Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    G75VW Upgrade to 3940XM

    Hey guys. I got my G75WV from BestBuy and it's a GTX 660M version. I have couple questions.

    1.I'm doing render and editing video. I want to change my processor to 3940XM but I did read some problems about the power of 3940XM is 55W and G75 supports 45W? Can I do that upgrade?

    2.Also GTX 660M is a dope card for gaming notebooks. For now I don't have to chance to buy a desktop. And I was curious about can I change my video card to GTX 675MX or 680M? I heard G75 not using a standard MXM slot but I'm not sure how true is this rumor. Can I upgrade it or not?

    3. In box there wasn't a Windows 8 recovery image or something about Win8. Now I got a Corsair Neutron 256GB SATA III SSD and I want to install my Win8 to SSD. How can I do that? I have some important info on HDD and I don't want to delete.

    Thanks for answers. Have a god day.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    64

    Great question I would also like to know I have the 3740 in mine I wanted to put the 3840 but money got a little tight when upgrading I wish I could do it now but I don't want to give up my pc for like 2 weeks or how ever long hidevolution take to modify it but since I have the 3740 it would be pointless to upgrade to the 3840 so I thought may be just go for the 3940 since its the best that hid has to offer right now for our model and plus it is around a grand cost so maybe next year for income taxes I can upr grade it to the 3940 and NVidia 670mx and 2 512 vetex4 ssd drives just for the heck of it.
    Asus G75VW-DS71
    i7-3740qm
    Nvidia GTX 660m
    16gb ddr3 1866mhz Corsair Vengeance
    x2 128gb SSD Vertex 4 Raid 0
    Windows 7 Ultimate

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array HK-47's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    304

    The processor would work in the laptop but it would be kind of waste of money to get the 3960x. It is a extreme series chip and has a unlocked multiplier but the bios in your laptop does not allow for adjustments. Even when you try to use Intels extreme tunning application to Overclock it all the options are greyed out. Also the cooling system of your laptop is designed for 45w TDP processor, the 3940XM is a 55w TDP chip. You could run into cooling issues with the chip. I would go with a 3840qm or 3740qm they will work without issues. I choose the 3740qm to replace the original I5 chip. My temps are in the 35-40deg idle range and max I have seen encoding video was 68 deg. This is in a g46 though not sure how much difference the cooling system is on G75.
    -Desktop-
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme / I7 3960x @ 4.5 ghz / 16GB Corsair Vengeance 2133 (CMZ8GX3M2A2133C11R) / 1x Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD / WD 500GB drive / 3x 7970 MSI @ 1175/1600 / Corsair AX1200 PSU / Thermaltake Level 10 GT case / H100 Cooler / Aerocool 2000 fan contoler / Win7 x64 Pro / Asus VE278Q(2) Ausu VK278Q(1) Monitors arranged 3x1 Eyefinity @ 6000x1080 Res.

    -Laptop-
    Asus G46vw I7-3740qm / 128GB Crucial mSATA boot drive / 720gb data drive / Windows 7 x64

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Actually the cooling system is really good. In games or rendering the temp hits max 50deg. But yeah the concerns about 3940XM confuses my head. What about my 2. and 3. question? Actually I really need 3.questions answer a.s.a.p .

  5. #5
    Recognized Troll Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    316

    The Intel Turbo-boost won't work properly with a 55watt chip, the best you can install is a 3840qm
    G75VW-DS73-3D | 670m 3GB | 32GB RAM | 1TB RAID-0 2 x 830 512GB SSD DualBoot | Killer-N 1103 WiFi

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    What about this question: 3. In box there wasn't a Windows 8 recovery image or something about Win8. Now I got a Corsair Neutron 256GB SATA III SSD and I want to install my Win8 to SSD. How can I do that? I have some important info on HDD and I don't want to delete.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    64

    To creat an image go into the Microsoft recovery settings and click the link for creating an image and a recovery disc those are built in features in your Microsoft os your best bet is to install a fresh copy of windows 8 and then run the driver disk that came with your laptop your key is valid and you can use it on a fresh install to make it like new again your laptop comes with 2 hard drive bays so you can put your old hard drive in the other slot and then copy all your files that you want to your new ssd make sure your ssd has the latest firmware also so as far as I know you will have to create your own recovery disc wich will be good cause it will be of the latest once you install your ssd
    Asus G75VW-DS71
    i7-3740qm
    Nvidia GTX 660m
    16gb ddr3 1866mhz Corsair Vengeance
    x2 128gb SSD Vertex 4 Raid 0
    Windows 7 Ultimate

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Sorry you're late I already started proceed of reseting hdd. I copied my important info to ssd for now. After reseting I will clone the drives.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •