Page 27 of 29 FirstFirst ... 17 25 26 27 28 29 LastLast
Results 261 to 270 of 290
  1. #261
    ROG Enthusiast Array Missing Link's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    Hi everyone, so i installed win7 x64 lastnight using the UEFI guide and this is the first time installing and creating a GPT partition as i've always installed as legacy MBR partition, everything seemed to go ok except i noticed in the disk management i had two small partitions one of course is the GPT EFI partition and the other is a 101mb unallocated partition and was thinking was this mean't for the MBR for devices that are non compliant with EFI at boot up and now i don't want to install to much software just in case i need to reformat so i've added a pic of the disk management to see if i installed this correctly, i don't mind starting from scratch again as i'm new to this type of installation but not to keen on installing all my programs for nothing...any advice would be great thanks. Click image for larger version. 

Name:	UEFI Pic.JPG 
Views:	3 
Size:	763.6 KB 
ID:	36413
    Motherboard, Asus Rampage IV Extreme.
    Case, Coolermaster Cosmos II Ultra Tower.
    CPU, Intel i7 3930k.
    GPU, Asus Nvidia GeForce GTX 780.
    OS HDD, SSD Intel 520s 240gig.
    Memory/Ram, Corsair 16gig (4X4) Dominator GT 2133mhz.
    Sound Card, Creative Sound Blaster ZxR.
    PSU, Corsair AX-1200i.
    Watercooling, Corsair H100i.

  2. #262
    Super Moderator - Coderat Array Nodens PC Specs
    Nodens PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS GL702VW-GC004T
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel 3930K C2
    Memory (part number)CMZ16GX3M4X2133C11
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX970-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorASUS VG278H
    Storage #13x OCZ Vertex 3 240 (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    Storage #23x WD2003FYYS (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i + 4x Noctua NF-P12
    CaseCoolermaster HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-1250
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterLinksys E4200v2 (running TomatoUSB/Toastman firmware)
    Nodens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    4,389

    For some reason you left that unallocated space there. Or it's something the MS intaller did. If you want to reclaim that space do a clean installation after following the troubleshooting section with the "clean" procedure
    RAMPAGE Windows 8/7 UEFI Installation Guide - Patched OROM for TRIM in RAID - Patched UEFI GOP Updater Tool - ASUS OEM License Restorer
    There are 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't!

    RealBench Developer.

  3. #263
    ROG Enthusiast Array Missing Link's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    Thanks Nodens, I got it sorted now and had to install OS again and now its all good the unallocated partition is gone and thanks for the guide...Cheers. Click image for larger version. 

Name:	UEFI Pic.JPG 
Views:	5 
Size:	824.7 KB 
ID:	36428
    Motherboard, Asus Rampage IV Extreme.
    Case, Coolermaster Cosmos II Ultra Tower.
    CPU, Intel i7 3930k.
    GPU, Asus Nvidia GeForce GTX 780.
    OS HDD, SSD Intel 520s 240gig.
    Memory/Ram, Corsair 16gig (4X4) Dominator GT 2133mhz.
    Sound Card, Creative Sound Blaster ZxR.
    PSU, Corsair AX-1200i.
    Watercooling, Corsair H100i.

  4. #264
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Perfect guide

  5. #265
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array thebski PC Specs
    thebski PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage IV Formula
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-3930K
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX3M4A2133C8
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 780 Ti SC
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster ZxR
    Monitor3x Asus VG248QE
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro 512 GB
    Storage #22x HGST Deskstar 4 TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    CaseHAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860
    Keyboard SteelSeries 6GV2
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Beyerdynamic DT990 Pro
    OS Windows 8.1

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    145

    Hi, I am having some trouble installing Windows 8.1 on 2 Samsung 840 Pros on a Rampage IV Formula. I have tried with CSM disabled and with CSM enabled and everything set to UEFI first as shown in the screenshot. In each case I set secure boot to other OS. I then create the raid array in UEFI. In both cases, as soon as I try to boot to the DVD drive with prefix uefi, it flashes the blue windows screen and then quits. If I have CSM disabled it will cycle back to the bios. If I have it enabled it will just sit on the black screen with the cursor at the top left corner flashing until I shut it off.

    I feel like I've followed the guide, but I can't get Windows setup to start. GPUs are 780 Ti's as well, so I would think those should have new enough firmware.

    Any ideas on what I'm doing wrong? Thanks!

    Edit: I have bios 3504 installed on my board. The guide says 3404 but I assumed anything later worked as well. Just wanted to throw that in as well.

    Edit #2: I figured out that I could not use my Blu Ray drive to install UEFI. It was somewhere in this thread, and that ended up being my problem. So I got everything installed, but I have another problem.

    If I have SLI disabled, I would say the machine boots in about 10 seconds. Power button to Windows desktop in 10 seconds (guessing).

    If I enabled SLI, it appears to load Windows fine, but the displays are really confused for a long time. They eventually get it straitened out, but it takes forever. Power button to desktop is more like 2 or 3 minutes in this case..

    Is this a known problem? Has anyone else had this issue? I never noticed SLI affect boot times in the past, but something is very wrong with it here.
    Last edited by thebski; 06-01-2014 at 05:38 AM.

  6. #266
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array thebski PC Specs
    thebski PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage IV Formula
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-3930K
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX3M4A2133C8
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 780 Ti SC
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster ZxR
    Monitor3x Asus VG248QE
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro 512 GB
    Storage #22x HGST Deskstar 4 TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    CaseHAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860
    Keyboard SteelSeries 6GV2
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Beyerdynamic DT990 Pro
    OS Windows 8.1

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    145

    Quote Originally Posted by thebski View Post
    Hi, I am having some trouble installing Windows 8.1 on 2 Samsung 840 Pros on a Rampage IV Formula. I have tried with CSM disabled and with CSM enabled and everything set to UEFI first as shown in the screenshot. In each case I set secure boot to other OS. I then create the raid array in UEFI. In both cases, as soon as I try to boot to the DVD drive with prefix uefi, it flashes the blue windows screen and then quits. If I have CSM disabled it will cycle back to the bios. If I have it enabled it will just sit on the black screen with the cursor at the top left corner flashing until I shut it off.

    I feel like I've followed the guide, but I can't get Windows setup to start. GPUs are 780 Ti's as well, so I would think those should have new enough firmware.

    Any ideas on what I'm doing wrong? Thanks!

    Edit: I have bios 3504 installed on my board. The guide says 3404 but I assumed anything later worked as well. Just wanted to throw that in as well.

    Edit #2: I figured out that I could not use my Blu Ray drive to install UEFI. It was somewhere in this thread, and that ended up being my problem. So I got everything installed, but I have another problem.

    If I have SLI disabled, I would say the machine boots in about 10 seconds. Power button to Windows desktop in 10 seconds (guessing).

    If I enabled SLI, it appears to load Windows fine, but the displays are really confused for a long time. They eventually get it straitened out, but it takes forever. Power button to desktop is more like 2 or 3 minutes in this case..

    Is this a known problem? Has anyone else had this issue? I never noticed SLI affect boot times in the past, but something is very wrong with it here.
    Well I guess UEFI isn't for me this time. I can't get video in Windows anymore to disable SLI or try another driver. I need the machine, so I'll just have to install regular this time and try to figure it out before I reformat next time. I have done some searching for SLI boot issues with UEFI and have found some cases that are similar to mine but never really any solutions. There's no doubt that enabling SLI in this case breaks the system. It was booting very fast last night with SLI disabled. If anyone has any ideas I'd be interested to hear them. Thanks!

    Edit: I reinstalled with UEFI and CSM enabled per the screen shot in the guide. Everything seems to work now, and boot times are still very fast. I originally wanted to avoid CSM, but apparently SLI says no. Anyways, great guide!
    Last edited by thebski; 06-02-2014 at 04:21 AM.

  7. #267
    Super Moderator - Coderat Array Nodens PC Specs
    Nodens PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS GL702VW-GC004T
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel 3930K C2
    Memory (part number)CMZ16GX3M4X2133C11
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX970-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorASUS VG278H
    Storage #13x OCZ Vertex 3 240 (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    Storage #23x WD2003FYYS (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i + 4x Noctua NF-P12
    CaseCoolermaster HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-1250
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterLinksys E4200v2 (running TomatoUSB/Toastman firmware)
    Nodens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    4,389

    The nly way SLI could be a factor is if one of your cards does not have a UEFI GOP and is still on legacy VBIOS.
    RAMPAGE Windows 8/7 UEFI Installation Guide - Patched OROM for TRIM in RAID - Patched UEFI GOP Updater Tool - ASUS OEM License Restorer
    There are 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't!

    RealBench Developer.

  8. #268
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array samarlian PC Specs
    samarlian PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage V Extreme - 3101
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 5930K @ 4.250 Ghz 1.25v
    Memory (part number)32Gb of Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR4 3200MHz
    Graphics Card #1GeForce GTX1080
    Graphics Card #2GeForce GTX1080
    Sound CardX-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
    MonitorAsus PG278Q ROG Swift / Dell 24" Ultra sharp
    Storage #1256Gb Samsung SM951-M.2 Pci-e SSD
    Storage #22 x 256Gb Samsung 840 Pro SSD & 1 x 2TB Seagate Barracuda
    CPU CoolerCustom water cooling / koolance cpu-370 lga 2011 / 12V Laing D5 Vario Pump / 120.3 Thermochill Rad
    CaseLian Li V1000z modded
    Power SupplyEvga SuperNova 1200w P2
    Keyboard Razer DeathStalker Ultimate
    Mouse Razer Taipan 8200 DPI Expert
    Headset Razer Tiamat Elite 7.1 Surround Sound
    Mouse Pad Razer extended speed mat
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 in a UEFI setup
    Network RouterBT Home Hub 5
    Accessory #1 Samson Meteor Mic
    samarlian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    124

    i also cant get this to work , when follow guide and hit f10 to save still dont get the intel option in advanced menu to set up my raid array.

    on ctrl and i disk one is locked and disk 2 is non raid ???

    also on the security boot parameters mine sats windows 8 uefi or other legacy & uefi no other os


    any ideas as i just bough 2 x samsung evo 840 pro 256gb ssds
    Last edited by samarlian; 06-11-2014 at 09:52 AM.

  9. #269
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Why is all this necessary. I installed Windows 8.1 on a 600GB high speed SSD. It takes my system 7.39 seconds to reach my desktop from a cold boot. Am I missing something?


    I7 4930k at 4.9 on Rampage Extreme Black Edition IV
    32gb Corsair Vengence at 2400MHz
    Phantom 820 Window Edition (white)
    Corsair 1200w Digital PSU
    2x600 Intel High Speed SSD
    1x240 Samsung 840 SSD
    1x 3tb Black Edition WD
    1 x 1tb Black Edition WD
    2 x GTX 780TI
    LG Motif BluRay
    Corsair H110 Cooler
    Windows 8.1 Retail

  10. #270
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    I have two GTX780Ti's in a SLI configuration as well. I am using a retail version of Windows 8.1 that I loaded normally on a 600gb high speed flash drive. My system loads in about 7.39 seconds regardless if SLI is enabled or not. I think your problem is residing with the Raid and I am not quite sure why the heck you would need a raid with 2 840 SSD's to begin with. I have tried them in a Raid and alone and in my opinion, the Raid configuration is not out performing the stand alone set up.

    I7 4930k at 4.9 on Rampage Extreme Black Edition IV
    32gb Corsair Vengence at 2400MHz
    Phantom 820 Window Edition (white)
    Corsair 1200w Digital PSU
    2x600 Intel High Speed SSD
    1x240 Samsung 840 SSD
    1x 3tb Black Edition WD
    1 x 1tb Black Edition WD
    2 x GTX 780TI
    LG Motif BluRay
    Corsair H110 Cooler
    Windows 8.1 Retail
    Last edited by sixsigmamb; 07-14-2014 at 10:07 PM.

Page 27 of 29 FirstFirst ... 17 25 26 27 28 29 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •