Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    42

    Adding ram to G46

    I'm a complete noob at laptops (never opened one up to upgrade/change components in them). How easy is it to upgrade the ram on the G46 from 4gb to 8gb? Or should I find an ASUS service for that?

    Also how much would that cost in euros aprox?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Vicodin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    320

    I am pretty sure it only has two RAM ports which are user accessible through a small door on the bottom of laptop. The question is, did Asus install 1x 4GB stick in one of the ports, or 2x 2GB sticks.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,254

    It's as easy as removing the plastic cover and inserting it. You can easily do it yourself.

    Your laptop has 2 RAM slots. Since you have 4GB, you're either running one 4GB stick or two 2GB sticks. If it's running one 4GB stick, it'll be cheaper for you because you'd only need to buy another of he same size. But if you're running two 2GB, it'll be a little more expensive because you'll need to either buy one 8GB stick or two 4GB stick.

    To check which configuration you're running, download, install and run CPU-Z. Navigate to the SPD tab, right underneath you'll see a dropbox for Slot #1 and Slot #2. See which slots are populated and with how many sticks. If you're not sure, feel free to post a screenshot here and I'll take a look at it.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Vicodin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    320

    I would go with 2 x 8 GB sticks if I were you. If your going to buy RAM, pay the extra and max it out.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array fostert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    706

    Agreed; put the maximum RAM in that the G46 can take. RAM is at an all-time low $ per GB, and you can always use extra for a RAMdisk.
    --
    G74SX-CST1-CBIL, i7 2630QM 2GHz
    32GB DDR3 RAM @1333MHz
    GTX560M 3GB DDR5 (192 bit)
    17.3" LED 1920x1080
    Sentelic TP, BIOS 203
    Debian Linux Wheezy (Testing) Kernel 3.2, NVIDIA 295.40

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    42

    Thank you

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,761

    Quote Originally Posted by Vicodin View Post
    I would go with 2 x 8 GB sticks if I were you. If your going to buy RAM, pay the extra and max it out.
    Second this. 16 GB is pretty nice to have, and it isn't more than ~$50 or so in America. The extra RAM may not be useful now, but it may pay off later.
    I am disturbed because I cannot break my system...found out there were others trying to cope! We have a support group on here, if your system will not break, please join!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=16
    We now have 178 people whose systems will not break! Yippee!
    LINUX Users, we have a group!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=23

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array JwPwns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    106

    where did he get the 4gb G46 anyways... thought they all come with minimum of 8 GB 2x4 by stock
    Asus G46 vw
    3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i7-3820QM processor
    16GB-DDR Corsair Vengence 1600
    128GB Samsung 830 Msata SSD + 750 GB HDD
    GTX 660m + Windows 7 ultimate db Windows 8 pro


  9. #9
    New ROGer Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,761

    Quote Originally Posted by JwPwns View Post
    where did he get the 4gb G46 anyways... thought they all come with minimum of 8 GB 2x4 by stock
    Two possibilities.
    1) He is out of the USA, where some sellers cut back on RAM due to the price (America has cheap everything, and especially RAM)
    2) He mis-typed.
    I am disturbed because I cannot break my system...found out there were others trying to cope! We have a support group on here, if your system will not break, please join!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=16
    We now have 178 people whose systems will not break! Yippee!
    LINUX Users, we have a group!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=23

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    52

    My G46 came with 8 GB ram, shouldn't your's have too?
    ASUS G46VW Owner

    Intel Core i5-3210m @ 2.5 GHz, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660M 2GB, 750 GB HDD, 8 GB RAM, 14" 720p/1366x768 display

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •