Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Area 66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Reputation
    49
    Posts
    2,276

    Best way to shutdown pc in case of pump failure.

    I will like to know witch software and setting you are using to shutdown the PC in case of water pump failure ( of course the pump has to be equip with a sensor )

    I'm using Speedfan, witch one are you using ?
    Last edited by Area 66; 02-11-2013 at 09:20 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Outfielder Array Skull6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    29
    Posts
    306

    I take it that you want this to be automated, like "if the pump fails, then shut down computer"?
    "If it moves, salute it. If it doesn't move, pick it up. & if you can't pick it up...paint it RED & BLACK !!"
    G75VW-BBK5 {stock}

    ............ Macrium Reflect..................Full G55VW/G75VW model list!

  3. #3
    Here is my ROG title Array Granger PC Specs
    Granger PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair Formula V
    ProcessorPhenom II 1100T
    Memory (part number)G-Skill RipjawsX 2x4Gb@1838Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire HD7970 OC VaporX
    MonitorSamsung Syncmaster 2253LW + 2 Packard Bell 19.5" vga
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 850EVO 250gb
    Storage #2250gb SSD + 4 HD 3Tb total + NAS 3Tb
    CPU CoolerSwiftech custom loop
    CaseCoolerMaster HAF 932 modified
    Power SupplyCoolermaster SilentPro Hybrid 1300W
    Keyboard Razer Black Widow Ultimate
    Mouse Razer Ourobouros
    Headset Razer Tiamat 7.1
    Mouse Pad Razer Exact Mat
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterISP provided (Free)
    Accessory #1 Razer Hydra
    Accessory #2 Madcatz Arcade Fightstick
    Accessory #3 Belkin n52te
    Granger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    419

    Lower the CPU max temp in the BIOS, PC will shut down to protect itself, I think its defaulted at 90° and to be on the safe side, I dropped mine down to 70°


  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Mankz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    330

    You can set it up through something like an Aquacomputer Aquero.. Otherwise, lowering the thermal threshold is probably the best idea.

  5. #5
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,128

    like mankz sait, and a flow meter.
    that way the controller can shut down the pc if there is enny thing wrong.
    the controller is a bit expensive, but you need one whit aquabus.
    i have the XT ( largest version whit a remote controll ) , you can set up fans ( speed ) and flow meter,+++
    lots of things that i have not started to look over yet. ( been playing games bit mutch :P )

  6. #6
    AntiMatter Guru ROG Array chrsplmr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Reputation
    295
    Posts
    6,113

    Quote Originally Posted by Granger View Post
    Lower the CPU max temp in the BIOS, PC will shut down to protect itself, I think its defaulted at 90° and to be on the safe side, I dropped mine down to 70°
    Excellent .. thnx for the heads up ...

    kkn ... a bit much ??? can Never be toooooo much ...

    I dont have 'water' and am running the CrossHair V on Air .. hehehe .. ooops ..
    just turn it on .. ROG .. and forget it.

    66 .. the biggest concerne i would have is leakage .. and that would
    be a pressure switch of some sort .. imho.c.
    Last edited by chrsplmr; 02-11-2013 at 08:25 PM.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Area 66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Reputation
    49
    Posts
    2,276

    Well thanks for the input, I think I was not clear, I don't ask for help, I just want you share what software you use to monitor and control the pump . I use Speedfan , it will shut down if the pump stop to work as I have a tach on my Lang pump. I ask if you have other solution to see what else is available. I will edit my first post

    kkn I do have the Aqua XT on one og my PC nice features.

  8. #8
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,128

    Quote Originally Posted by Area 66 View Post
    og
    oh how menny times have i missed that f at times and writen og ( og = and )

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,359

    This may not be the best way... but did it last time I forgot to turn on the pumps (I have them on a different PSU): hit the kill switch as soon as you observe that there is no flow in your loop...

    The problem with this method may be if you don't observe it in time... but then some of the protective mechanisms will kick in... hopefully...

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Area 66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Reputation
    49
    Posts
    2,276

    Well I play a little bit with my Aquero this morning, and it seem the only way to shut down the PC is with a relay. and I'm gone need one that support 1200 watts. It,s not a problem for me to build one , but I found that Kollence has a similar product and I order one. The software look to do my need very well, shutdown the PC and at $ 100 it's way more afordable, I will make a little review when I get it . I will not control fans with it, but I'm sure those regulator we see will benefits of a heatsink, I will see what are the posibility to install one.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ktm.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	31.8 KB 
ID:	17185
    Last edited by Area 66; 02-15-2013 at 06:54 PM.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •