Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    51

    Maximus IV Gene-Z/GEN3 Xeon E3 1230 V2

    Hi I was just wondering if the Maximus IV Gene-Z/GEN3 will support a Xeon E3-1230 V2 CPU. It's not shown on the CPU support list but I think I remember reading somewhere it is supported?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    FCLGA1155 socket and yes it most certainly does.

    Not too much overclocking with this CPU but maybe that is not what you need or want.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    51

    Great! thanks for confirming. This will be my second rig and my second Maximus IV Gene-Z . I'm going to put together a smaller build mainly to use as a rendering box. Price/performance/power consumption of the E3-1230 v2 seems spot on and just what I'm looking for. I'm not too fussed about overclocking but I'll maybe have a go anyway. If I can gain anything through it's BCLK without bumping voltage then I'll be quite happy

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    That is exactly what this CPU is good at. You enjoy.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Planning on using this proc in a Maximus V GENE build for a friend. I'm just wondering what limitations, if any, there would be?

    The product page for the mobo says:
    *Since Xeon CPU is not desktop CPU model, some feature may not able to work on this combination. For detail, refer to support.asus.com
    However I couldn't find anything regarding this on the support site. I know this CPU is basically a high-end i5/low-end i7 with no onboard graphics but I don't see what other features would suffer by using it. Mobo features or CPU features? Which ones?

    The final build in question will be used for both gaming and video/picture editing, maybe some rendering as well. I'm attracted by the benchmarks, the price, even the TDP is ideal since it'll be in a SFF case. Seems like an all-round winner of a CPU.

    Also sorry for posting in an old thread, figured starting a new one was worse.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Dante start your own thread mate. We are not like other forums, here we just want to help folks. More people will see your question and be able to help you.

    I do not have one of those CPU's so can not test or comment for you.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •