Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array BenchAndGames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    VCCIO and VCCSA question !!

    I have a one question for the teachers on this site !

    I have an i7-3770K overclocked to 4.4 Ghz + Asus Maximus V Formula , and until now, had some memories of 1866 Mhz.
    The VCCIO and VCCSA voltages are set to auto ( and in the bios I showed a normal voltage recommended by Intel )

    Now I have a TritendX at 2600 MHz (10-12-12-31-2t, 1.65v ) XMP, and the system seems stable for now, but one thing I do not understand.

    VCCIO and VCCSA voltages are set to auto, but now with these new memories, in the bios, the voltage is larger than the table here.



    The motherboard bios show me on VCCIO 1.26v and VCCSA 1.17v. And DRAM voltaje 1.67 ( and I have since manually 1.65v )

    Really these voltages are real, and I have to worry, or not, because these are the voltages needed to operate the 2600MHz frequency ?

    Or really the motherboard, does not show the correct voltages.

    What I can do, because really the system seems stable for now, and the temperature of the CPU are within the limit.

    EDIT for correct voltages !
    Last edited by BenchAndGames; 04-10-2013 at 11:04 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    183
    Posts
    8,327

    Well, when just selecting the XMP settings, then some presets will be loaded... those presets usually are a little bit more generous with the voltages, just to make sure that most of the systems will work...

    What I'm doing is, first set the XMP, save and restart - then note down the voltages... then change the Ai Tuner to Manual, and set those voltages what you noted down before... make sure your system is still working/is stable... - then start decreasing the voltages, one at a time... and continue checking if your system is still stable...

  3. #3
    Banned Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    635

    ... IF those voltages are real your CPU will die soon ... have checked with multi-meter using ProbeIt and ez read points on the board?

    eeee, VCCSA at 1.6-1.7V !!?? that CPU should be dead already ... actually I killed one with VCCIO & VCCSA @ 1.35V on air half a year ago ...

    I'd say that 1.25V is already a stretch, try setting VCCIO & VCCSA @ 1.15v manually, if that is unstable go for 1.20V that should do it for 2600MHz.

    just to make sure, have you tried loading XMP Profile #2? that is what usually G.Skill sticks use for performance mode.

    have you tried to reset CMOS yet?

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array BenchAndGames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    Yes, I tried putting XMP1 and XMP2, and manually, and the bios shows me the same values​​.

    I try this night reset CMOS, or try to set these values ​​manually and look for voltage stability.

  5. #5
    Banned Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    635

    which BIOS are you running? anything older than 1707?

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array BenchAndGames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    Oh sorry, I was wrong, I'm crazy, not 1.6v-1.7v, is 1.26-1.27v, that madness, y edited now my post.

    I run 1707 bios version. Now I boot my PC with manually on 1.15v VCCIO/VCCSA just need to cheack the stability.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    183
    Posts
    8,327

    LOL, 1.26-1.27V sound much better... But yes, see if you can lower those manually...

  8. #8
    Banned Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    635

    that sounds much better

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array BenchAndGames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    And I was wrong again, lol, I find it funny because the really my fails is positive.

    The VCCIO with XMP1/XMP2 and manually is 1.264v
    The VCCSA with XMP1/XMP2 and manually is 1.170v ( not 1.26-1.27 )
    The vDRAM with XMP1/XMP2 and manually is 1.67v ( not 1.76 )

    Better, I leave the opportunity that you see yourself, because it seems that I have the memory of a fish.



    So with these voltages, there is still some risk to my CPU which is cooled with a H100 ?
    Now seeing the actual voltages automated, I see that only the VCCIO is larger than the table limit.
    Last edited by BenchAndGames; 04-10-2013 at 11:04 PM.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    183
    Posts
    8,327

    Just a simple idea... put manually those voltages where the "Auto" is now and see what color will turn... - black would be perfectly safe, yellow is moderate and red is high... I guess, they will be OK...

    I would try (just to see) to set VCCSA to 1.15V, VCCIO to 1.15, CPU PLL to max 1.8V - but with this you could try to go even lower to 1.65-1.7V... then test your system if it's still stable...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •