Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Dripdry
    Guest

    Question G53JW-XN1: Conflicting info on *actual* maximum RAM?

    My question: Does anyone have an *XN1* with 16gb? , and if so can you provide a few details?

    I've searched around the net about my g53jw-XN1. Newegg's specs and micron's scanning tool both say the max memory here is 8GB. However, I've found at least one post around the net saying it can be 16GB and others implying it could be done. Also, the chipset used (Intel HM 55) is the same for both the g53jw-A1 and for the XN1. My understanding is that the memory controller is on the chipset, and should be the same for both xn1 and a1, allowing 16 for both, but on newegg (for instance) the specs for xn1 say 8GB max, a1 is 16GB max. In short, wtf?

    I know it's a gaming laptop, but I'm using it for some pretty memory-intensive business work too and can really use extra ram above the 6GB this thing came with (love me that win 7 prefetch).

    Thanks for any and all help!

  2. #2
    TeamROG Notebook Member Array Chastity@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    1,334

    It depends on which CPU you have.
    i5 = 8GB
    i7 = 16GB (actually 32GB iirc with 8GB sticks and using Pro or Ultimate)

    Home Premium is limited to 16GB
    Kicking Ass Since Today

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by Chastity View Post
    It depends on which CPU you have.
    i5 = 8GB
    i7 = 16GB (actually 32GB iirc with 8GB sticks and using Pro or Ultimate)

    Home Premium is limited to 16GB

    I have a g53jw-3de with i7 and win ultimate on a ssd. Are you saying if I can get my hands on 4X8gb sticks they will work?
    This is litrally the only mention of this I have ever seen. Every other site seems to say 16gb max.

    Where exactly did you hear this?

    Thanks in advance
    Andy

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Will any linux os's take over 16Gb... I shouldn't be lazy and ask but I' going to anyway :P

  5. #5
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    301
    Posts
    7,474

    Quote Originally Posted by boomclart View Post
    Will any linux os's take over 16Gb... I shouldn't be lazy and ask but I' going to anyway :P
    yup. Windows has artificial limits. 64 bit Linux supports more memory than you can physically install.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  6. #6
    Helium Chilled Array _ PC Specs
    _ PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G46VW
    MotherboardRampage IV Gene
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-3930K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB (CMD32GX3M4A2133C9)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Matrix GTX 780 Ti
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX III
    MonitorASUS VG248QE with GSync mod
    Storage #1Plextor PX-M2 SSD 120GB
    Storage #2G.Skill Phoenix Blade 480GB PCIe SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 240M
    CaseCooler Master HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-750
    Keyboard Corsair K90
    Mouse ROG Gladius
    Headset ROG Orion
    OS Windows 8.1 Update 1
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U
    _'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    119
    Posts
    5,750

    Intel only officially supports 16GB - and by extension so do we (it's their CPU rather than something we produce)- but you can run 32GB. This means it will work, but compatibility is not assured. People running 32GB on Sx models are not an exact indication of Jw's due to the slight differences in memory controller between the CPU generations, however it can be used as a guide: 1333CL9 quality memory brands. I strongly advise working with an online or local store that allows you to exchange, just in case.

    With regards to a CPU upgrade - in theory you can do, but you'd have to match the TDP. You can't just drop in a faster chip that draws more power because the thermal solution and battery are very specifically designed. I must also remind you that it would invalidate the warranty as you'd open up more than the normal upgrade slots in the base.
    Last edited by _; 02-08-2012 at 03:14 AM.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    awesome answer

    Thank you. Awesome answer, just what i was looking for.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    maximum ram

    hello ppl.
    I'd like to know how much RAM I can put in my computer?

    Here are my specs

    ASUS G53JW
    - Windows ® 7 Professional 64bit
    - 15.6 "(Full HD, Glare type)
    - Intel Core i5 460m 2.53GHz
    - NVidia GeForce GTX 460m 1.5 GB DDR5 VRAM
    - RAM 4096MB (2048x2) DDR3 1066
    - Hybrid SSD 500G 7200 RPM (embedded 4G SSD)
    - WLAN 802.11bgn (150mbit)
    - Bluetooth
    ASUS G53JW
    - Windows® 7 Professional 64bit
    - 15,6" (Full HD, Glare type)
    - Intel Core i5 460M 2.53GHz
    - nVidia GeForce GTX 460M DDR5 1,5GB VRAM
    - RAM 4096MB(2048x2) DDR3 1066
    - Hybrid SSD 500G 7200 RPM (embedded 4G SSD)
    - WLAN 802.11bgn (150mbit)
    - Bluetooth

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array fuzon1337's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    878

    As I can read out from this Intel site your CPU support 8GB RAM with DDR3-800/1066.

    But I could be wrong, and then someone from the forum would have to step in
    Asus G73SW-91058V 3D
    - Intel Centrino Ultimate-N 6300
    - BIOS 205

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array fostert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    706

    Alot of ark.intel's stuff shows only what is supported (guaranteed to work), but not what actually works. Case in point: my core i7 2630QM chip was reported to support max 8GB RAM on ark.intel until a few weeks after I got my G74 (October 2011)...then in November 2011 that site changed to report the chip supports 16GB. But I stuffed 32GB into my G74 anyways, and it worked. The 2nd Gen Sandybridge i7 chips have IMCs that actually can do 32GB (http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...ghlight=2630QM) even though ark.intel reports them as actually only capable of 16GB max...

    What I'm saying is that while 8GB *may* be the maximum reported by ark.intel, most of the previous gen i5s and i7s have IMCs that can address up to 16GB no problem (e.g. my desktop i7 860 can). So it wouldn't surprise me if the i5-460M could deal with 2x8GB=16GB of RAM. I haven't looked for 8GB sticks with 800/1066MHz speeds but if you find them and the retailer will allow a refund if they don't work, it might be worth a gamble...

    ...if you really need 16GB that is. What is your typical usage?
    --
    G74SX-CST1-CBIL, i7 2630QM 2GHz
    32GB DDR3 RAM @1333MHz
    GTX560M 3GB DDR5 (192 bit)
    17.3" LED 1920x1080
    Sentelic TP, BIOS 203
    Debian Linux Wheezy (Testing) Kernel 3.2, NVIDIA 295.40

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. G53JW
    By 2shae in forum G Series Gaming Notebooks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-17-2011, 04:53 PM
  2. g73sw recall info question
    By hubbub52 in forum G Series Gaming Notebooks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-08-2011, 05:31 AM
  3. G53JW Help please
    By ZiPPeR in forum G Series Gaming Notebooks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-28-2011, 09:45 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •