Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 28
  1. #11
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    19

    I can't help it but all the info points to a faulty driver issue. Previous driver remnants maybe? Conflicting registry entries or libraries?
    I know it's tedious, but after all you already put so much effort into solving this, maybe reinstall OS just to make sure. Win 7 would be my choice.... no matter what the media says, I (still) don't trust Win 8.

    Will continue to watch this thread, I am very curious.

    Best of luck (and insight)

    Doc

  2. #12
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Quote Originally Posted by Doc Scorpion View Post
    I can't help it but all the info points to a faulty driver issue. Previous driver remnants maybe? Conflicting registry entries or libraries?
    I know it's tedious, but after all you already put so much effort into solving this, maybe reinstall OS just to make sure. Win 7 would be my choice.... no matter what the media says, I (still) don't trust Win 8.

    Will continue to watch this thread, I am very curious.

    Best of luck (and insight)

    Doc
    Thank you for the advice, I have reinstalled Win-8, installed only one driver clean. And it;s still the same problem. I still think it's something relating to the RAM or the MOtherboard. But i am gonna try install a win-7 on it today and see how it goes.

  3. #13
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,359

    Hm... in which slots do you have the HD7970s installed? And which CF bridge are you using?

  4. #14
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Quote Originally Posted by Zka17 View Post
    Hm... in which slots do you have the HD7970s installed? And which CF bridge are you using?
    I installed at the first slot X16. the one closest to the CPU. And im not crossfiring it. It's a dual GPU card

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,359

    Sorry, I missed the Ares II part...

    So, when you're using a dual GPU card, you don't need to enable CF? Just my curiosity... as never had dual GPU cards...

  6. #16
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Quote Originally Posted by Zka17 View Post
    Sorry, I missed the Ares II part...

    So, when you're using a dual GPU card, you don't need to enable CF? Just my curiosity... as never had dual GPU cards...
    Hi, That part I have no clue, It offers the options to enable it and i see no effect when i enable it or disable it.

  7. #17
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    The latest update, A clean win-7 install with clean driver install has no effect. the same problem exists.....I've been watching the hang over 3 trailer for almost 50 times just to test it.... LOL

  8. #18
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    318
    Posts
    7,819

    Here's another thought: Some of the laptop guys have used a tool called DPC latency checker to see if there are delays in the Windows subsystem (either due to hardware OR software, doesn't matter). You might try that and see what it turns up. It won't necessarily finger a specific cause but if there are things you can enable/disable then you can do a pre/post and see if there is an improvement.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  9. #19
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    The latest update, I think I found the problem, tried the win 7 install, install only latest driver and only latest and profile. But still same issue.
    Until I pop in a amd Hd 2000 series card. It seems now working fine with no flickering, I mean the graphic card only has 256 MB. It may not even able to render more than 40fps. Therefore the flickering could not even able to happen.
    But by now that's the latest update. I'm gonna try the ares2 on a intel board later. Although I really don't wanna face the fact that the card might be broken.
    Lets hope not, I don't even know how the return policy gonna be since there are only 1000 units and I'm pretty sure they r sold out now

  10. #20
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array oldbrave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    240

    yu0307> besides the 24 pin power plug, are you using both the 8 pin cpu power plug AND the 4 pin cpu power plug ?
    Somehow I've got a feeling that this is power related and that maybe your PSU isn't providing the power necessary, I doubt it's the ARES II cause you stated that it was happening with the 2 7970 X-fired !
    Try another PSU !
    edit: ASUS recommends a MINIMUM of 850W PSU for the ARES II
    http://event.asus.com/vga/2013/edm.htm
    Last edited by oldbrave; 03-13-2013 at 05:08 AM.
    Electronic Smoke Signals From my TechnoTeepee
    ASUS Crosshair V Formula AM3+ 990FX, 1703 bios
    AMD FX 8350 Vishera @ 5162Mhz [21x245] 1.546v
    Water Cooled - Koolance EX2-1055, CPU 370 WB, Idle=22c Load=52c
    32Gb G.Skill Sniper ddr3 1600 8G X 4 , 9-9-9-24 @ 1.55v
    ASUS HD7970-DC2T-3GD5, Cat 13.5 beta 2, Dell U3011 @ 2560x1600
    SanDisk Extreme 120Gb SSD SATA 6Gb, 250Gb SATA 6Gb, 1Tb SATA 6Gb x2
    Win 7 Ultimate 64bit, Corsair Obsidian 800D, Corsair HX1000w PSU

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •