Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 55
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array sandro c PC Specs
    sandro c PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Ispiron i5
    MotherboardRIVE
    Processori7 3930K @4600 Mhz
    Memory (part number)Corsair D. CMT16GX3M4X2133C9 @2200
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX580 TI oc
    Graphics Card #2none
    Graphics Card #3none
    Graphics Card #4none
    Sound CardRealtk on board 7.channel
    MonitorSamsung LV32F390F
    Storage #1Raid0 2x samsung 850 pro
    Storage #2Raid0 2x samsung 850 pro
    CPU CoolerNoctua NHD14- Dynatron R13 under cpu soket
    CaseThermaltake Armor 6000B
    Power SupplyEnermax 625W modu82+
    Keyboard Logitech G105
    Mouse Logitech G300S
    Headset HP USB2
    Mouse Pad a white printer foil
    Headset/Speakers RCF Home theatre 5 channels
    OS Win10 pro-Win10 Insider-Win7 pro
    Network RouterTechnicolor ADSL 46 Mbit
    Accessory #1 Webcam Logitech 9000
    Accessory #2 Epson ptoto Stilus PX800FW
    Accessory #3 USB DTT receiver
    sandro c's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    73
    Posts
    390

    "My CPU-RIVE not like the 46x multiplier"

    Hi Nodens, hi guys,
    I believe that the situation requires me to open a new tred also because it is not proper for me to treat a overclocking problem in a tread regarding drivers for the Intel SATA ports.
    It seems that we can say that "My CPU-RIVE not like the 46x multiplier"
    To summarize just for those who did not follow us in the other tread, for months I've always used an overclock @ 4.550 Ghz with multip. setup 45X-FSB 101.6 - mem clock @ 2170, because in the past I have verified that with 46x - FSB 100.0, the PC did not boot.
    Today I wanted to exaggerate this setup just to see what I could bring to 4.6 GHz before having boot problems, compatibly with the temp. allowed by my air cooling of course. In the last reply, for problems regarding IMC, were advising me to lower the memory clock and raise the moltip. @ 46-48X, and to help stability i have also raised the offset +0.050 which Vcore under a load of 1.40 volts, with temp. still acceptable. I setup the multip. at 46x, FSB at 100.0 and mem @ 1866 leaving as usual all other setup. Well the PC did not boot!
    After I went back to my old setup 45X, - but get a FSB @ 102.3, mem clock @ 2192 and a CPU clock @ 4604 .....and PC has passed all the tests that I usually do to check the stability and ... it boots perfectly!
    I do not think is a problem of IMC.
    I am willing to do any tests suggested to explain such a strange thing.
    thanks advance for your suggestions.
    sandro c.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator - Coderat Array Nodens PC Specs
    Nodens PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS GL702VW-GC004T
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel 3930K C2
    Memory (part number)CMZ16GX3M4X2133C11
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX970-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorASUS VG278H
    Storage #13x OCZ Vertex 3 240 (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    Storage #23x WD2003FYYS (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i + 4x Noctua NF-P12
    CaseCoolermaster HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-1250
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterLinksys E4200v2 (running TomatoUSB/Toastman firmware)
    Nodens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    4,388

    1866 is still overclocked memory. Test with 1600 or less.
    Also make sure to disable Anti-Surge protection and try with CPU Current Capability @ 130%, LLC Med, VTT/VCCSA @ 1.25 and Vcore offset +0,05
    RAMPAGE Windows 8/7 UEFI Installation Guide - Patched OROM for TRIM in RAID - Patched UEFI GOP Updater Tool - ASUS OEM License Restorer
    There are 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't!

    RealBench Developer.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array HalloweenWeed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    87
    Posts
    1,466

    Sandro, please FILL OUT the following list, please indicate "auto" if it is set to "auto":

    Extreme Tweaker menu:
    Ai Overclock tuner:
    CPU Level up:
    Turbo ratio: By all cores
    By all cores (can adjust in OS): 46
    Bclk freq: 100 (default stock speed)
    CPU Strap: 100 (default stock speed)
    CPU Clock gen filter:
    Memory freq:
    Extreme tweaking: Disabled (default)
    EPU power saving mode: Disabled (default)

    Extreme 0V: Disabled (default)
    Bclk skew:
    CPU Vcore V: Offset mode
    Offset mode sign: +
    CPU Vcore offset V:
    (CPU Vcore V: N/A)
    VTT CPU V:
    2nd VTTCPU V: Auto (default)
    CPU VCCSA manual V:
    DRAM V (chA, chB):
    DRAM V (chC, chD):
    CPU PLL V: <-- Please tell me also what your BIOS says it is setting for this if it is set to "auto"
    VTTDDR voltage (chA, chB): Auto
    VTTDDR voltage (chC, chD): Auto
    CPU spread spectrum: Disabled
    PCIe spread sprectrum: Auto (default)
    (xxxx Tweaker's paradise settings all default)

    CPU Performance settings submenu:
    CPU ratio:
    Enhanced Intel Speedstep tech:
    Turbo mode: Enabled (default)
    Turbo mode parameters submenu; Power limit control: Auto (default)

    DRAM timing control submenu:
    Rampage Tweak:

    CAS (tCL):
    RAS to CAS Delay (tRCD):
    RAS Pre time (tRP):
    RAS ACT time (tRAS):
    DRAM command mode ("command rate"):
    The rest set at "auto"? (default)


    Digi+ power control submenu:
    CPU load-line calibration:
    CPU current capability:
    CPU voltage freq: Auto (default)
    VRM over temperature protection: Auto (default)
    CPU power duty control: T.Probe (default)
    Vcore MOS volt. control: 7V (default)
    CPU power phase control: Extreme (non-selectable)
    CPU Spread Spectrum: Disabled (default)
    CPU Vcore boot up Voltage: Auto (default)
    VCCSA load-line calibration:
    VCCSA current capability:
    VCCSA fixed freq: 300 (default)
    CPU VCCSA boot up voltage: Auto (default)
    CPU VTT switching freq: Auto (default)
    CPU VTT over-current protection: Auto (default)
    DRAM-AB current capability:
    DRAM-AB voltage frequency: Auto (default)
    DRAM-AB power phase control:
    DRAM-CD current capability:
    DRAM-CD voltage frequency: Auto (default)
    DRAM-CD power phase control:


    Advanced menu.
    CPU power management submenu:
    CPU ratio:
    Enhanced Intel Speedstep tech: Enabled (default)
    Turbo mode: Enabled (default)
    CPU C1E:
    CPU C3 report:
    CPU C6 report:
    CPU C7 report:
    Package C state support:



    Monitor menu:
    Anti surge support:


    I know it's a pain, but I really can't help you much without all the info. When you get up to 4.6 a lot of settings has to be just perfect.
    Last edited by HalloweenWeed; 03-05-2013 at 08:43 PM.
    i7-3930K; Asus RIVE; G.SKILL Ripjaws Z 4x4GB DDR3 1866; MSI 7870 2GD5/OC; Crucial M4 SSD 256GB;
    Corsair 1000HX; Corsair H100, 4x Excalibur 120mm PWM CPU Fan p-p, AS5; SB X-Fi Titanium Fata1ity Pro;
    Dell U2412m IPS 1920x1200; Cooler Master HAF 932 case; Tripp-Lite OMNIVS1500 UPS fully Line-interactive.
    (EVGA site: ) And I have a second (wife's) computer, Eve.

    Overclocking is useless to me if it is not rock stable.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array sandro c PC Specs
    sandro c PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Ispiron i5
    MotherboardRIVE
    Processori7 3930K @4600 Mhz
    Memory (part number)Corsair D. CMT16GX3M4X2133C9 @2200
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX580 TI oc
    Graphics Card #2none
    Graphics Card #3none
    Graphics Card #4none
    Sound CardRealtk on board 7.channel
    MonitorSamsung LV32F390F
    Storage #1Raid0 2x samsung 850 pro
    Storage #2Raid0 2x samsung 850 pro
    CPU CoolerNoctua NHD14- Dynatron R13 under cpu soket
    CaseThermaltake Armor 6000B
    Power SupplyEnermax 625W modu82+
    Keyboard Logitech G105
    Mouse Logitech G300S
    Headset HP USB2
    Mouse Pad a white printer foil
    Headset/Speakers RCF Home theatre 5 channels
    OS Win10 pro-Win10 Insider-Win7 pro
    Network RouterTechnicolor ADSL 46 Mbit
    Accessory #1 Webcam Logitech 9000
    Accessory #2 Epson ptoto Stilus PX800FW
    Accessory #3 USB DTT receiver
    sandro c's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    73
    Posts
    390

    Nodens Hi, thanks for the new suggestions.
    New setup:
    memclock @ 1600
    FSB @ 100.0
    multip. @ 46x
    cpu clock @ 4600
    Vcore offset +0.05 already in bios
    LLc MEDIUM already in bios
    CPU curr. Chap. 130% already in bios
    vccsa-vtt now set @ 1.25 volts
    reboot and ... PC still freezes during the load of the logo Win7!?
    After the reboot get the message "Overclocking failed"
    Only set multip. 45X, reboot ...to write this answer,
    the only variation is the set multip. to 45X.
    thanks
    sandro c.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array sandro c PC Specs
    sandro c PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Ispiron i5
    MotherboardRIVE
    Processori7 3930K @4600 Mhz
    Memory (part number)Corsair D. CMT16GX3M4X2133C9 @2200
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX580 TI oc
    Graphics Card #2none
    Graphics Card #3none
    Graphics Card #4none
    Sound CardRealtk on board 7.channel
    MonitorSamsung LV32F390F
    Storage #1Raid0 2x samsung 850 pro
    Storage #2Raid0 2x samsung 850 pro
    CPU CoolerNoctua NHD14- Dynatron R13 under cpu soket
    CaseThermaltake Armor 6000B
    Power SupplyEnermax 625W modu82+
    Keyboard Logitech G105
    Mouse Logitech G300S
    Headset HP USB2
    Mouse Pad a white printer foil
    Headset/Speakers RCF Home theatre 5 channels
    OS Win10 pro-Win10 Insider-Win7 pro
    Network RouterTechnicolor ADSL 46 Mbit
    Accessory #1 Webcam Logitech 9000
    Accessory #2 Epson ptoto Stilus PX800FW
    Accessory #3 USB DTT receiver
    sandro c's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    73
    Posts
    390

    Hi HalloweenWeed, a thanks also for you:
    now I am giving you the setup, not according to the latest tips from our friend Nodens,
    but those who gave everything OK, of course... before setting the multip. to 46x,

    CPU clock ........@4603 mhz
    Extreme Tweaker menu:
    Ai Overclock tuner: manual
    CPU Level up:
    Turbo ratio: By all cores
    By all cores (can adjust in OS): 45x
    Bclk freq: 100 (default stock speed) 102,3
    CPU Strap: 100 (default stock speed) auto
    CPU Clock gen filter: auto
    Memory freq: 2192 mhz
    Extreme tweaking: Disabled (default)
    EPU power saving mode: Disabled (default)

    Extreme 0V: Disabled (default)
    Bclk skew: auto
    CPU Vcore V: Offset mode
    Offset mode sign: +
    CPU Vcore offset V: 0,05
    (CPU Vcore V: N/A)
    VTT CPU V: 1,125
    2nd VTTCPU V: Auto (default)
    CPU VCCSA manual V: 1,125
    DRAM V (chA, chB): 1,525
    DRAM V (chC, chD): 1,525
    CPU PLL V: <-- Please tell me also what your BIOS says it is setting for this if it is set to "auto" 1,825
    VTTDDR voltage (chA, chB): Auto
    VTTDDR voltage (chC, chD): Auto
    CPU spread spectrum: Disabled
    PCIe spread sprectrum: Auto (default)
    (xxxx Tweaker's paradise settings all default)

    CPU Performance settings submenu:
    CPU ratio: auto
    Enhanced Intel Speedstep tech: enable
    Turbo mode: Enabled (default) enable
    Turbo mode parameters submenu; Power limit control: Auto (default)

    DRAM timing control submenu:
    Rampage Tweak: mode 2

    CAS (tCL): 9
    RAS to CAS Delay (tRCD): 11
    RAS Pre time (tRP): 10
    RAS ACT time (tRAS): 24
    DRAM command mode ("command rate"): 1N
    The rest set at "auto"? (default)


    Digi+ power control submenu:
    CPU load-line calibration: medium
    CPU current capability: 130%
    CPU voltage freq: Auto (default) auto
    VRM over temperature protection: Auto (default) auto
    CPU power duty control: T.Probe (default) t probe
    Vcore MOS volt. control: 7V (default) auto
    CPU power phase control: Extreme (non-selectable) extreme
    CPU Spread Spectrum: Disabled (default) disable
    CPU Vcore boot up Voltage: Auto (default) auto
    VCCSA load-line calibration: optimized
    VCCSA current capability: 120%
    VCCSA fixed freq: 300 (default) 300
    CPU VCCSA boot up voltage: Auto (default) auto
    CPU VTT switching freq: Auto (default) auto
    CPU VTT over-current protection: Auto (default) auto
    DRAM-AB current capability: 120%
    DRAM-AB voltage frequency: Auto (default) auto
    DRAM-AB power phase control: auto
    DRAM-CD current capability: 120%
    DRAM-CD voltage frequency: Auto (default) auto
    DRAM-CD power phase control: optimized


    Advanced menu.
    CPU power management submenu:
    CPU ratio: 45x
    Enhanced Intel Speedstep tech: Enabled (default) enable
    Turbo mode: Enabled (default) enable
    CPU C1E: enable
    CPU C3 report: disable
    CPU C6 report: disable
    CPU C7 report: disable
    Package C state support: ??? not found

    With this settings the PC pass 20 steps of LINX with 160,5 Gflops sec.
    and 20 steps of IBT with 168 Gflops,
    sandra CPU mark with score 198-235 and Mem-BW with 55 GB .
    Of course all boots are OK and load win7 in about 9 sec.
    No one boot with multipl. 46X are passed all stops during win7 logo loading.
    It is all
    ciao
    sandro c.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    230

    Try Vcore Manual Mode fixed voltage.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array HalloweenWeed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    87
    Posts
    1,466

    Sandro your RAS ACT time (tRAS) should be 27. Also set CPU PLL to 1.9V.
    If you still have problems set DRAM command mode ("command rate") to 2.
    i7-3930K; Asus RIVE; G.SKILL Ripjaws Z 4x4GB DDR3 1866; MSI 7870 2GD5/OC; Crucial M4 SSD 256GB;
    Corsair 1000HX; Corsair H100, 4x Excalibur 120mm PWM CPU Fan p-p, AS5; SB X-Fi Titanium Fata1ity Pro;
    Dell U2412m IPS 1920x1200; Cooler Master HAF 932 case; Tripp-Lite OMNIVS1500 UPS fully Line-interactive.
    (EVGA site: ) And I have a second (wife's) computer, Eve.

    Overclocking is useless to me if it is not rock stable.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array sandro c PC Specs
    sandro c PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Ispiron i5
    MotherboardRIVE
    Processori7 3930K @4600 Mhz
    Memory (part number)Corsair D. CMT16GX3M4X2133C9 @2200
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX580 TI oc
    Graphics Card #2none
    Graphics Card #3none
    Graphics Card #4none
    Sound CardRealtk on board 7.channel
    MonitorSamsung LV32F390F
    Storage #1Raid0 2x samsung 850 pro
    Storage #2Raid0 2x samsung 850 pro
    CPU CoolerNoctua NHD14- Dynatron R13 under cpu soket
    CaseThermaltake Armor 6000B
    Power SupplyEnermax 625W modu82+
    Keyboard Logitech G105
    Mouse Logitech G300S
    Headset HP USB2
    Mouse Pad a white printer foil
    Headset/Speakers RCF Home theatre 5 channels
    OS Win10 pro-Win10 Insider-Win7 pro
    Network RouterTechnicolor ADSL 46 Mbit
    Accessory #1 Webcam Logitech 9000
    Accessory #2 Epson ptoto Stilus PX800FW
    Accessory #3 USB DTT receiver
    sandro c's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    73
    Posts
    390

    Hi CX-ray,
    could be a solution that will not fail to try ...... but I will use as the value of fixed-voltage ... and what will happen to my poor air cooling, ... will be enough?
    Thanks for the suggestion though.
    sandro c.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array HalloweenWeed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    87
    Posts
    1,466

    Sandro, there is no reason to use fixed voltage, for OC under 5GHz, except to make it easier to get the balance right for both max burn, and idle conditions. It would mean your power $$ (money, euros) will be higher from your CPU idle time. Setting fixed voltage is just the "easy way out," in my opinion for lazy OCers if you are under 4.9GHz.
    i7-3930K; Asus RIVE; G.SKILL Ripjaws Z 4x4GB DDR3 1866; MSI 7870 2GD5/OC; Crucial M4 SSD 256GB;
    Corsair 1000HX; Corsair H100, 4x Excalibur 120mm PWM CPU Fan p-p, AS5; SB X-Fi Titanium Fata1ity Pro;
    Dell U2412m IPS 1920x1200; Cooler Master HAF 932 case; Tripp-Lite OMNIVS1500 UPS fully Line-interactive.
    (EVGA site: ) And I have a second (wife's) computer, Eve.

    Overclocking is useless to me if it is not rock stable.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    230

    The extra heat at load isn't any different from off-set Vcore. During idle with speedstep enabled it's quite manageable with your large cooler.

Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •