Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array rog-classified's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    135

    Turn a GTX 680 Into A GTX 770 By Flashing Custom BIOS ??

    Hi guys. I need to know that its possible to flash GTX 680 to 770. i have seen this in tomshardwear "Turn a GTX 680 Into A GTX 770 By Flashing Custom BIOS". If i flash my GTX 680 to 770, if something go wrong can i re flash it to 680? Did anyone try this already? please let me know. I`m using Asus GTX 680 D2T (SLI) cards.

    http://www.tomshardware.com/news/Nvi...ack,22561.html
    It ain't over till the fat lady sings ...

  2. #2
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,400

    It is not possible unfortunately ....it looks like all they did was change the name that GPUz shows and OCd a 680....
    If things look too good to be true....they usually aren't...

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    183
    Posts
    8,336

    Hm... that post claims that the GTX680s are basically identical to the GTX770s... - then it may be possible... but what's the point?!

    If you have the GTX680 DCIIT, you can OC it very high with it's hotwire feature and proper cooling...

    Edit: LOL, have you read the comments after that post you linked?
    Last edited by Zka17; 05-16-2013 at 12:26 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array rog-classified's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    135

    Yes. This is a fake. I just go through the comments in that page. Why the hell they post crap like this. GTX 680 (SLI) is more than enough to do my decoding and gaming for now. may be in another year or so....
    It ain't over till the fat lady sings ...

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Good pleased this was debunked quick. Wizard nearly had a fit when he looked at the code in that bin file.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •