Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    ASUS VX7SX - Need some advice about my Nvidia GTX 560M

    A good afternoon to you all, mates. My question is nothing of much notice, but i'm curious.

    I've received my new Asus VX7 after RMAing my previous laptop (a VX7 too), and I ran many games with good fps, like Crysis 2, Deus Ex 3, Dead Island, etc etc.

    With my new laptop, i seem to have some fps problems. I'm using the Nvidia driver 314.07. Should i not be able to play games like, lets say, Neverwinter, in full screen resolution of 1920x1080, at least in medium settings ?


    Thank you for your time.

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    2,441

    could you try install new driver to try again? before RMA have not fps problem? why are you send to service center to RMA?

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    I've installed the most recent nvidia graphic drivers, 314.07, 314.22, and 320.00. I'm now running 314.22, but didn't see any improvement in my fps. I'm running Throttlestop too, so my PC won't downtrottle.

    Before RMA i didn't have any fps problem, but that PC broke a while ago, and ASUS gave me a new one instead.

    Again, the question stands. Maybe my problem stands with running games at 1920x1080 resolution ?

  4. #4
    Super Moderator - Coderat Array Nodens PC Specs
    Nodens PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS GL702VW-GC004T
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel 3930K C2
    Memory (part number)CMZ16GX3M4X2133C11
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX970-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorASUS VG278H
    Storage #13x OCZ Vertex 3 240 (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    Storage #23x WD2003FYYS (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i + 4x Noctua NF-P12
    CaseCoolermaster HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-1250
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterLinksys E4200v2 (running TomatoUSB/Toastman firmware)
    Nodens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    4,389

    Are you using the DX9 or DX11 render path in Neverwinter? Also is this issue reproducible with any other game?
    RAMPAGE Windows 8/7 UEFI Installation Guide - Patched OROM for TRIM in RAID - Patched UEFI GOP Updater Tool - ASUS OEM License Restorer
    There are 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't!

    RealBench Developer.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    DX9 render path, it seems.

    In other games, i'll say the example of Deus Ex 3. The game ran fluently at 60 fps in my late PC, at 1920x1080 res, but now it slows down to 30-35 fps sometimes.

  6. #6
    AntiMatter Guru ROG Array chrsplmr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Reputation
    295
    Posts
    6,113

    I would check in that games forum to see if it is a known issue
    and if a workaround exists ..

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Just installed Need for Speed Most Wanted 2 on my laptop, and when previously i didn't tinker with the graphical options and it ran well and without stutter, now the frame rates go from 15 to 30 fps tops.

  8. #8

  9. #9
    Super Moderator - Coderat Array Nodens PC Specs
    Nodens PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS GL702VW-GC004T
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel 3930K C2
    Memory (part number)CMZ16GX3M4X2133C11
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX970-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorASUS VG278H
    Storage #13x OCZ Vertex 3 240 (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    Storage #23x WD2003FYYS (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i + 4x Noctua NF-P12
    CaseCoolermaster HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-1250
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterLinksys E4200v2 (running TomatoUSB/Toastman firmware)
    Nodens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    4,389

    See indeed if VSync is enabled. Neverwinter is still in open beta and there may be issues with it but you're reporting other games as well. If your framerate jumps from 15 to 30 and back, Vsync is on for sure. Disable it.
    RAMPAGE Windows 8/7 UEFI Installation Guide - Patched OROM for TRIM in RAID - Patched UEFI GOP Updater Tool - ASUS OEM License Restorer
    There are 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't!

    RealBench Developer.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Disabled V-Sync in Nvidia panel, but NFS still locks down from 40 fps to 20. Maybe i'll need to lower the graphics a bit ?

    Edit: Even lowering all graphics in NFS:MW results in frame drops, which never happened before. After leaving the game, WIndows asks if I want to disable Windows Aero, due to the lack of resources. First time that happened whilst playing.

    Edit2: I've rollbacked my drivers to 311.00 and updated my Throttlestop profile, and it seems i've gained fps. NFS:MW runs at 30-40 fps without going lower. I'll give updates later with other games tested. Thanks for your time mates.
    Last edited by Blazerdust; 05-10-2013 at 03:55 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •