Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array Malakie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    Need Emergency help.....

    I am an expert user but even we can have one of those days........... and when it comes to Windows 8... well let's not go there.

    Something corrupted on my G75vw system. Have no idea what at this point. Basically I am now down and unable to restore the system because of the GPT partition. I should mention I have NO intention of reinstalling Windows 8. I want to install clean, Windows 7 however my install DVD will not work because it reports the partition is GPT.

    The thing is I have DELETED and FORMATTED the full drive partition... And it still reports it as GPT and will NOT install 64 Bit Windwindows 7.

    Right now I can get into BIOS. And using F9 I can see the options, which of course none work in this case.

    I cannot see any way to change the system to allow me to install Windows 7 64 bit and since the drive and Windows 8 went phooey, that is not there as well.

    I will say this.. I cannot stand Windows 8. It is fast on boot up, that I give you. But I am tired of software issues especially with my programming code. So much bull****, like registry lockout issues and so much more are totally frustrating... not to mention this interface that gets in the way all the time on standard computers and laptops.

    Anyhow I would appreciate any help I can get on this as soon as possible.. I am completely down until I can get Windows 7 installed again..

    Thanks
    Take it light....

    Malakie


  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    If you don't want to install in a GPT drive you need to convert to a MBR drive.
    Search in google how to convert a GPT drive to MBR (i don't remember clearly), it's easy (and you lost everything in process, by careful).

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    51

    I think when I made clean install with windows 7 with service pack 1 I had no problem installing with GPT. I'm not sure however if this BIOS supports any option to use MBR. If nobody answers you I will get into my BIOS to check what was the possible options when I get home.

  4. #4
    ASUS Reseller Array Shawnnepc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    128
    Posts
    886

    Since that laptop supports EFI, you should be able to install Win7 to the GPT format

    Try the following:

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/297800


    If you want to get rid of the GPT format, the only way I found that works is by reformatting the drive completely using a pre-boot tool (Like UBCD,Trinity, etc) and then installing windows on the new 'raw' drive.

    Can also check this thread out for more info:

    http://windows7forums.com/windows-7-...-os-gpt-3.html
    USA ASUS Reseller
    http://www.neteffectspc.com

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    When you get to the part of the installation where you can create or delete partitions press shift+F10 to open a command prompt. Then convert the GPT disk to MBR using diskpart.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array rewben PC Specs
    rewben PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G55VW-3D
    MotherboardASROCK Z97 EXTREME 6
    ProcessorINTEL 4790K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL RIPJAWZ 2400MHZ (F3-19200CL10Q-32GBZHD)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorDELL U2713HM
    Storage #1SAMSUNG SM843 480GB X2
    Storage #2WD GREEN 3TB X2
    CPU CoolerSWIFTECH H240-X
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power SupplyTHERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER XT PLATINUM 1275W
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 RGB
    Mouse STEELSERIES KINZU V3
    Headset STEELSERIES 9H
    Mouse Pad STEELSERIES QCK+
    Headset/Speakers LOGITECH Z506
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO AU
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    178
    Posts
    2,229

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    When you get to the part of the installation where you can create or delete partitions press shift+F10 to open a command prompt. Then convert the GPT disk to MBR using diskpart.
    this is the easiest way to do the conversion imo.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Clintlgm PC Specs
    Clintlgm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY DH72
    MotherboardAsus Z97 Pro WiFi and /Z97 Pro A
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Storage #1512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #21 TB Samsun 850 Pro
    CaseCool Master Haf
    OS Win 8.1 Pro and Win 10 Pro
    Clintlgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    105
    Posts
    4,123

    I think you need Win 7 SP1 to install to a GPT Disk. My G75VW is WIN 7 GPT
    You can download the ISO from Microsoft just Google it. I think their are less issues if you use a USB thumb drive to install UEIF format it FAT 32

    This link has clean installing pretty well covered
    Last edited by Clintlgm; 03-09-2013 at 01:55 AM.
    G752VY-DH72 Win 10 Pro
    512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    1 TB Samsung 850 pro 2.5 format
    980m GTX 4 GB
    32GB DDR 4 Standard RAM

    Z97 PRO WiFi I7 4790K
    Windows 10 Pro
    Z97 -A
    Windows 10 Pro

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    59
    Posts
    597

    Quote Originally Posted by Clintlgm View Post
    I think you need Win 7 SP1 to install to a GPT Disk. My G75VW is WIN 7 GPT
    Yeah you need SP1 for it.

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array Malakie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    Thanks everyone.. What a pain in the ass. I did end up formatting all partitions and starting clean.

    What I cannot figure out is why it will not let me format or use the GPT partitions to install Win7. Each time I tried it told me I could not do so.. Some of you mentioned SP1... does this mean I have to have Win7 with SP1 already installed to use GPT?

    Now I am also trying to figure out where to download all the tools that were installed out of the box... I think I got most drivers here but where do we find all the extras that the laptop came with?

    My box is in storage and I am about 1000 miles away from that now..
    Last edited by Malakie; 03-09-2013 at 05:41 AM.
    Take it light....

    Malakie


  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    59
    Posts
    597

    Quote Originally Posted by Malakie View Post
    Thanks everyone.. What a pain in the ass. I did end up formatting all partitions and starting clean.

    What I cannot figure out is why it will not let me format or use the GPT partitions to install Win7. Each time I tried it told me I could not do so.. Some of you mentioned SP1... does this mean I have to have Win7 with SP1 already installed to use GPT?

    Now I am also trying to figure out where to download all the tools that were installed out of the box... I think I got most drivers here but where do we find all the extras that the laptop came with?

    My box is in storage and I am about 1000 miles away from that now..
    Yeah just dl the windows 7 with spi iso from MS.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •