Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    33

    Asus G75VW with 256g SSD takes 1 minute to boot

    I have a Samsung 840 PRO 256G SSD installed.
    But my boot times still take forever, before I got the SSD my PC booted in 1 minute and 30 seconds.
    I don't think this is normal. Also, even with diagnostic startup the computer still takes 48 seconds to boot. I think something is wrong.
    Does anybody have some insight on this? Some BIOS tweaks maybe?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    129

    Quote Originally Posted by ROGaddict View Post
    I have a Samsung 840 PRO 256G SSD installed.
    But my boot times still take forever, before I got the SSD my PC booted in 1 minute and 30 seconds.
    I don't think this is normal. Also, even with diagnostic startup the computer still takes 48 seconds to boot. I think something is wrong.
    Does anybody have some insight on this? Some BIOS tweaks maybe?
    I also have a Asus G75VW with 2 Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD and it takes 30 seconds to boot.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.PNG 
Views:	0 
Size:	30.8 KB 
ID:	18132
    Have you installed Samsung Magician Software ver.4.0? I've setup the OS Optimization for Maximum Reliability. Below is the link for the software.

    http://www.samsung.com/us/support/ow...ct/MZ-7PD256BW

    http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials...tart-time.html
    G752VY-DH72

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Vicodin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    320

    How did you set up your SSD? Did you clone the factory HDD from Asus? Or did you do a fresh install?

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    33

    What is Samsung Magician Software ver.4.0? I cannot find it in the link
    EDIT: NVM I found it and am installing now
    Last edited by ROGaddict; 03-10-2013 at 01:05 AM.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    33

    Quote Originally Posted by Vicodin View Post
    How did you set up your SSD? Did you clone the factory HDD from Asus? Or did you do a fresh install?
    I did clone it, with the CD that came with my SSD.
    EDIT: Was it a bad Idea to clone it? If it was is there a way I can reverse it?
    Last edited by ROGaddict; 03-10-2013 at 01:10 AM.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array rewben PC Specs
    rewben PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G55VW-3D
    MotherboardASROCK Z97 EXTREME 6
    ProcessorINTEL 4790K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL RIPJAWZ 2400MHZ (F3-19200CL10Q-32GBZHD)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorDELL U2713HM
    Storage #1SAMSUNG SM843 480GB X2
    Storage #2WD GREEN 3TB X2
    CPU CoolerSWIFTECH H240-X
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power SupplyTHERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER XT PLATINUM 1275W
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 RGB
    Mouse STEELSERIES KINZU V3
    Headset STEELSERIES 9H
    Mouse Pad STEELSERIES QCK+
    Headset/Speakers LOGITECH Z506
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO AU
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    178
    Posts
    2,229

    hi @ROGaddict, check out your event log entries under 'Application and services logs' > Microsoft > Windows > Diagnostic - Performance > Operational. i saw a post by @dstrakele regarding trouble shooting boot time via event log somewhere in the forum. it is very useful to determine what is slowing down your system during boot and shutdown.

    for a samsung 840 pro, i get boot time of under 20 secs (without fast startup).

    edit: here's the post by @JRd1st about the similar event log trouble shooting.
    Last edited by rewben; 03-10-2013 at 02:10 AM.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array dparish2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    46

    Quote Originally Posted by ROGaddict View Post
    I did clone it, with the CD that came with my SSD.
    EDIT: Was it a bad Idea to clone it? If it was is there a way I can reverse it?
    I would honestly do a fresh install on it, cloning has had mixed reviews. You can just run the install again, during the beginning process it will ask you to select a partition to install to, just format it there and install.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    2,441

    are you use pure OS or full OS, i think app is the one element

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    59
    Posts
    597

    How do you SSD benchmarks look because off a clone on my SSD's im booting in 14 sec.

    If some benchs show slow speeds then you might have a defective SSD.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •