Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Maximus V Formula: Can't change BCLK no matter what!

    Am I doing something wrong here? I set it to XMP and then change the BCLK and then save. In the bios it shows the change but as soon as I hit Windows, its back at 100 BCLK rather than what I set it at. I also have BCLK protection turned off. Is my motherboard defective or am I missing something?

    Here's some screenshots:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	130405104737.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	158.4 KB 
ID:	19316Click image for larger version. 

Name:	130405104743.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	138.9 KB 
ID:	19317Click image for larger version. 

Name:	130405104754.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	151.4 KB 
ID:	19318Click image for larger version. 

Name:	130405104759.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	145.8 KB 
ID:	19319

  2. #2

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    No, should it even be needed?

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,788

    No, do not install Al Suite.
    What bios version did you upgrade from?
    You could have residual memory left over from a previous bios in your chip.
    Did you clear the CMOS? Try removing the mobo battery for about 20 min.
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array ph4ntom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    46

    what bios ver. u'r using ?? had similar problem, no matter what i did in BIOS with BCLK it was stuck. WIN7 was showing 99.8 and the AI Suite was showing BCLK at 0.
    after a week or 2 my bios crashed. bios ver. was 1604
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...5295-Bus-Speed

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,358

    Joker, why do you want to change the BCLK if you already setup the XMP?!

    Changing BCLK will change your RAM frequency too... - perhaps that's why is switching back to 100 if you choose the XMP settings...

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    The bios I upgraded from was 1604. @Zk17 yes I'm aware it changes memory frequency but the ram can easily handle it. It should not switch back to 100 because BCLK recovery is disabled. When I get home I'll try pulling the battery and see if it makes a difference, so far this is extremely frustrating. Another issue I have with the board is sometimes it doesn't save the settings in bios and I have to clear the CMOS and then put them in.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,358

    It is switching back because XMP settings are meaning that BCLK=100...

    I can assure you that your RAM will not handle it... You set XMP, which means 2133MHz, CL10 on 1.52DRAM Voltage, then you raise BCLK to 105 resulting the the speed to go up to 2239MHz without changing the voltage - and you expect it to work?! It won't...

    Set the Ai Tuner to Manual if you want to play around with BCLK...

    But most importantly, read some guides about OC'ing that platform, like this one: http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...untry=&status=

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,788

    There's minimal performance gain by overclocking memory.
    In my many years of overclocking experience, it's not worth the hassle.
    Bios settings not being saved is a known issue with previous, more recent bios versions.
    It has not been officially confirmed that 1707 has fixed this issue, but it looks promising.
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by Zka17 View Post
    It is switching back because XMP settings are meaning that BCLK=100...

    I can assure you that your RAM will not handle it... You set XMP, which means 2133MHz, CL10 on 1.52DRAM Voltage, then you raise BCLK to 105 resulting the the speed to go up to 2239MHz without changing the voltage - and you expect it to work?! It won't...

    Set the Ai Tuner to Manual if you want to play around with BCLK...

    But most importantly, read some guides about OC'ing that platform, like this one: http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...untry=&status=

    It's 2133 MHz memory rated at 1.5v. It can easily handle 100 MHz bump. In the manual it lists no issues with changing bclk with xmp set, I think you should recheck your own info. Even without xmp set the board behaves in the same manner. I shouldn't need software to change bclk, the bios should hold those changes.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •