Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Lightbulb On board vs discrete

    Hey guys sorry in advance cos I am a newbie.

    So I have 2 monitors setup and currently are having both plugged into my 680. My question is, if you have 2 monitors, is it better or worse to have the secondary (school work, YouTube, blu-ray movies, videos) monitor plugged into the on-board output (hd 4000) and the main (games) to the discrete (680); or is it just better in general to have both plugged into the discrete like I have right now? Any performance gain or loss one way or the other? Thanks guys~

  2. #2
    ‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎ Array Gorman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    90
    Posts
    627

    If you don't plug anything in to the integrated, it won't do anything. So yes, it's better to plug one in to each.

    But the performance loss won't be much if you are just watching movies or something. You can always test it yourself by checking your framerate in game with both configurations.

  3. #3
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,405

    Depends a bit on MB...chipset....

    http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=2298540

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Yeah, I was just wondering if I have both in the 680, and playing battlefield 3 on one and playing videos on the other, would that significantly lower the performance of game play as supposed to having the video playing through hd 4000 and having the 680 only dealing with battlefield itself.

  5. #5
    Shut Up Stupid! Array DaemonCantor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Reputation
    175
    Posts
    2,289

    henfai, Yes it would impact your Game. I myself have tried that and even with a Little Program like Speed Fan running on my integrated Video I get hiccups and Pauses in Games. I'm running at current my Backup System which is a Dell 531s that I have reboxed so that I could get an ATI HD5870 in it and it's integrated chip is the nVidia 650i....

    That's about as straight forward of an answer I can give you other than try it for yourself and see what happens.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •