Page 1 of 11 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 103
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array czeslaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    164

    7970 Matrix Platinum - safe mode all the time

    Hello,

    I've run into an issue with my graphic card.
    After building my pc, installing windows 8 and drivers my card was flashing green all the time. I discovered that it was connected to Asus EPU engine, what I described here: http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...untry=&status=

    Since then my card was doing perfect. Today I've opened my chassis, removed RAM to try it with different PC, installed it again and now my card is in constant safe mode (led indicator flashing green). GPU Tweak ask me each time after boot to "recover my graphic card" but after boot it's still green !

    Please help ....

    Can it be that something happened to my psu and now graphic card can't work normally ?
    Should I try holding the safe button while pc is booting ? Flashing card's bios ? Resetting the motherboard's bios ?
    Last edited by czeslaw; 03-05-2013 at 07:58 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    In GPU tweak, please select the reset to defaults button and press enter.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array czeslaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    164

    can't access gpu tweak's setting as it asks to recover the card and then to reboot on and on ... it's an inifinite loop :/

    EDIT: with gpu-z I can see that my card is stuck with the profile I once created... I think it is impossible to recover the card for some reason
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	gpuz1.jpg 
Views:	46 
Size:	93.3 KB 
ID:	17963

    ASUS GPUTweak 2.3.0.2
    Last edited by czeslaw; 03-05-2013 at 05:48 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,358

    Your GPU Tweak may went bad... I would uninstall it and reinstall it...

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array czeslaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    164

    I tried reinstalling and installing older version (2.2.9.9) but still it's the same. When I try to run ASUS GPU-Z from GPU Tweak dir I have some OpenCL errors... strange. Maybe it's connected to ATI or Intel drivers? I'm thinking about performing clean install.

    For some time my intel card is not visible in device manager. I've set PCIE to primary graphic in BIOS, but still I think it should be visible (Asus Maximus V Formula).
    Last edited by czeslaw; 03-06-2013 at 06:46 AM.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,358

    Hm... I think, at this point I would proceed with a clean install...

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    One other thing you can do is in CCC reset defaults.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Click the safe mode button to reset the graphic card back to the default clock frequencies and voltages.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array czeslaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    164

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Click the safe mode button to reset the graphic card back to the default clock frequencies and voltages.
    Already tried that... Should I hold it for longer time, or hold during boot?

    I think I'll try to reinstall the drivers and gpu tweak and if nothing changes I'll go for clean install. Is there catalyst driver version you can recommend (newest non-beta drivers?) and gpu tweak version (2.3?)?

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Hi try the bios flash tool under the platinum matrix page as I had one of my cards stuck on purple with 1st led at green nothing worked as if it was frozen so try bios flash then remove from pci and try it in another slot etc then go back and it cleared

Page 1 of 11 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •