Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array JDRhoads's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    50

    Locked Framerate (60 fps) why?

    Why do people argue with me all the time that I cannot possibly notice anything past 60 frames per second. I opened up eve online and the first thing I *****ed about was the lack of video response. I turned on my frame count and the game was obviously locked at 60. The help chat told me how to turn that off but it was pointless and a waste of GPU. Said I only imagine a difference. Yet the response time, and feel of the game, is totally different when I switch between the two functions. I might be young, I have 19 / 19 vision (or at least used too). But why do people INSIST I CANNOT POSSIBLY notice any difference. Drives me nuts!
    Operating System : Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit)
    Motherboard : Asus Maximus V Formula
    Processor : Intel i7 3770k @ 3.5Ghz Turbo boosted to 3.9Ghz
    Video : EVGA Geforce GTX 780 ACX Cooler Edition
    Memory : 16gb @ 1866

    Hard drives : 120gb SSD (Primary)
    750gb (secondary)
    500gb (secondary)


  2. #2
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,112

    we all have our opinion's.
    well it all comes down to the monitor you are using.
    lets say its a 60hz monitor/tv, whit that you will not get enny more then 60fps max, even how mutch you try.
    if you have a 144hz monitor you will get 144fps as max, and not more ( this is how mutch the monitor gives you ).
    lets say you have a TV that says you have a 1200hz refresh rate, but in the specs when you connect a pc you have 60hz, you will not get more then 60fps, befouse the "pc" on the tv takes that frame and flashes it several times so it comes up to 1200 times a sec. ( this is how i think it is ).
    ive been mailing back and forth to tv makers on refresh rate and ping from pc to tv, and i dont get enny smarter to so say.

  3. #3
    Here is my ROG title Array Granger PC Specs
    Granger PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair Formula V
    ProcessorPhenom II 1100T
    Memory (part number)G-Skill RipjawsX 2x4Gb@1838Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire HD7970 OC VaporX
    MonitorSamsung Syncmaster 2253LW + 2 Packard Bell 19.5" vga
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 850EVO 250gb
    Storage #2250gb SSD + 4 HD 3Tb total + NAS 3Tb
    CPU CoolerSwiftech custom loop
    CaseCoolerMaster HAF 932 modified
    Power SupplyCoolermaster SilentPro Hybrid 1300W
    Keyboard Razer Black Widow Ultimate
    Mouse Razer Ourobouros
    Headset Razer Tiamat 7.1
    Mouse Pad Razer Exact Mat
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterISP provided (Free)
    Accessory #1 Razer Hydra
    Accessory #2 Madcatz Arcade Fightstick
    Accessory #3 Belkin n52te
    Granger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    419

    Not sure about this, I know from my CoD 4 days that the FPS was locked at under 90FPS
    Now unlocking the FPS in CoD 4 (I used to play mine on 250fps) enabled you to do things in game that were not possible on sub 90fps settings (which is why a lot of servers would kick you if you were using fps settings over 125fps)
    An example was the concrete blocks, you couldn't just jump over them on sub 90fps, but over 150fps, you could jump over them without being hindered. It also enabled you to reach some places that you couldn't reach otherwise.

    I honestly don't know how having a higher fps rate in that game enabled you to jump higher, but it worked, and for a lot of people. Also, I haven't experienced a difference in any other games.

    I would like more info on the fps rate against hz as my monitor is a 60hz, yet I am able to get fps rates much higher than 60 (using fraps or ingame fps monitor its the same, on older games, I can get extremely high fps rates)


  4. #4
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,112

    VSYNC (or V-sync) is shortform for Vertical synchronization.

    In video games, if you rapidly turn around, you will experience a phenomenon called 'screen tearing'.
    Imagine a pole in the game, and if you turn quickly, instead of the entire pole moving past your field of view, only the lower or upper half moves, while the other half stays there for a split second, and then moves away as well.
    This phenomenon is caused if your graphic card is working faster than the refresh rate of your monitor.
    Turning VSYNC on tells the graphic card to not produce updated imagery (frames) any faster than your monitor's screen rate (usually 60 - 75Hz; 120 Hz )

    ...thereby "dropping" the frames down to whatever your monitor's maximum display rate is, eliminating the screen tearing.
    Last edited by kkn; 05-12-2013 at 12:30 PM.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Pratham's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    163

    kkn...really informative! Thanks!
    I have Asus PA238Q and it has Signal frequency 50-75Hz specified in the manual http://in.asus.com/Display/LCD_Monit...specifications
    but I only see two options 59Hz & 60Hz. I am happy with just 60hz...but it's just feels wrong that your monitor can't go higher than that...I like to brag about my PC specs to friends. Is there anything I am missing?...I am using Display port@ 1920x1080 native res

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array ganji PC Specs
    ganji PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Z87 Sabertooth
    Processori7 4770k
    Memory (part number)GSkill TridentX 2400MHz CL10 PC3-19200
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 980ti ACX 2.0 SC+
    Graphics Card #2EVGA 980ti ACX 2.0 SC+
    MonitorAsus VG28QE x3
    Storage #1Crucial BX100 256Gb
    Storage #2Samsung 840 Evo 250Gb
    CPU CoolerEK Predator 240
    CaseCorsair AIR 540
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova P2 1000w
    Keyboard Coolermaster quickfire pro
    Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
    Headset Roccat Kave XTD
    Headset/Speakers Corsair SP2500
    OS Win 10 Pro
    ganji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    71
    Posts
    901

    Fps monitoring software such as fraps, bandicam and msi afterburner measure the fps at the gpu/ driver so not the actual fps you're seeing on your monitor. I'm pretty sure thats how it works.

  7. #7
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,112

    put on vsync and you get the FPS your monitor gives you.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array BearCat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    26
    Posts
    73

    Then why do we bother with 2 or 3 high end GPU's if we're limited to seeing 60FPS? We could get by with 1 medium priced one.
    Intel 3930k, Asus Rampage iv Formula, Enermax 1250 EVO Galaxy, Corsair CML16GX3M4X1600C8 Low Profile 4 x 4GB, 150 gig VelociRaptor(32meg), Crucial M500 240GB SSD, 750 gig wd Caviar, 2x Sapphire HD 7970, LG Blu-ray burner,Corsair 600T case, Swiftech H220x Cooler, Bios 1305, Win7 Pro 64bit, Samsung S27A850DS Monitor 2560x1440

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Quote Originally Posted by BearCat View Post
    Then why do we bother with 2 or 3 high end GPU's if we're limited to seeing 60FPS? We could get by with 1 medium priced one.
    Because it depends on how demanding the game is at the resolution that you play. Take Crysis 3 for example. Say we play at 1080p (1920 x 1080) resolution with all the eye candy cranked up to the maximum. A GTX 670 would get you around 40-45FPS. That is far from achieving 60FPS. But if you run a GTX 670 SLI, then you would have no problem passing the 60FPS mark.

    If we were to run a less demanding game like Battlefield 3 at that same resolution with everything cranked up to the maximum, a GTX 670 would passed the 60FPS mark easily. Actually you would be getting something around 70FPS.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •