Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Short Circuited second board

    Hello, so I just short circuited another board. It's a Crosshair V Formula Z board.

    Now I did not realize I did it the first time, not until today, do I know what I did.


    After getting everything set up, I installed a new fan.

    This is the culprit: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835345012

    When I tried to plug in the led cable, sparks shot out of my board. The computer was off, but the power was on in the back. But i'm pretty sure I plugged the cable into the wrong spot. When I get my new one in, just hoping I can do it right his time. So, any help on how to plug in this fans' led without destroying my board? Thank you.


    Fan Led Connection: http://i48.tinypic.com/2ilm3p2.jpg

    Location of where I plugged it in (the next picture is closer): http://i45.tinypic.com/21lpy55.jpg

    Closer image of where I plugged the fan led into: http://i45.tinypic.com/2v3ljqg.jpg
    Last edited by VinnyHaw; 03-28-2013 at 05:55 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,358

    Where exactly were you trying to connect that LED cable?!

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    878

    Maybe you can check or provide the motherboard about happened to short picture
    Or plan sent to the motherboard detail check and test by asus service center...
    http://support.asus.com/Hotlines.aspx?SLanguage=en

  4. #4
    imMortal Kombatant Array Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage IV Formula
    ProcessorIntel i7 3930K
    Memory (part number)8GB Corsair XMS3 1600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Radeon 7970 3GD5
    Sound CardROG Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster SA300
    Storage #1Corsair Neutron 128GB
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair A50 Pro Air Cooler
    CaseBitFenix Merc Alpha
    Power SupplyThermaltake Litepower 700W
    Keyboard Alienware TactX Keyboard
    Mouse Tesoro Gandiva H1L
    OS Win7 Ultimate x64
    Myk SilentShadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    5,241

    Apparently the best way to use those fans LEDs, is either with the BitFenix Hydra Fan Controller, or, with one of their Survivor Cases.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    i'll be able to upload a pic of where i tried to plug it in and the cable of the fan in a couple of hours.

  6. #6
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    164
    Posts
    7,454

    Glad you posted this up and have asked before you do any more damage. Killing boards by misadventure and then RMAing is not really something we allow.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    Glad you posted this up and have asked before you do any more damage. Killing boards by misadventure and then RMAing is not really something we allow.
    sorry

    i'm just really trying to figure this one. the first board, i honestly had no idea what happened. but i'm learning. it's just another bump in the road.

    I updated the OP with pics

  8. #8
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,129

    dont plugg that led on to a termal slot.
    its not made for enny thing then a termal probe.
    get a led hub if you want those leds connected.
    http://www.frozencpu.com/products/10....html?tl=g6c77
    Last edited by kkn; 03-28-2013 at 04:19 PM.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,358

    Well, by now I assume VinnyHaw knows too that the thermal probe connector is not good for the fan's LED... - just curious how he came up with that idea...

    My question is if the board is still working when that LD connector is removed? Some of those ROG boards has some safety features built in...

    RMA'ing a shorted board may be tricky... that's clearly the customers fault (in this case at least) and it voids the warranty...

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Quote Originally Posted by kkn View Post
    dont plugg that led on to a termal slot.
    its not made for enny thing then a termal probe.
    get a led hub if you want those leds connected.
    http://www.frozencpu.com/products/10....html?tl=g6c77
    thank you.
    where would i plug that hub in?

    also, the led connector has + and - on it. how would i know how to plug it into the hub? i don't see + or - marks on it.
    Last edited by VinnyHaw; 03-28-2013 at 05:57 PM.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •