Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Henkenator68NL PC Specs
    Henkenator68NL PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 5960X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Ripjaws V
    Graphics Card #1R9-290X
    Graphics Card #2R9-290X Matrix Platinum
    Graphics Card #3HD 6970
    Graphics Card #4HD 5970
    MonitorAcer Predator XB720H 144herz 1ms
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 850 1TB
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Watercooled loop
    CaseCooler Master HAFX and Storm Stryker
    Power SupplySeasonic Gold 1250W
    Keyboard Logitech G19
    Mouse RAT 7
    Headset Logitech G35
    Mouse Pad Steel series
    Headset/Speakers Logitech X 5.1 Surround
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Henkenator68NL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    118
    Posts
    744

    Question Wierd benchmark results Windows 8

    Hellow fellow ROG Supreme OC team mates,

    I have been fiddling with my bench system. I was curious to see if Windows 8 was any base for some benching.

    I did some runs that where -for me that is- not to bad.


    I had just installed a new custom water cooling set (after using just stock-air) and did a few 3DMARK03 runs, the benchmark results were getting better and better. I should have guessed that If it looks too good to be true ... it probably is. But I was busy being happy with it.


    But when entering a huge single card score on a 3dmark03 on HWBOt and to the competition (HWBOT Team Cup 2013 - SC2: 3DMark03 Single GPU Historical Battle) complaints started comming in. Which were completely correct, the scores were abnormally high. So I have withdrawn the score from the competition and removed the score.


    I did the runs again (as suggested by Chino), scores where varying like crazy and also again some were way over 170K scores. I double checked but there is no setting wrong. I hate foul play and do not want any suspicion of committing foul play myself. So there seems to be some bugg that causes these abnormal scores.

    It looks like it that this only happens in Windows 8, but I will have to do more comparison tests to back this up.


    So guys what are your experiences –if any- with Windows 8 for benching? Other ideas, suggestions etc are more than welcome.


    Kind regards,


    Henk

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,358

    Well, I haven't got to try Windows 8 yet... so, sorry, but can not really help on this one...

    But really curious what is happening there...

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array flexnl PC Specs
    flexnl PC Specs
    Motherboardrampage v extreme
    Processor5820k
    Memory (part number)dom plats 3200mhz
    Graphics Card #1GTX980 TI
    Storage #1samsung 960 EVO
    CPU CoolerNZXT x52
    Casethermaltake vieuw
    Mouse asus sica
    OS win 10
    flexnl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    431

    Ihad the same thing henk
    do you have dual or triple screen setup by any chance?
    and during the run...does your screen go black at all?

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    There are known issues with 3Dmark03 and both Windows7 and Windows8 - the best OS for 03 is XP.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Henkenator68NL PC Specs
    Henkenator68NL PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 5960X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Ripjaws V
    Graphics Card #1R9-290X
    Graphics Card #2R9-290X Matrix Platinum
    Graphics Card #3HD 6970
    Graphics Card #4HD 5970
    MonitorAcer Predator XB720H 144herz 1ms
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 850 1TB
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Watercooled loop
    CaseCooler Master HAFX and Storm Stryker
    Power SupplySeasonic Gold 1250W
    Keyboard Logitech G19
    Mouse RAT 7
    Headset Logitech G35
    Mouse Pad Steel series
    Headset/Speakers Logitech X 5.1 Surround
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Henkenator68NL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    118
    Posts
    744

    Hi Flexje,

    Quote Originally Posted by flexnl View Post
    Ihad the same thing henk
    do you have dual or triple screen setup by any chance?

    No I only have one monitor connected to that PC

    and during the run...does your screen go black at all?
    Yes I saw some flickering or blackscreens, but in other runs it just finished as normal, but scores where somewhere in range from 120k to 170k -> crazy !! It did only happen to me in Win8.

    @HiVizMan:
    I am reinstalling the stripped XP, so next few runs on XP!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •