Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    32 gig of ram What is the point

    Hi all why and what is the point of having so much ram in a gaming laptop such as our beloved g75's?
    By having all that ram, will it actually make good use of a high number of ram or is it more of a show pony?

  2. #2
    imMortal Kombatant Array Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage IV Formula
    ProcessorIntel i7 3930K
    Memory (part number)8GB Corsair XMS3 1600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Radeon 7970 3GD5
    Sound CardROG Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster SA300
    Storage #1Corsair Neutron 128GB
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair A50 Pro Air Cooler
    CaseBitFenix Merc Alpha
    Power SupplyThermaltake Litepower 700W
    Keyboard Alienware TactX Keyboard
    Mouse Tesoro Gandiva H1L
    OS Win7 Ultimate x64
    Myk SilentShadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    5,241

    Honestly, more show pony...though, it can be used to create a RAMDisk, also for people who edit a lot of video, pictures etc.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    cool thanks for info

  4. #4
    ROG Outfielder Array Skull6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    29
    Posts
    306

    I'd like to push mine to 32Gb, but I do alot of heavy lifting in regards to graphic manipulation & video rendering...
    "If it moves, salute it. If it doesn't move, pick it up. & if you can't pick it up...paint it RED & BLACK !!"
    G75VW-BBK5 {stock}

    ............ Macrium Reflect..................Full G55VW/G75VW model list!

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    59
    Posts
    597

    Unless you are doing 3D work of photoshop then you dont need more then 8gb. Heavy Photoshopping or autocad you want 32-64gigs of ram or the most you can put in your system

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,761

    If you use VMs like I do, 16 GB is plenty (for me). I wouldn't want to do VMs with 8 GB, to be honest, but 32 GB is probably overkill for most at this point. If you need a speed increase, a big SSD is the way to go.
    I am disturbed because I cannot break my system...found out there were others trying to cope! We have a support group on here, if your system will not break, please join!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=16
    We now have 178 people whose systems will not break! Yippee!
    LINUX Users, we have a group!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=23

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    67

    Solid works & Flow works. I put it on my G75 but until I can upgrade my ram to at least 32g it is painfully slow, comparatively speaking, to render models and gas flows through them. I have a desktop built just for this work and never really planned to do it on my G75 but this notebook has the potential. Just need to get around to doing it.

    I really don't understand the question otherwise. Nobody really NEEDS a gaming laptop to begin with, and like a car, some will tune and customize to a performance level they will never use for the sheer joy of it. That's enough justification for me.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,761

    @13fist, if you are doing that kind of work, you need the gaming laptop's performance. I do enough software development to need the 1080p screen, enough VMs to warrant at least 8 GB of RAM. Do I need 16 GB, no, but it is certainly handy at times.
    I am disturbed because I cannot break my system...found out there were others trying to cope! We have a support group on here, if your system will not break, please join!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=16
    We now have 178 people whose systems will not break! Yippee!
    LINUX Users, we have a group!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=23

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array ushhh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    56

    I have 32gb of ram and I use 16gb of it for a supercache for my hard drives
    G75VW-DS73 | BIOS 223 | 3820QM | 32GB RAM | VERTEX 4 256GB SSD / SEAGATE SSHD 1TB | Intel 6235 WiFi

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    Does 32gig of ram do anything for gaming?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •