Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Hdds not being recognized in bios

    I've searched everywhere and can't seem to find an answer to this problem, or thread less than 3 years old for that matter...

    I bought a refurbished G73SW from newegg about 2 years ago and have had no prblems whatsoever until a week ago.
    I put the laptop in sleep mode per the usual and went to bed, 15 hours later I find it hard frozen and have to hold the power button to reboot.
    When I try to boot it up, it gives me the pxe code for the network boot not working and after a while I get in the bios and find my hard drive isn't listed as a boot option.
    Obviously my first thought is the hard drive, so I ordered a new one and bought a sata/USB enclosure to try and restore whatever I can.
    The enclosure came first and my roommate let me see what was on it. EVERYTHING was there. She has the same laptop as mine so I swapped her hd with mine. Her laptop picked up my hd in bios and booted but mine didn't pick up hers.
    Since I'm able to get in the bios my motherboard must not be fried, so could my sata connectors be failing or have a loose wire?

    My stats
    G73SW-BST6
    Intel Core i7-2630QM 2.0GHz
    8GB DDR3
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 460M

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array dstrakele's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    4,437

    1) What happens if you enter the BIOS and restore the default settings? Has the SATA Configuration changed in your BIOS as compared to your roommate's?

    2) Does reinstalling or updating the Intel Chipset driver with the -overall switch to ensure that all Chipset devices are updated resolve the issue? Since the HDD is not recognized in the BIOS, I believe this attempt at a Windows software fix has little chance of success.

    3) Booting into a Linux "LiveCD" distribution would be another way to help confirm if the issue is BIOS-related or hardware related, as opposed to Windows software related.

    4) How did you end up with a roommate that had had the exact same laptop as you? That was extremely fortunate for troubleshooting...

    If the above fails to change behavior, I'd be inclined to accept your diagnosis of a failed SATA Controller or SATA connector.
    Last edited by dstrakele; 03-17-2013 at 01:04 PM.
    G74SX-A1 - stock hardware - BIOS 202 - 2nd Monitor VISIO VF551XVT

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    2,441

    is your roommat HDD able to detect on your laptop? if also can not, i think it is hdd bay damage, you will send back to RMA to check it.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    99
    Posts
    2,195

    dstrakele has covered about everything and I would be sure to try to reload and save the default bios settings if you haven't already because it's so easy to try and might help if you updated your bios at the same time (?).
    I wanted to mention a few more things below too ('tag team' with dstrakely and I).

    1) Your DVD-ROM should appear in the bios too, so wanted to make sure it's listed. It may not be very likely, but if your DVD drive has gone bad and is causing this problem (not a common problem I'm aware of, but possible in theory? Actually, if both the DVD-ROM or hard drives don't appear in the bios anymore, it may be more likely a problem with the SATA controller/connector.), there is a relatively easy way to unplug the DVD-ROM to see if this helps the hard drives to be detected.

    2) Not sure if your notebook has 2 hard drive bays as in the screenshot below (some if not all G73SW notebooks will), but if you haven't already tried it, connect your hard drive to the other hard drive connector if available to see if it works).

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	g73.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	74.6 KB 
ID:	18466

    3) Although I wouldn't want to spend too much money on an older out-of-warranty notebook if possible (I would rather save the money for a newer notebook with warranty if you can afford it), check this link for contact information if you would like to send in the notebook to ASUS USA for out-of-warranty service.

    Quote Originally Posted by dstrakele View Post
    1) What happens if you enter the BIOS and restore the default settings? Has the SATA Configuration changed in your BIOS as compared to your roommate's?

    2) Does reinstalling or updating the Intel Chipset driver with the -overall switch to ensure that all Chipset devices are updated resolve the issue? Since the HDD is not recognized in the BIOS, I believe this attempt at a Windows software fix has little chance of success.

    3) Booting into a Linux "LiveCD" distribution would be another way to help confirm if the issue is BIOS-related or hardware related, as opposed to Windows software related.

    4) How did you end up with a roommate that had had the exact same laptop as you? That was extremely fortunate for troubleshooting...

    If the above fails to change behavior, I'd be inclined to accept your diagnosis of a failed SATA Controller or SATA connector.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by dstrakele View Post
    1) What happens if you enter the BIOS and restore the default settings? Has the SATA Configuration changed in your BIOS as compared to your roommate's?

    2) Does reinstalling or updating the Intel Chipset driver with the -overall switch to ensure that all Chipset devices are updated resolve the issue? Since the HDD is not recognized in the BIOS, I believe this attempt at a Windows software fix has little chance of success.

    3) Booting into a Linux "LiveCD" distribution would be another way to help confirm if the issue is BIOS-related or hardware related, as opposed to Windows software related.

    4) How did you end up with a roommate that had had the exact same laptop as you? That was extremely fortunate for troubleshooting...

    If the above fails to change behavior, I'd be inclined to accept your diagnosis of a failed SATA Controller or SATA connector.
    1) When I restore to default settings, it doesn't do anything different. and our BIOS are identical, sans the hardrive option missing.
    2) I'm not sure how to do that, but would it work if it's not picking up the HDD?
    3) How would I go about doing that?
    4) we got them at the same time lol


    Quote Originally Posted by cl-Albert View Post
    dstrakele has covered about everything and I would be sure to try to reload and save the default bios settings if you haven't already because it's so easy to try and might help if you updated your bios at the same time (?).
    I wanted to mention a few more things below too ('tag team' with dstrakely and I).

    1) Your DVD-ROM should appear in the bios too, so wanted to make sure it's listed. It may not be very likely, but if your DVD drive has gone bad and is causing this problem (not a common problem I'm aware of, but possible in theory? Actually, if both the DVD-ROM or hard drives don't appear in the bios anymore, it may be more likely a problem with the SATA controller/connector.), there is a relatively easy way to unplug the DVD-ROM to see if this helps the hard drives to be detected.

    2) Not sure if your notebook has 2 hard drive bays as in the screenshot below (some if not all G73SW notebooks will), but if you haven't already tried it, connect your hard drive to the other hard drive connector if available to see if it works).

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	g73.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	74.6 KB 
ID:	18466

    3) Although I wouldn't want to spend too much money on an older out-of-warranty notebook if possible (I would rather save the money for a newer notebook with warranty if you can afford it), check this link for contact information if you would like to send in the notebook to ASUS USA for out-of-warranty service.
    1) Both my DVD-ROM and Network options appear in the BIOS.
    2) Mine does have to hard drive bays and I tried that first lol.
    3) I guess I'll have to look into that and see if it's worth it

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array billyray520 PC Specs
    billyray520 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G73JH-A1, G73Sw
    MotherboardMaximus V Extreme, H97M-Plus
    ProcessorIntel Core I7 3770K, Core I5 4690s
    Memory (part number)32 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 (MVE)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire HD 7970 Dual X OC (MVE)
    Graphics Card #2Intel HD Graphics 4600
    MonitorAsus ProArt PA248 (MVE)
    Storage #1OCZ Vertex 4 2.5" 256 GB SSD (MVE)
    Storage #2Seagate 1 TB 7200 SATA III 6.0 GB/s (MVE)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i Liquid Cooler (MVE)
    CaseCooler Master HAF-X tower on wheels (MVE)
    Power SupplyThermaltake Toughpower Grand 1200W (MVE)
    Keyboard Logitech G110 Black LED (MVE)
    Mouse Asus ROG MOBKUL Gaming (MVE)
    OS Windows 7 Professional / Ubuntu 12.04 (MVE)
    Network RouterMotorola Surfboard SBG6580
    billyray520's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    501

    Do you have BIOS 205?
    What does it say in Bios/advanced/PCI/Sata ports? Port 0=? Port 1=? Port 2 should be your DVD
    Under Boot options, do you have IDE or ACHI?
    Do you have UEFI disabled?
    Have any of the boot options been Deleted (last choice) by accident?
    Asus Maximus V Extreme BIOS 1903, see specs above avatar.

    Asus G73 jh A1 laptop, BIOS 213, vBIOS OD2, 8 GB Ram, 240 GB Intel SSD, 180 GB Intel SSD. Win 7 Pro. Purchased new from PowerNotebooks.com in May 2010.
    (both have 1920X1080 hd screens, mine above, hers below )
    Asus G73 Sw XR1 laptop 8 GB Ram, 160 GB Intel SSD, 80 GB Intel SSD. Purchased used >Ebay 1/10/13, Did clean install of Windows 7

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    368

    i'll tell you a tip i picked up, somewhere along the way. i installed a secondary hard drive into my G51vx. long story short, i had some issues getting it to recognize in the bios.

    the solution was this:
    go into bios
    select restore factory default settings
    save changes and exit bios
    when the computer reboots, immediately go into bios
    select restore factory default settings, again
    save changes and exit bios


    try this and see if it helps.
    __________________________________________________ ________________
    Quote Originally Posted by dstrakele View Post
    I just blow the flames out and keep playin'....

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    So, I read something when my problem first started and someone said they pulled their first RAM stick out and it fixed their problem.

    I just did it and it's working now...

    Wut...?

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    368

    might have reset the bios by doing that.

    there's some kind of bug in it that sometimes gets tripped. for some reason setting it to default, twice, seemed to clear the bug for me.
    __________________________________________________ ________________
    Quote Originally Posted by dstrakele View Post
    I just blow the flames out and keep playin'....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •