Level 7
hello asus member! sorry for being newbie 😞

i just build my rig last night and i really need some help about the following:

1. every time i turn my pc on i always get this msg:
Asmedia 106X SATA Controller Ver 0.93 AHCI Mode
S.M.A.R.T. Supported
Using PCIE Gen 2
Can't find any device.

2.how do i know that i have the latest bios and do i really need to update it?

3.im not really in to overclocking because i have no knowledge on it, i just need to set up my bios in a decent set up.

4.is this complicated and bad to my set up?as you can see on my signature that i have a 2x 4gb pc 12800 but then my OS is a window7 32 bit only. and my ram says 3.21 gb only.

thats it for now and please be patient on me:)

Mobo: Crosshair V Formula v 990fx
CPU: Phenom II 1090T x6
CPU Cooler: corsair H60
GPU: XFX Radeon HD 6950 XXX BE
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) pc12800
HDD: Ocz agility2 SSD 90G
PSU: Ultra X4 1000W +80 Gold
bios ver: 0506
case: cooler master HAF932
14 REPLIES 14

Sp33d_Junki3
Level 8
Says, Cant find device, as you dont have anything plugged into that port. Its the sata port that is not with the 6. its that single one in the bottom. Just go into your bios and disbale Asmedia sata port.
I advise you get windows 64bit, 32bit will only ever see 3-3.5Gb of ram. You need 64bit if you want to see more than 4GB.
Before you do any OC, you need to first get a 64bit OS, as it will affect your OC in windows.

There is a bios guide sticky, check it out.
ASUS-Crosshair-V-Formula-BIOS-Guide-Overclocking

Next, need to learn about cable management. Making your system looks nice and increase airflow. Routing your cables behind you mobo is the best way of doing this.
As a side not, 1K PSU, is over kill for your system, unless your planning to run more than 2 cards. Also best to flip the PSU the other way around, that way nothing can fall into your PSU, and cause damage or problems.