Page 3 of 29 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 13 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 290
  1. #21
    Super Moderator - Coderat Array Nodens PC Specs
    Nodens PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS GL702VW-GC004T
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel 3930K C2
    Memory (part number)CMZ16GX3M4X2133C11
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX970-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorASUS VG278H
    Storage #13x OCZ Vertex 3 240 (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    Storage #23x WD2003FYYS (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i + 4x Noctua NF-P12
    CaseCoolermaster HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-1250
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterLinksys E4200v2 (running TomatoUSB/Toastman firmware)
    Nodens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    4,389

    Exactly that. You're selecting the system drive and that can't happen. You can use diskpart to select the other drive while Windows is running. Just be careful to select the proper drive.
    RAMPAGE Windows 8/7 UEFI Installation Guide - Patched OROM for TRIM in RAID - Patched UEFI GOP Updater Tool - ASUS OEM License Restorer
    There are 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't!

    RealBench Developer.

  2. #22
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by Myk SilentShadow View Post
    Disconnect your SSD, then startup win 8 install again and then try GPart to clean the drive. The reason for the error is, you're selecting your SSD and not the 4TB Caviar
    I want the OS on the SSD. I just want the WD Drive for storage. I already have the OS and some programs installed on the SSD. I'm just trying to access the entire WD Drive for my 2nd or slave type drive. If that term is even used anymore.
    Last edited by Unleashhell; 03-28-2013 at 09:19 PM.
    My 1st PC Build.

    Case: Corsair 600T Graphite
    Mobo: Asus Maximus V Formula
    CPU: Intel i7 3770K
    Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum 2133 1.5v
    Cooler: Corsair H100i
    PSU: Corsair 860i
    Audio: Asus Xonar Pheobus
    Video Card: Asus Geforce Titan
    Monitor: Asus VG248 144Hz
    SSD: Intel 520 Series 240 GB
    HDD: WD Black 4 TB
    Keyboard: Corsair K90
    Mouse: Corsair M90

  3. #23
    Super Moderator - Coderat Array Nodens PC Specs
    Nodens PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS GL702VW-GC004T
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel 3930K C2
    Memory (part number)CMZ16GX3M4X2133C11
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX970-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorASUS VG278H
    Storage #13x OCZ Vertex 3 240 (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    Storage #23x WD2003FYYS (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i + 4x Noctua NF-P12
    CaseCoolermaster HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-1250
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterLinksys E4200v2 (running TomatoUSB/Toastman firmware)
    Nodens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    4,389

    SATA doesn't have Master/Slave designations so no it's not used anymore

    Like I said, your issue is that you're selecting the wrong drive. Since you want the 4TB drive partitioned as GPT you have to select that one in diskpart.
    RAMPAGE Windows 8/7 UEFI Installation Guide - Patched OROM for TRIM in RAID - Patched UEFI GOP Updater Tool - ASUS OEM License Restorer
    There are 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't!

    RealBench Developer.

  4. #24
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array smokeintheeye PC Specs
    smokeintheeye PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme (X99) Bios 3101
    ProcessorI7 5820K @ 4.6GHz @ 1.285v
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX XMP @ 2400MHz
    Graphics Card #1MSI R9-290 Gaming @ 1100/1375
    MonitorPhilips 4K BDM4065UC
    CPU CoolerSupr EVO X99 + 360 Rad + 1000ml Res + Swiftech MCP655
    CaseHAF X
    Power SupplyHX1000i
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    OS Windows 10 pro 64bit
    Accessory #1 AMBI lighting
    smokeintheeye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    279

    ok iv been thinking of making a move to win8 so im happy to see this post. i don't use raid and want the win8 OS on my SSD. i what to try and get it right on the 1st go. thing is i still have an ssd with all my games on and a hdd with music and movies on. will windows 8 still pick the drives up after installing win8 and will they work ok? what are the best steps to take on doing a full fresh install in UEFI with win8 but no RAID?


    Any Reputation is welcome. thanks

  5. #25
    imMortal Kombatant Array Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage IV Formula
    ProcessorIntel i7 3930K
    Memory (part number)8GB Corsair XMS3 1600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Radeon 7970 3GD5
    Sound CardROG Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster SA300
    Storage #1Corsair Neutron 128GB
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair A50 Pro Air Cooler
    CaseBitFenix Merc Alpha
    Power SupplyThermaltake Litepower 700W
    Keyboard Alienware TactX Keyboard
    Mouse Tesoro Gandiva H1L
    OS Win7 Ultimate x64
    Myk SilentShadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    5,241

    Regardless of what you do, you're still going to need to re-install your games after installing Win8. Your best bet is to backup ALL of your save games, your bookmarks and anything else that YOU deem as important to you. You can also install Win8 without RAID if you want, either set your SATA ports to AHCI, or, you can set them as RAID, it won't affect performance in any way that I know of as AHCI is built into RAID any how


    @Nodens: I was kind of right, when I made mention of using UEFI with large drives (over 2TB) but, this is only for users who have UEFI BIOS and also use a >2TB Drive as the Boot.OS Drive.

    The storage industry has recently introduced storage devices with capacities which exceed 2TB (2 trillion bytes). In order for a system to fully support capacities greater than 2TB, the device must be initialized using the GPT partitioning scheme to support addressing the full range of capacity. If the user is intending to boot from one of these large disks, there is an additional requirement that the system’s base firmware interface must be using UEFI and not BIOS. This Knowledge Base article outlines Microsoft’s support statement across Windows versions since Windows XP, and the requirements necessary to address the full capacity of these devices.
    Taken from: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2581408
    Last edited by Myk SilentShadow; 03-29-2013 at 12:59 PM.

  6. #26
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array smokeintheeye PC Specs
    smokeintheeye PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme (X99) Bios 3101
    ProcessorI7 5820K @ 4.6GHz @ 1.285v
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX XMP @ 2400MHz
    Graphics Card #1MSI R9-290 Gaming @ 1100/1375
    MonitorPhilips 4K BDM4065UC
    CPU CoolerSupr EVO X99 + 360 Rad + 1000ml Res + Swiftech MCP655
    CaseHAF X
    Power SupplyHX1000i
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    OS Windows 10 pro 64bit
    Accessory #1 AMBI lighting
    smokeintheeye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    279

    my games are not on my OS SSD there all on a 2nd SSD with steam. so there all backed up any way. i will just need to install steam from windows 8 back to the ssd with all the game and it sud pick them all back up. i just want to know will window 8 pick the 2nd ssd up ok along with the hhd and let me still use the info saved on them? plus is there a way to set a SSD up to work with a HDD to have speed of the SSD but the space of the HDD? might do a test run with windows 7.

    steps to take?

    1. stick winows 7 on a usb
    2. unplug other SSDs and HDDs
    3. Flash SSD
    4. reset bios to safe
    5. set up bios for UEFI
    6. plug in usb with windows on and run in UEFI mode
    7. set ssd up as new. bit im stuck on..... will windows set up the size of all the new partitions? as my SSD is just 128gb

    if anyone can fill in any bits iv missed or a better way to set things up. thank you all


    Any Reputation is welcome. thanks

  7. #27
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array smokeintheeye PC Specs
    smokeintheeye PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme (X99) Bios 3101
    ProcessorI7 5820K @ 4.6GHz @ 1.285v
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX XMP @ 2400MHz
    Graphics Card #1MSI R9-290 Gaming @ 1100/1375
    MonitorPhilips 4K BDM4065UC
    CPU CoolerSupr EVO X99 + 360 Rad + 1000ml Res + Swiftech MCP655
    CaseHAF X
    Power SupplyHX1000i
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    OS Windows 10 pro 64bit
    Accessory #1 AMBI lighting
    smokeintheeye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    279

    how do i set up my usb to run in UEFI with windows 7?


    Any Reputation is welcome. thanks

  8. #28
    Super Moderator - Coderat Array Nodens PC Specs
    Nodens PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS GL702VW-GC004T
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel 3930K C2
    Memory (part number)CMZ16GX3M4X2133C11
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX970-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorASUS VG278H
    Storage #13x OCZ Vertex 3 240 (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    Storage #23x WD2003FYYS (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i + 4x Noctua NF-P12
    CaseCoolermaster HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-1250
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterLinksys E4200v2 (running TomatoUSB/Toastman firmware)
    Nodens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    4,389

    Quote Originally Posted by smokeintheeye View Post
    ok iv been thinking of making a move to win8 so im happy to see this post. i don't use raid and want the win8 OS on my SSD. i what to try and get it right on the 1st go. thing is i still have an ssd with all my games on and a hdd with music and movies on. will windows 8 still pick the drives up after installing win8 and will they work ok? what are the best steps to take on doing a full fresh install in UEFI with win8 but no RAID?
    What Myk is saying is true. You just have to reinstall everything. From your post bellow I see you are using Steam. For Steam you do not need to reinstall the games indeed, just reinstall Steam to the right directory. BUT a lot of Steam games do not store their save files in the Steam directory tree. A lot of them save your games under My Documents so be sure to back up at least your entire My Documents directory.

    Quote Originally Posted by Myk SilentShadow View Post
    @Nodens: I was kind of right, when I made mention of using UEFI with large drives (over 2TB) but, this is only for users who have UEFI BIOS and also use a >2TB Drive as the Boot.OS Drive.
    Quote Originally Posted by Nodens View Post
    That's a benefit of partitioning a disk as GPT and not the UEFI installation in itself. You can have a storage disk partitioned as GPT without installing in UEFI mode. That's why I didn't write that
    This is exactly what I said. You can use storage disks perfectly fine as GPT hence that benefit is not specific to the UEFI installation. That's why I did not write it in the pros Using a >2TB system drive is a special, niche case. Perhaps I should add it in case anyone is interested in that configuration.

    Quote Originally Posted by smokeintheeye View Post
    how do i set up my usb to run in UEFI with windows 7?
    I suggest you use a DVD disk to install 7 in UEFI mode.
    If you must use a USB drive, you have to copy the entire contents of the installation DVD to a FAT32 formatted USB drive AND copy "EFI\Microsoft\Boot" directory to one level higher so it's found as "EFI\Boot". Then you need to copy "Bootmgfw.efi" that you can find in "C:\Windows\Boot\EFI" of an existing Windows 7 installation, to the "EFI\Boot" directory and rename it to "Bootx64.efi".

    Like I said it's much simpler to just boot the DVD
    Last edited by Nodens; 03-29-2013 at 05:09 PM.
    RAMPAGE Windows 8/7 UEFI Installation Guide - Patched OROM for TRIM in RAID - Patched UEFI GOP Updater Tool - ASUS OEM License Restorer
    There are 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't!

    RealBench Developer.

  9. #29
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    90

    Now I was a bit puzzled when you wrote answers to smokeintheeye?
    Copy "EFI \ Microsoft \ Boot" directory to one level higher so it's found as "EFI \ Boot". Then you need to copy "Bootmgfw.efi" that you can find in "C: \ Windows \ Boot \ EFI" of an existing Windows 7 installation, to the "EFI \ Boot" directory and rename it to "Bootx64.efi
    What I wonder now? Should you do so when you have Windows 8 on a USB.
    For that I have not done.
    I've just formatted USB FAST32 then copied over all of the Windows 8 files to USB.
    Then I started from the UEFI prefix.
    All works for me with Windows 8, but was a little curious when you wrote that.
    Because I've thought put Windows 7 on USB so I want to do right.
    CPU: Intel Core i7 3930K
    Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme X79
    Memory: Corsair Dominator CMP16GX3M4X1866C9
    Graphics Card: 2x ASUS GeForce GTX680
    SSD Drive: 2x Corsair SSD Force Series GT 90GB Raid 0
    Power Supply: Corsair AX 1200W PSU
    Case: Cooler Master Cosmos II Ultra Tower
    Cooling: Water cooling GPU/CPU/SYD
    OS: Windows 8 64 Bit
    Monitor: Samsung 27 LED SyncMaster S27A950
    Speaker: Logitech Z-906 5.1 THX, DTS
    Sound Card: Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional

  10. #30
    Super Moderator - Coderat Array Nodens PC Specs
    Nodens PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS GL702VW-GC004T
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel 3930K C2
    Memory (part number)CMZ16GX3M4X2133C11
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX970-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorASUS VG278H
    Storage #13x OCZ Vertex 3 240 (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    Storage #23x WD2003FYYS (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i + 4x Noctua NF-P12
    CaseCoolermaster HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-1250
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterLinksys E4200v2 (running TomatoUSB/Toastman firmware)
    Nodens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    4,389

    asard, that procedure only apply for Win7 as I wrote. For Windows 8 all you need to do is copy the contents of the DVD to the usb drive and you're done. Win7 is older and needs this procedure to make the USB drive bootable in UEFI mode. It only applies to 7.
    RAMPAGE Windows 8/7 UEFI Installation Guide - Patched OROM for TRIM in RAID - Patched UEFI GOP Updater Tool - ASUS OEM License Restorer
    There are 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't!

    RealBench Developer.

Page 3 of 29 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 13 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •