Page 2 of 18 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 12 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 180
  1. #11
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    lawl, that was me typing and not thinking about it. I have Dominator Platinum. I have no idea why it wont let me run at 1866.
    Everytime i try it boots up and tells me "overclock failed" and i have to go back into bios and drop it back down to 1600. It runs just fine at 1600 but just trying to figure out why it wont let me run at what its rated for.

  2. #12
    imMortal Kombatant Array Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage IV Formula
    ProcessorIntel i7 3930K
    Memory (part number)8GB Corsair XMS3 1600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Radeon 7970 3GD5
    Sound CardROG Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster SA300
    Storage #1Corsair Neutron 128GB
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair A50 Pro Air Cooler
    CaseBitFenix Merc Alpha
    Power SupplyThermaltake Litepower 700W
    Keyboard Alienware TactX Keyboard
    Mouse Tesoro Gandiva H1L
    OS Win7 Ultimate x64
    Myk SilentShadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    5,241

    Quote Originally Posted by Hargarbl View Post
    lawl, that was me typing and not thinking about it. I have Dominator Platinum. I have no idea why it wont let me run at 1866.
    Everytime i try it boots up and tells me "overclock failed" and i have to go back into bios and drop it back down to 1600. It runs just fine at 1600 but just trying to figure out why it wont let me run at what its rated for.
    You need to not only select the 1866 Frequency, but also enter the timings info for your RAM

  3. #13
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,358

    And perhaps voltages too...

  4. #14
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    i did adjust voltage but completely forgot about timing.

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,358

    He-he, it happens...

  6. #16
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Cool 8350 o.c.

    Quote Originally Posted by Hargarbl View Post
    Hey, so i tried following the guide step by step and it did not work for me. Anything over factory and i got and error message telling me overclock unsuccessful.

    Im running
    FX-8350 and crosshair v formula z (dur if im following this guide right)
    16gb Corsair vengeance dominator platinum ram
    Corsair AX1200 PSU
    Corsair H80i cooler

    Any ideas?
    Try to put the ratio @ 24 but do not OC the RAM.
    The only way I could get to 4800 was to leave the RAM at stock speed.

  7. #17
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    YAAAAY!!!!!! Damn the timings were just a bit off, bios had the timings at 10-12-11-30, they are supposed to be at 9-10-9-27. Changed the timing and it booted just fine at 1866. Thanks guys for giving my brain a nice swift kick, it needed that.

  8. #18
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    moto im gonna adjust the ratio to 24 in a day or so, just had a little bit of free time to mess around. but like the previous post, my timings were just a bit off so im gonna try it at that. 1866 doesnt OC my RAM, thats what its rated for from Corsair.

  9. #19
    ROG Enthusiast Array DeZaXaT PC Specs
    DeZaXaT PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Sabertooth X79
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 4930K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 32GB 1866MHz CL9 (CMZ32GX3M4X1866C10R)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA GeForce GTX 690 4GB 512bit
    Sound CardTt eSPORTS BAHAMUT
    MonitorBenq XL2411Z 144Hz + Benq XL2411T 144Hz
    Storage #12 x Corsair Force GT SSD 120GB SATA-III RAID0
    Storage #2Crucial MX300 750GB SATA-III
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H100i Extreme Performance
    CaseCooler Master HAF X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-series 850W
    Keyboard SteelSeries SteelKeys 6G v2
    Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma
    Headset Sennheiser G4ME ZERO black
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries QcK Heavy
    Headset/Speakers Tt eSPORTS BAHAMUT Soundcard
    OS Windows 10 PRO 64bit
    Network RouterLinksys EA2700
    Accessory #1 AKRACING PREMIUM Black V2 Gaming Chair
    Accessory #2 Tt eSPORTS GALERU Black Mouse Bungee
    Accessory #3 Avermedia Live! Gamer HD
    DeZaXaT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    Same question : I run this settings and when i start prime , my PC freeze, The RAM is set @ 1866 and i have H100i ... what is wrong ?
    CPU: Intel i7 4930K | COOLER: Corsair H100i Extreme Performance | MB: Asus Sabertooth X79 | RAM: Corsair Vengeance 32GB DDR3 1866MHz CL9 | SSD: 2 x Corsair Force GT 120GB | SSD: Crucial MX300 750GB | HDD: WD 640GB | VIDEO CARD: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 690 4GB 512-bit | PSU: Seasonic X-series 850W | CASE: Cooler Master HAF X | MONITORS: 2 x Benq XL2411Z | SOUND: Sennheiser G4ME ZERO + TteSports Bahamut | MOUSE: Razer DeathAdder Chroma | PAD: SteelSeries QCK Heavy

  10. #20
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array FlanK3r PC Specs
    FlanK3r PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero+Asus 970 Pro Gaming/AURA (and many others)
    ProcessorCore i7-6700K + FX-8370 (and many others)
    Graphics Card #1Strix R9 390X DCIII OC
    Graphics Card #2AMD RX 480
    Graphics Card #3Saphire R9 270X Toxic
    Graphics Card #4ROG GTX980TI Poseidon
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512 GB
    Storage #2HyperX 3K 240GB
    CPU CoolerRaijintek Triton + Silentium Fera
    CaseNZXT Noctis and Bitfenix Pandora LED
    Power SupplyCM V850 + Corsair TX750
    Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder
    Mouse Razer Deathadder + A4tech 750BK
    Headset HyperX Cloud
    Mouse Pad Roccat Tatto
    OS Windows 10 + Windows 7
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC55U
    FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Reputation
    110
    Posts
    597

    Guys, each CPU piece is different. Nonody guarantees yours 4.8 GHz OC or so. There is more factors:
    1)PSU rails
    2)cooling of VRM
    3)right tweaking in steps
    4)VID of CPU and thermal heating (low VID CPUs are hotter at 1.5V voltage than CPUs with high VID)
    5)scaling with voltage
    6)batch, quality of pieces


    I have no a problem get 5 GHz stable with Corsair H100. My FX love hardocre benchmarks

    And benchmarks at 1.55V
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	N9GfYbQ.jpg 
Views:	81 
Size:	317.1 KB 
ID:	18296
    Who knows me, knows me ....AMD 3000+, AMD x2 4600+ EE, AMD X4 955 BE C2,2x AMD X4 965 BE C3, AMD X4 970 BE C3, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD x6 1100T BE, 2x AMD FX-8120, 2x AMD FX-8150, FX-6300, FX-8300, FX-8320E, FX-8320, FX-8350, FX-8370, FX-8370E, FX-9370, FX-9590, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, A8-5600K, A10-5800K, A10-6800K, A10-7850K, A10-7870K, A 5150, Athlon x4 860K, Intel i7-5960X, i7-6700K, Intel i7-4770K, Intel i7-980x, Intel i7 2600k, Intel i7-3770K, i7-3930K.

Page 2 of 18 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 12 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •