Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 48
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Maximus V Extreme no no boot, fans running

    Have been looking into this mobo for so many house, done everything from a to z by trying stuff. So I gave up and went to bed. The day after, I got home from work looking at the mobo (I had packed it in the box for rma). So I let it another try just for fun, took it out, connected psu, yay! Cpu led and error code 00 was gone, and started to show numbers.

    So... I cleared CMOS, and now it's back to old days...... CPU LED ERROR 00, DAMN! sat there for another 7 hours that days...

    Anyone know a master solution. Not "RMA IT", cause that's not an answer, only a cheap option instead of fixing the actual fix.

    and yes. It's connected properly bla bla, ram sitck furthest out, cmos etc etc etc.. mobo was powerless for 24 hours, so I bet that is enough time for it to wake up



    and here i sit...

    edit: i7 3770k processor

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,254

    Welcome to the ROG forums, Slemdorull.

    1. Disconnect all the cables that are currently connected to your motherboard.
    2. Remove all the components from it also.
    3. Put it on the box that it came in.

    Now inspect the CPU socket for me. Are there any bent or missing pins?

    Also please list your complete system specs as detailed as possible for me. Thanks.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Edit; Thanks ( :P

    OCZ SSD Agility 3 Series 2.5" 120GB 20nm
    SATA 6 Gb/s (SATA3.0), 525MB/500MB/s read/write, S

    Intel® Core i7-3770K Processor
    Socket-LGA1155, Quad Core, 3.5GHz, 8MB, 77W, HD400

    ASUS Maximus V Extreme, Socket-1155
    E-ATX, Z77, DDR3, 5xG3-PCIe-x16,SLI/CFX,HDMI,DP,Wi

    Corsair Dominator DDR3 1866MHz 16GB
    Kit w/2x8GB XMS3 DHX, CL9-10-9-27, Platinum

    593166 MSI GeForce GTX 480 1536MB PhysX CUDA
    PCI-Express 2.0, GDDR5, 2xDVI, native-HDMI, HDCP

    Chieftec Super Series 650W PSU
    ATX 12V V2.3, 80 Plus, Modular, 1x 6pin+1x 6+2pin


    Yupyup, all the pins looks super fine, checked in clear sun couple times. Seems to be fine.
    Last edited by Slemdorull; 04-04-2013 at 06:03 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,254

    4. With everything disconnected and removed and your motherboard still on the box, remove the CMOS battery for 5 minutes.
    5. Insert the battery back into place.
    6. Install your CPU with its stock heatsink.
    7. Insert one stick of RAM into the DIMM_A2 slot.
    8. Connect the 24 pin and 8 pin power connectors.
    9. Power up your system with the Start button.

    Do the fans spin? What QCODE is on the DEBUG LED? And look beside the 24 pin power connector and locate the 4 QLEDs. Do any of them stay lit?

    Out of curiosity, is this a new build? If not, list which components are used ones and if they were in working state.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    It's an upgrade, but all the parts that I installed is new exept from CPU and GPU, which I provided in my second post.

    Give me one moment, gonna try! *Only got one PSU*

    But it usually gives me the same message, CPU_LED and QCODE 00, while fans are lit, I can even use OC key <.<, but GPU wont power lcd. Even the GPU is running fine and are powered. But since I can actually see with OC key, means that the mobo doesnt have that much downs as I first thought, but still. It wont boot, but ill come back at ya! when I did what u wrote there (I've maybe) It has been powerless for 2 days now, so maybe we should cross fingers

    Edit: all the parts that i used in the computers runs fine now.
    * Additional info: mobo came with 1504 bios and ive tried flashing the newest bios which is currently on. The CPU should be supported by all of the bioses.

    Added a picture there, its the led, most left.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20130404_220248.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	197.7 KB 
ID:	19278
    Last edited by Slemdorull; 04-04-2013 at 08:06 PM. Reason: added picture

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Testen again! Still the same failure.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20130404_222026.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	254.9 KB 
ID:	19283Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20130404_222133.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	240.5 KB 
ID:	19284Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20130404_223009.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	75.9 KB 
ID:	19285Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20130404_223028.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	61.1 KB 
ID:	19286
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos 20130404_215720.jpg  

    20130404_221435.jpg  

    20130404_221512.jpg  


  7. #7

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    None of my friends got that socket :/ I Will ask some co workers today

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Nobody had one! :/
    I think I'll RMA this one. Tired of looking at my broken motherboard.

  10. #10

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •