Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Question 2 TB HDD for G75VX

    Hello,

    I have 2 questions for you pals;

    1- I have ASUS G75VX with 256 + 750 GB combination.I want to increase the storage capacity and so i want to change 750 GB HDD with 2 TB HDD.I am searching the web for several days but could not find a 2 TB HDD for my laptop.Because the HDD slot is very small of this G75VX and the products those i checked, are not fit for that slot.So could you suggest me any product which compatible with my laptop and the capacity is 1,5 or 2 TB ?

    2- And also i am planning to increase RAM.I already have 16 GB and i want it as 32 GB.There are 2 empty slots.I will put 2x8GB to these slot and complete the upgrade.My doubt is which product i must choose.I opened the back cover of laptop and checked the motherboarded 16 GB RAM and then search the internet tofind my next 16.And i fond this product:

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/16GB-2x8GB-A...item53f61c697a

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/16GB-2x8GB-M...item4165e35e11

    This product is also ASUS brand and same with my motherboarded RAM.I think it is ok for this product, but i want to get your opinions anyway to make it clear.

    Looking forward to your replies..

    Thanks&Regards

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    2,441

    i think it is able to upgrade HDD and RAM, but i suggest you visit spec table as http://www.asus.com/ROG/G75VX/#specifications

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Apexing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    306

    I dont think there are HDD of the 2.5 size (which is the size laptop uses) bigger than 1TB.
    About your RAM question, search this forum, PLENTY of people have made topics about that.
    People who are running 32GB seem to be using these http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820226323
    Last edited by Apexing; 03-13-2013 at 09:28 AM.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,761

    Here is a 1 TB hybrid drive to consider:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822178340

    I have not seen 2 TB drives, but there are 1 TB drives you can use. Get the hybrid drive and then another 1 TB drive and you should be set! IT won't be as fast a 2 TB + SSD, but the hybrid will accelerate the boot times dramatically.
    I am disturbed because I cannot break my system...found out there were others trying to cope! We have a support group on here, if your system will not break, please join!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=16
    We now have 178 people whose systems will not break! Yippee!
    LINUX Users, we have a group!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=23

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array rewben PC Specs
    rewben PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G55VW-3D
    MotherboardASROCK Z97 EXTREME 6
    ProcessorINTEL 4790K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL RIPJAWZ 2400MHZ (F3-19200CL10Q-32GBZHD)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2ASUS STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorDELL U2713HM
    Storage #1SAMSUNG SM843 480GB X2
    Storage #2WD GREEN 3TB X2
    CPU CoolerSWIFTECH H240-X
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power SupplyTHERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER XT PLATINUM 1275W
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 RGB
    Mouse STEELSERIES KINZU V3
    Headset STEELSERIES 9H
    Mouse Pad STEELSERIES QCK+
    Headset/Speakers LOGITECH Z506
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO AU
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    178
    Posts
    2,229

    hi @Kaptan,

    1. you're correct; the currently available 2.5" 2tb drive is too thick to fit into the slot. for additional storage space, you should consider NAS or external hdd.

    2. if you're not doing a full swap, and intends only to upgrade the ram capacity to 32gb without touching the stock ram, it will be best to determine the specs of the stock ram, then find out the matching ones.

    if these two are the matching ones, then go ahead.

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/16GB-2x8GB-A...item53f61c697a
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/16GB-2x8GB-M...item4165e35e11

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    @ Mike_Lu@ASUS --> i already checked specs but there is nothing that i want to see
    @ Apexing --> i am sure that product work fine on my laptop but, i found same product with my laptop's already exist ram it is hynix, blue board.also it is asus brand.i think i will go with it.could you check this link please, i think you will approve this one too:
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/16GB-2x8GB-A...item53f61c697a
    @ Zygomorphic --> thanks for the link..i finally find out which compatibility my laptop has i think maximum 1 tb as a this sized SSD :/
    @ rewben --> hi that wd's lenght and width ok but the height is the problem :/ i checked your links and i want you to check mylink please; like i said on Apexing line, it is all same with my already loaded 16 gb ram, so what you think about this one? :
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/16GB-2x8GB-A...item53f61c697a
    STEADY AS SHE GOES

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Apexing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    306

    The ram you show is voltage at 1,5
    I dont know if they will work. the others are rated at 1.35v.
    but the other spec matches. so you can try, wont guantee that they work tho.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    but it says it is compatible with g75 series and more..
    so if it is problem 1.35 or 1.5 volt, how can i check my laptop work fine with 1.35 or 1.5 ?
    STEADY AS SHE GOES

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •