU
    Huge water loop with an internal EK 340mm & external Supernova 1260mm
    Windows 7 64 bit.

    Aquaero Fan control & monitoring

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •