cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Maximus V Extreme: CPU just got really hot and shut everything down!

ToddJW
Level 7
Hello ROG,

I just recently built a new desktop for the first time so I'm a bit of a newb. Apologies if I posted something that has been touchedon many times. I couldn't seem to find anything directly related with my exact same issue.

Anyway, I've had the system up and running for about a month and everything seemed to running great. Before I get into more details heres my build specs:

Case: Cooler Master Cosmos II
MOBO: Asus Maximus V Extreme
CPU: Intel Ivy i7-3770k (not overclocked yet)
GPU: Asus Nvidia GTX 680 DirectCU II TOP
RAM: Corsair Dominator Platinum 16gb 2133mHz
CPU Cooler: Corsair H110
PSU: Corsair 860i
SSD: Samsung 840 Pro Series 256gb
HDD: WD Black 2TB
Monitor: Asus VG278HE 144hz

Nothing has been overclocked (except for gpu stock from factory) and my system showed no signs of anything being wrong till today... Al suit II notified me earlier today of an extreme cpu temp which was at 71 degrees C. I'll admit I ignored it because Al Suite II has been giving me whack readings ever since I installed it. It usually tells me my fans arent running when they are and that my mobo is negative 31 degrees celcius. I read in the forums that this is typical when running with gpu/cpu tweak. Not sure on this issue? But anyway, my PC was just running idol and all of a sudden it beeped loudly and shut down. I took off my case door to see which code it was throwing and heard my cooler making bubble noises (boiling?) and seen it was throwing multiple codes. before I can note them it tried to reboot itself and shut down again. I touched the cpu cooler cap/top and it almost burned my hand. I waited for it to cool back down and tried to boot up but now its not detecting my hdmi so i have no picture and its just throwing a 55 code, which is "memory not installed."