Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 48
  1. #11
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    I'm sitting on that GPU as we speak. Hmm, damn! should'a tested that out. Ill go to a friends house right now and find out.
    Last edited by Slemdorull; 04-05-2013 at 07:59 PM. Reason: spelling

  2. #12
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,247

    Actually I wanted you to test the motherboard with another PSU. Take your motherboard, CPU, heatsink and stick of RAM over to his house. Plug his PSU into your motherboard with everything installed. And hit that power button. Let me know your findings.

  3. #13
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    New PSU didnt solve the issue! :/

  4. #14
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    358
    Posts
    25,742

    RMA the motherboard.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,247

    Place the motherboard on your box again. Install the CPU, stock heatsink and one stick of RAM like we did before. Connect only the 24 pin power cable. Hit the start button. Does the CPU fan spin?

  6. #16
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Nope. It gives light and such, but won't spin.

  7. #17
    Banned Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    635

    try what Chino suggests, pull MB out of case, place it on non-conductive surface (e.g. cardboard box), install only the CPU, 1 ram stick in first red slot (closer to CPU), 24-pin cable AND 8-pin CPU power cable, that's a bare minimum not counting video (you can use integrated for now) and HDD/SSD plus mouse and keyboard if you want to do anything else later

    also as last resort before sending the board to RMA, try using BIOS Flashback to latest 1707 edition, all you need is FAT32 formatted USB stick which you load with extracted BIOS file (rename it to M5E.CAP). you can do this on motherboard alone, co cpu, no ram, just power (24pin) hooked up and place the stick in white USb ROG port, press the ROG Connect button for 5 second with motherboard at standby.

    hope it helps.

    I know at least 1 person who revived MVG board from 00 q-code of death with use of Flasback. good luck!
    Last edited by feniks; 04-09-2013 at 12:33 AM.

  8. #18
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    I tried that, didnt change a thing.

  9. #19
    Banned Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    635

    Quote Originally Posted by Slemdorull View Post
    I tried that, didnt change a thing.
    if so then I second Hivizman's vote, RMA it with ASUS or exchange it in store if still within time limits.

  10. #20
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    358
    Posts
    25,742

    I admire your determination OP and wish that many others had your spirit. But there is a time to call it a day and just swap out the board. You have done more than enough and no user should have that much hassle just to get their board sorted.

    I do want to prepare you for one possibility however. It could also be your CPU my friend. Does happen. Ask the store to test the board and the CPU if possible.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •