Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 35
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    43

    1703 + 8350 = Practically no overclocking???

    So Ive had my 8350 installed for 2 weeks and had this thing overclocked to 5.0 stable and run it 24/7 at 4.8ghz no problems! I realized that I was on a very old BIOS (1301) and decided to update it to the latest 1703 and now I cant even get a mild overclock to POST let alone get in to Windows...

    ASUS, WTF did you do with 1703??

    Identical overclock settings from my 4.8ghz stable overclock will NOT POST on 1703. I even tried bumping it to 4.4ghz and still will not POST. When I Clear CMOS I can boot just fine, but right now, I am reverting this thing back to 1301 since I KNEW it worked JUST fine and was perfectly stable.

    Am I the first person to have this issues with 1703 and the FX-8350?!?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Roadking's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    76

    Ive found the 1703 to be the best bios so far for my particular system. It might help us help you if you post your hardware amd bios settings.
    AMD FX-8350 4.615 GHZ @ 1.43v ( Stable ) * ASUS Crosshair V Formula 990FX
    4Gx4 GSKILL F3-17000CL11D-8GBSR 16GB @ 2133 @ 1.63v
    XSPC Raystorm RX240 Extreme Universal CPU Water Cooling Kit w/ 2 RX240 Radiator
    2 Sapphire HD 7950 3GB OC Edition 1100/1500 @ 1.258v Crossfire
    3 Crucial 128 GB in RAID 0 * 2 WD 1002FAEX 1TB SATA3 RAID 0 Data drive
    Cooler Master Cosmos II * Enermax Revolution 85+ 1020W * Win 7 Home Premium 64 bit

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,359

    I hate to say, but this is what could happen when you try fixing something what's not broken... - only update BIOS when you need it!

    Was it any reason to update your BIOS, Jaysvfx? Or you just observed that there is a new BIOS and you did it?

    What method have you use to update the BIOS?

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array RangerXP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    103

    I thought that the 1703 bios was specifically enabled to support the FX-8350? I guess I didn't realize you could run it on on older ROM. I had a 1090T in under several BIOS since 1301 and just upgraded all the time.. when it came time for my 8350 it just fired right up so I presumed it was due to the BIOS enablement of the AM3+ chip.

    I have never thought of reverting for performance gain. Does anyone else have an 8350 with an older BIOS that they have found to be more stable with higher overclocks?
    CPU:AMD FX-8350 BE @ 4800Mhz C5F 1803
    Clocks: FSB: 200x24 NB:2400Mhz HT:2400 Mem:2133Mhz
    Voltage: CPU:1.50 NB:1.20 HT:1.20 Mem:1.65
    Memory: 8GB Gskill DDR3-2133 (F3-17000CL9D-8GBSR)
    Storage: sysvol: 2x256GB Transcend SSD RAID0 (amd_sata) Game: 128GB SSD Data: 2TB SATA
    GPU: EVGA GTX 680 SC+ SIG 2GB 1254/3105




  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    142

    I would think you could possibly go back as far as this bios:

    "Crosshair V Formula 0813 BIOS
    Support new CPUs."

    I think it was issued for bulldozer support if I'm not mistaken.

    However, I'm not going to be a guinea pig when it comes to bios.
    M7H (2012) | i7-4790K @ 4.7ghz @ 1.275v | cache @ 4.4ghz @ 1.275v |16gb (2x8) Xtreem @ DDR3-2666 (11-13-13-35-1T) | GTX 770 | AX860 PSU

    CVF-Z (2002) | FX-8350 @ 4.6ghz @ 1.4875v | cpu/nb @ 2600 @ 1.275v | ht @ 2600 | 8gb (2x4) Redlines (996997) @ DDR3-2133 (9-11-10-28-1T) | GTX570 | 850Z PSU

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array oldbrave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    240

    Before you revert to that older bios, I think you should give it a try and re-flash the 1703 version again, personally I find the 1703 bios to be very OC friendly and very stable !
    Electronic Smoke Signals From my TechnoTeepee
    ASUS Crosshair V Formula AM3+ 990FX, 1703 bios
    AMD FX 8350 Vishera @ 5162Mhz [21x245] 1.546v
    Water Cooled - Koolance EX2-1055, CPU 370 WB, Idle=22c Load=52c
    32Gb G.Skill Sniper ddr3 1600 8G X 4 , 9-9-9-24 @ 1.55v
    ASUS HD7970-DC2T-3GD5, Cat 13.5 beta 2, Dell U3011 @ 2560x1600
    SanDisk Extreme 120Gb SSD SATA 6Gb, 250Gb SATA 6Gb, 1Tb SATA 6Gb x2
    Win 7 Ultimate 64bit, Corsair Obsidian 800D, Corsair HX1000w PSU

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Occasionally a bios flash will not flash correctly, some small parts might be corrupt. Not enough to cause damage or harm to yoru system. Just a few lines of code missed up or lost.

    Download the bios again. That is important.
    Place the extracted bios onto your fat formatted USB stick.
    Use the flashing utility in the tools section of the bios.
    Clear CMos before you start.
    Clear CMOS once you are done.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    43

    Seems to be working now guys. Sorry I didnt come back here, apparently I had notifications turned off. 1703 is just as stable now for me as 1301 was. I have gotten my 8350 stable to 4.8ghz and am hitting a stability wall at 4.9 - Im really trying to get this to 5ghz and see if AMDs claims of it being possible can be done. Ill be making a new thread soon with my OC settings so that I can keep the thread on topic.

    Redownloading and reflashing 1703 seemed to do the trick.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    I am very pleased to hear you have been successful. Thank you for the report back.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,359

    Quote Originally Posted by Jaysvfx View Post
    Im really trying to get this to 5ghz and see if AMDs claims of it being possible can be done.
    It is possible to get the FX-8350 to a stable 5GHz - I can backup that... it's all about if your cooling setup can handle it...

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •