Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    35

    i7 3770k overclock 4.3GHz

    Hey everyone! Thank you for taking the time to read this.

    I've been working on overclocking this cpu with the MVF and it seems I have a crappy CPU when it comes to the voltages it needs. I see people getting up to 4.5GHz with less voltage than what I am at for 4.3GHz

    My only question is is it the chip or am I actually doing something wrong. Here are my settings for the 4.3GHz overclock.

    Voltage is at 1.240
    CPULL is at 1.70 (advice is Ivy likes this voltage for the CPULL)
    CPU load line calibration ultra high
    Voltage frequency is manual set to 350 (was advised Ivy likes this
    Power phase is extreme
    CPU current Cap is at 140%

    This is the bare minimum voltage I need to make sure it's stable. Any suggestions? And yes my temps are fine. They barely reach 70 celcius with Prime95 12 hours. Mostly in the mid 60's. At 1.230 Prime 95 at large ftt crashes at the 12th hour. Lower than that and I get errors much quicker or blue screen.

    Is it my other settings? No matter what I try can't get it at a lower voltage. I don't get how people are at 4.5 with such low voltages. I have the worst luck with chips =/ Had this problem with my 2500k as well.

    Thank you very much!

    PS: I apologize.

    Rest of my specs are as follows

    16 gigs Corsair memory @ 1.50 volts, 9-9-9-24 command rate 2, 1600MHz, 4 sticks
    GTX 680 at stock factory overclock
    NZXT Hale90+ 850 watt
    Windows 8 64 bit

    You guys think it's because I am using 4 memory sticks instead of 2 eight gig sticks? Or should I lower the timings, raise RAM voltages?

    Any suggestions are welcome!
    Last edited by Improv; 04-03-2013 at 04:46 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,788

    Your settings look fine, have you disabled CPU Spread Spectrum?
    If your temps are fine, why are you so concerned about the voltage?
    My chip also requires more Vcore than I see others reporting, but I can live with that.
    Running with all 4 dimms populated will put more stress on the IMC, but nothing Ivy can't handle.
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    35

    Thank you for the response. Yes it is disabled.

    Well it's because in order to reach 4.5GHz I'm going to need more than 1.30 voltage. To the point where I'll be in the 80's in prime.

    In your opinion would a 4.3GHz Ivy 3770k be faster than a 4.5GHz Sandy of the equivalent CPU since clock for clock Ivy is faster?

    Thank you again!

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,788

    Quote Originally Posted by Improv View Post
    Thank you for the response. Yes it is disabled.

    Well it's because in order to reach 4.5GHz I'm going to need more than 1.30 voltage. To the point where I'll be in the 80's in prime.

    In your opinion would a 4.3GHz Ivy 3770k be faster than a 4.5GHz Sandy of the equivalent CPU since clock for clock Ivy is faster?

    Thank you again!
    Absolutely, clock for clock, Ivy is 10-15% faster than Sandy.
    I get about the same benchmark scores with my 3770K@ 4.5GHz compared to 2700K@ 5.0GHz.
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    35

    Awesome thank you so much!

    So I've got the comp stable with 14 hours and 30 minutes of large ftt prime95, 20 runs of Intel burn test, 3 passes for memtest.

    You think small fft and blend is necessary after all this?

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,788

    My overclocks must pass all benchmark runs and gaming before I deem them 24/7 stable.
    Others do video editing as a measure of system stability as well.
    Personally, I don't think Prime blend test stresses the system enough.
    I use Hyper Pi 32M religiously, especially on initial CPU overclock testing.
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    35

    Hmm...I'm trying to find that HyperPi program but I don't think I can find the official site.

    Just other download links with .99 beta version or something.

    Mind sharing the link please? Thank you!

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Quote Originally Posted by Improv View Post
    Hmm...I'm trying to find that HyperPi program but I don't think I can find the official site.

    Just other download links with .99 beta version or something.

    Mind sharing the link please? Thank you!
    That is the latest one for the moment.

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    35

    Thanks! And just one final question.

    Just noticed when I tested the large fft for about 14 hours I didn't have SUM error checking and Round off checking ticked.

    Is it necessary for me to redo the test with those checked?

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array nikosa43's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    73
    Posts
    1,014

    Hi Improv, can you post a link to the site of the manufacteur, for your RAM type specs? Do you setup XMP or manual settings? Also what is your BIOS revision.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •