Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    alphonsas
    Guest

    Unhappy Recognizing memory incorectly on G53JW

    Hi,

    I sent in my laptop with 8GB ram for rma after I had issue with my DC pin.They fixed it and sent it back. However, now it just shows 4GB in BIOS as well in system properties, dxdiag,... But it shows 8gb in CPUZ. After I talked to the tech rep, flashed my Bios to 211. There was no difference. I also reseated the RAM.
    The maximum memory is not checked in msconfig.

    Anyone else having this issue? Please help!

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    alphonsas
    Guest

    update

    I switched rams between slots : put the 4GB one in place of the stock 2GB near the HD...
    It now shows 6GB in the bios and in the system..but CPUZ still detects the 2GB ram under the keyboard.
    So, the rams are all working fine. I still dont understand why BIOS doesnt detect the ram but CPUZ does. >.>

  3. #3
    TeamROG Notebook Member Array Chastity@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    1,334

    Open up msconfig.exe and go to the Boot tab. Then hit Advanced Options. Check and see if "Maximum Memory" is active. If so, untick it.

    Also, you need to pair up the 2 2GB sticks in the same bank. Put the 4GB one in it's own bank. I don't have my G53JW here anymore, so I can't tell you which ones to use, but iirc, slots 1 and 2 are bank 1, and 3 and 4 are bank 2. Ideally, you want the 2 2GB sticks in Bank 1, and the 4GB in Bank 2. (1, 2 and 3 slots)
    Kicking Ass Since Today

  4. #4
    alphonsas
    Guest
    The maximum memory is unticked. already checked that. Do you think its regarding the 211 release? coz i think they updated my bios. That seems to be they only change. It was workin perfectly fine before I sent my laptop to RMA. Do you know when they are going to release the new bios version?

  5. #5
    TeamROG Notebook Member Array Chastity@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    1,334

    If you think it was the flash, just go into the BIOS and reset it to defaults, to clear the CMOS. If that doesn't work, you can roll back using EasyFlash in the BIOS. Just don't load the rom from NTFS.
    Kicking Ass Since Today

Similar Threads

  1. G53JW
    By 2shae in forum ROG Gaming Notebooks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-17-2011, 04:53 PM
  2. mobo not recognizing ram /cant get in touch with asus
    By rayabbott30 in forum Other Series Motherboards
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-07-2011, 05:19 PM
  3. G53JW Help please
    By ZiPPeR in forum ROG Gaming Notebooks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-28-2011, 09:45 PM
  4. G53jw memory upgrade
    By pbot in forum ROG Gaming Notebooks
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-22-2011, 02:25 AM
  5. Problem recognizing my C300 64gb ssd with Asus Rampage 3 Formula.
    By itwl in forum Other Series Motherboards
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-20-2011, 09:58 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •