Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Post [MVF] Boot loop - Motherboard boots for 3 seconds and turns off -> repeats endlessly

    Hi.

    I just bought the Maximus V Formula motherboard, and it seemed awesome.

    However

    After installing it into my chassis and turning it on, aswell as the computer, it seemed to go into a boot loop, as I would call it. It starts, nothing on screen, 2 - 3 seconds later, it turns off. Two seconds later, it restarts. And this goes on and on.

    I found a couple of threads
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...untry=&status=
    and such

    I have even tried to take out the battery and waited a minute before placing it back on the motherboard.

    I have also tried to unplug every connection, GPU, CPU etc, and put it back on. Didn't work. Then I tried to update the BIOS for 1707. Did also not work. This board seems bricked in my eyes.

    My setup:
    Chassis: R4
    nVidia 560Ti
    I5 2500 (upgrading this soon)
    Corsair XMS 1866mHz CMZ8GX3M2A1866C9 (compatible)


    Any suggestions? I'm really considering to get a new one through guaranties, but not before I've tried this forum.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array limitz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    54

    Try Breadboarding all the components outside chassis. Google the terminology.
    I had a similar problem you are having and it turned out my CPU was shot and so had it RMA'd.
    Maximus V Formula | i7 3770K | Windows 8 Pro x64 | Corsair H100 | Corsair 1050HX | Corsair GT 120 SSD x2 RAID 0 | Corsair GT DDR3 8GB | EVGA GTX 580 | Asus Xonar Essence STX | Corsair 800D

    - "Closed mouths do not get fed"

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,247

    Welcome to the Republic of Gamers forum, xylles.

    Did you install the MPCIe card? If so, try removing it for now and see if your system will posts.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,788

    Any motherboard error codes displayed during the brief attempt to post?
    Try posting with only one stick of memory installed, in the slot furthest from the CPU.
    Check the CPU socket for bent or broken pins.
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Quote Originally Posted by NemesisChild View Post
    Any motherboard error codes displayed during the brief attempt to post?
    Try posting with only one stick of memory installed, in the slot furthest from the CPU.
    Check the CPU socket for bent or broken pins.
    None of the error codes displays. The Q-codes won't even show. I have tried using one RAM slot aswell, as the manual suggests.

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Welcome to the Republic of Gamers forum, xylles.

    Did you install the MPCIe card? If so, try removing it for now and see if your system will posts.
    I will try this when I get back home tomorrow. You'll get an update on this then.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Okay, so it seems that my CPU has said its goodbyes during its transfer from my old motherboard, as I tried running it on my old motherboard and I got the same result.

    Before this, I tried running it without the multi card.

    Thanks for the tips guys. I will be getting a new CPU, and if I appear in the same situation as earlier (yey me then), I'll update this thread.

    Again; Thanks!

  7. #7

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    50

    before you blame the cpu , try to power the board without cpu and see if the same is happening .
    change power supply .

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,788

    Quote Originally Posted by sstephan View Post
    before you blame the cpu , try to power the board without cpu and see if the same is happening .
    change power supply .
    Agreed, sounds like a PSU gone bad, very unlikely a defective CPU.
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Quote Originally Posted by sstephan View Post
    before you blame the cpu , try to power the board without cpu and see if the same is happening .
    change power supply .
    Quote Originally Posted by NemesisChild View Post
    Agreed, sounds like a PSU gone bad, very unlikely a defective CPU.
    I'm not sure how the PSU could cause the problem. The LED besides its PIN-connector lights red whenever it's plugged in and is turned on, but whenever I turn the motherboard on, it boots for 3 seconds, then turns itself off. The motherboard itself is shining red when the PSU is on.

    However, I tried booting without the CPU, and I get the exact same result with both motherboards. My previous Gigabyte card is booting as well, however for one second. When CPU is equipped; same.

    So I assume it's the CPU. Right?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •