Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Recent Geeksquad repair - need help

    I just got my computer back from geeksquad repair and they replaced my hard drive and only the stock asus software is in the computer, the ROG button by the power button does not do anything, my backlit keyboard doesnt work, the screen brightness fn hotkey doesnt work and alot of the apps that were installed are missing.. is there a compilation download package i can get to download them back? I hate night gaming on a black keyboard.. please help D:
    thankss c: ~munky~

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,247

    Welcome to the Republic of Gamers forum, munkyshet.

    What is your laptop's model?

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Clintlgm PC Specs
    Clintlgm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY DH72
    MotherboardAsus Z97 Pro WiFi and /Z97 Pro A
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Storage #1512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #21 TB Samsun 850 Pro
    CaseCool Master Haf
    OS Win 8.1 Pro and Win 10 Pro
    Clintlgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    111
    Posts
    4,188

    There are some links in this thread http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...untry=&status= Just download the ones you want. It sounds like the GeekSquad did you a favor and clean installed your new hard drive. Be sure to download the correct drivers for Win 7 or win 8 which ever you have? Install the ATK package first.
    G752VY-DH72 Win 10 Pro
    512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    1 TB Samsung 850 pro 2.5 format
    980m GTX 4 GB
    32GB DDR 4 Standard RAM

    Z97 PRO WiFi I7 4790K
    Windows 10 Pro
    Z97 -A
    Windows 10 Pro

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array rewben PC Specs
    rewben PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G55VW-3D
    MotherboardASROCK Z97 EXTREME 6
    ProcessorINTEL 4790K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL RIPJAWZ 2400MHZ (F3-19200CL10Q-32GBZHD)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorDELL U2713HM
    Storage #1SAMSUNG SM843 480GB X2
    Storage #2WD GREEN 3TB X2
    CPU CoolerSWIFTECH H240-X
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power SupplyTHERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER XT PLATINUM 1275W
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 RGB
    Mouse STEELSERIES KINZU V3
    Headset STEELSERIES 9H
    Mouse Pad STEELSERIES QCK+
    Headset/Speakers LOGITECH Z506
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO AU
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    178
    Posts
    2,229

    i think it's best you get the latest ones from ASUS:

    g55 -> http://rog.asus.com/notebook/15-inch/g55vw/
    g75 -> http://rog.asus.com/notebook/17-inch/g75vw/

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array dparish2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    46

    I would go to the Asus site and download the Chipset and everything else you want after that..... Honestly (never go to geeksquad) I would go back there and make them ACTUALLY FIX it, I mean you technically received the laptop back in a non fully functional condition. Demand they fix it, or request a new one. I would go straight to the manager immediately upon my arrival, explain the issue and request a new computer first.


    FYI
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZxoljR71cCA
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vZq4UnkgZQI

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,761

    ATK package is what you need, as mentioned.

    Like others have said, stay away from geeksquad. BestBuy "techs" generally don't know anything. The geeks on here are the real deal. Microcenter, if there is one in your area, generally has people who know what they are talking about. Then again, building your own PCs is a requirement for working there.
    I am disturbed because I cannot break my system...found out there were others trying to cope! We have a support group on here, if your system will not break, please join!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=16
    We now have 178 people whose systems will not break! Yippee!
    LINUX Users, we have a group!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=23

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    I have the G75VW and Ive been to the DL page but they have the core things like they keyboard backlit drivers(yes i found and installed them) But i still have the issue with my ROG power management button. and at Zygomorphic, I wasnt exactly able to fix a cracked HDD, broken fan cover, and headphone jack xD Geeksquad was free and fast

  8. #8
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Intel NUC laptop LAPQC71D
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
    ProcessorAMD 5800X
    Memory (part number)32GB G.Skill Ripjaws V 3600
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix RTX3090Ti
    Sound CardSound Blaster Z
    MonitorAORUS FV43U
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
    CPU CoolerCustom loop
    CaseBeQuiet Dark Base Pro 900 V2
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard ROG Strix Flare II Animate
    Mouse ROG Chakram X
    Headset Steelseries Arctis Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers Logitech z906 5.1
    Network RouterpfSense/OPNsense
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    436
    Posts
    8,631

    Power management is tied to Power Gear Plus I think. I wouldn't bother with it though as I don't think you would need or use it.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    How long did Geeksquad take?

    I went to them after extensively researching why my GFX card was no longer showing up in device manager. After figuring out that the gfx simply just up and died after a restart, and no amount of fresh installs of Windows would fix the problem, I took it to BB Geeksquad who looked at it for 3 minutes - They said, and I fricking quote "Your VGA card works, when I right-click on the desktop, it says it's using Standard VGA Adapter. Your monitor is just dead."

    and then I just calmly tore into his stupid ass. Un-fricking-believable. Card is dead, doesn't show up in device manager, Standard VGA adapter is the port attached to the mobo, nVidia drivers won't install because hardware is not detected, fresh install of windows didn't alleviate the problem, etc... And then I said, "I don't have confidence you or you where you ship it off to can fix it, if you can't properly identify the problem"

    So then I shipped it to Asus and they had it back in two weeks. It was $75 to ship it to them. RMA was no biggie.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •