Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 56
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Metaltoby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    119

    High temps 3960X (H100i)

    Since a week or two i see that the temps of the 3960X are to high. The CPU is now without an OC (3,6Ghz) .

    The 3960 is cooled by a Corsair H100i. Fans 40% idle Fans 100% under load

    4,6Ghz
    Normal temps Idle: 18C/39C
    Normal temps under load: 37C/56C

    4,6Ghz
    New temps Idle: 47C/79C
    New temps under load: ---------


    3,6Ghz
    New temps Idle: 34C/61C
    New temps under load: 40C/90C


    Is there anybody who can help me with this problem?
    l Asus Rampage 4 Extreme l intel 3960X@ 4800Mhz (1.4 volt) 24/7 l 3x Sapphire HD 7970 1200Mhz/1600Mhz Corsair Dominator GT 16GB DDR3 2133 CL9 l Enermax Max Revo 80+ 1500W l OCZ Vertex 3 Max Iops 120Gb l l OCZ Vertex 4 128GB l Samsung F1 1Tb l Samsung F1 500GB l Corsair H100 l CM Storm Trooper l Dell Ultra Sharp U2711 l 2x Verbatim Store N' Go 2 TB USB 3 l Dell Ultra Sharp U2711 l Logitech X-230 l

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,358

    First, double-check if your H100i's pump is still working... - put your finger on it while the system is on, you should feel the vibrations...

    Have you changed anything in your system before the temps went up?

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Metaltoby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    119

    The pump is working: I felt the vibrations and i see the pump is running at 2300RPM.

    The H100i is with a tiny bit arctic silver connected to the 3960X. That works till two weeks ago.

    I didn't change anything of my hardware. I have only installed Corsair Link. I've read the temps in the bios and these were also to high like Coretemp.
    Last edited by Metaltoby; 05-18-2013 at 11:04 AM.
    l Asus Rampage 4 Extreme l intel 3960X@ 4800Mhz (1.4 volt) 24/7 l 3x Sapphire HD 7970 1200Mhz/1600Mhz Corsair Dominator GT 16GB DDR3 2133 CL9 l Enermax Max Revo 80+ 1500W l OCZ Vertex 3 Max Iops 120Gb l l OCZ Vertex 4 128GB l Samsung F1 1Tb l Samsung F1 500GB l Corsair H100 l CM Storm Trooper l Dell Ultra Sharp U2711 l 2x Verbatim Store N' Go 2 TB USB 3 l Dell Ultra Sharp U2711 l Logitech X-230 l

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,358

    Hm... is the pump making strange sound? A new sound which wasn't there before? - it may be some air bubbles trapped in...

    If so, you could gently tilt your whole system in different directions to get the bubbles out of the pump...

    So, just to be clear, the cooling was OK with that Arctic Silver when you applied it, then went wrong without making any changes?

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    498
    Posts
    13,531

    Have you tried tilting the system about a bit...maybe an air pocket formed somewhere?....if rattling it about helps definitely time to send cooler off....though I suspect that is a given anyway.

    No voltage changes I presume....only temps?

  6. #6
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,112

    dust?? heat in room?

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Stupid question but do the fans spin?
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Metaltoby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    119

    Thanks for the comments.
    The fans really spin and controlled by a fan controler
    The ambient room temp is 20C
    I've turned the machine in different directions when running
    No hardware changes i have made the last two weeks
    I've installed Corsair link

    The temps are still high. Maybe i have to reinstall the H100i!
    l Asus Rampage 4 Extreme l intel 3960X@ 4800Mhz (1.4 volt) 24/7 l 3x Sapphire HD 7970 1200Mhz/1600Mhz Corsair Dominator GT 16GB DDR3 2133 CL9 l Enermax Max Revo 80+ 1500W l OCZ Vertex 3 Max Iops 120Gb l l OCZ Vertex 4 128GB l Samsung F1 1Tb l Samsung F1 500GB l Corsair H100 l CM Storm Trooper l Dell Ultra Sharp U2711 l 2x Verbatim Store N' Go 2 TB USB 3 l Dell Ultra Sharp U2711 l Logitech X-230 l

  9. #9
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,112

    do you use other monitoring programs then the link for the cooler?
    like AI suite or HWmonitor?

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    498
    Posts
    13,531

    Yeah, I was going to say more or less the same as kkn....AI suite and Corsair link seem to have issues if there is any other sensor polling software on the PC....so I was wondering about conflicts and if the readings are right too...

Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •