Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    5

    Adding a 3rd Hard Drive to the G73SW

    I read a forum about changing your dvd optical drive for a hard drive, I was skeptical at first but I really needed the extra space. I use a KIngston 120GB solid state drive for my OS and a seagate momentus 750GB for storage. I have recently started recording video games with FRAPS but 20-30minutes of footage is abt 25 gigs and easily fills up my storage drive.

    Anyway, I went ahead and ordered a new hard drive and cd/dvd hard drive caddy. I'm happy to say it worked perfectly, I posted pictures in my blog on how to do it if anyone is interested.

    Avenskypro

    I bought a cd/dvd hard drive caddy and a seagate 1T sshd for around $140 total.
    Last edited by Avensky; 05-19-2013 at 08:44 AM. Reason: Spelling

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array billyray520 PC Specs
    billyray520 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G73JH-A1, G73Sw
    MotherboardMaximus V Extreme, H97M-Plus
    ProcessorIntel Core I7 3770K, Core I5 4690s
    Memory (part number)32 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 (MVE)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire HD 7970 Dual X OC (MVE)
    Graphics Card #2Intel HD Graphics 4600
    MonitorAsus ProArt PA248 (MVE)
    Storage #1OCZ Vertex 4 2.5" 256 GB SSD (MVE)
    Storage #2Seagate 1 TB 7200 SATA III 6.0 GB/s (MVE)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i Liquid Cooler (MVE)
    CaseCooler Master HAF-X tower on wheels (MVE)
    Power SupplyThermaltake Toughpower Grand 1200W (MVE)
    Keyboard Logitech G110 Black LED (MVE)
    Mouse Asus ROG MOBKUL Gaming (MVE)
    OS Windows 7 Professional / Ubuntu 12.04 (MVE)
    Network RouterMotorola Surfboard SBG6580
    billyray520's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    501

    Good idea! You can also have a usb optical drive when needed. I'd look for one that is USB 3.0 capable.
    Asus Maximus V Extreme BIOS 1903, see specs above avatar.

    Asus G73 jh A1 laptop, BIOS 213, vBIOS OD2, 8 GB Ram, 240 GB Intel SSD, 180 GB Intel SSD. Win 7 Pro. Purchased new from PowerNotebooks.com in May 2010.
    (both have 1920X1080 hd screens, mine above, hers below )
    Asus G73 Sw XR1 laptop 8 GB Ram, 160 GB Intel SSD, 80 GB Intel SSD. Purchased used >Ebay 1/10/13, Did clean install of Windows 7

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    5

    Definitely, I'm looking to invest in one soon since they aren't too expensive.

  4. #4
    AntiMatter Guru ROG Array chrsplmr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Reputation
    295
    Posts
    6,113

    Avensky .. Welcome to ROG.

    Why not post that here ?? Good stuff.

    It strikes me that an alternative [and less expensive solution] would be a USB hardDrive. For some.c.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    5

    Thanks for the welcome, I'm not sure how to add the pictures but i'll give it a try.

    Anyway It's actually cheaper to buy the dvd hard drive caddy. It cost me about $9 which is cheaper then the cheapest 3.0 USB Sata converter wich can go for about $30. I have extra hard drives for storing media but I needed one dedicated to storing FRAPS game footage only so it was more convenient then having to drag the USB cable with me everywhere.

    I will probably still get the USB sata converter, but my immediate needs were to get more storage room without having to uninstall games and delete videos.

    Note: the hard drive in the pictures was just for sake of the pictures. I'm Using the 1 T SSHD. Might get another 1T hard drive and clone my Storage drive to that one.


    Step 1: Unscrew the backside cover
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0733.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	167.9 KB 
ID:	20793
    Step 2: Remove the optical drive.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0735.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	182.1 KB 
ID:	20794
    Step 3: Use a screw diver to pop-out the front bezel but be careful not to force it
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0738.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	151.2 KB 
ID:	20795
    Step 4: Pop in the bezel into the new 2nd hard drive caddy12.7mm Universal Optical Bay
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0742.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	163.5 KB 
ID:	20796
    Step 5: Take out the plastic holder and insert the new hard drive
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0743.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	158.6 KB 
ID:	20797
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0744.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	200.1 KB 
ID:	20798
    Step 6: Place the plastic back inside and screw in the hard drive form the back side
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0745.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	171.7 KB 
ID:	20799
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0746.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	117.5 KB 
ID:	20800
    Step 7: Screw the back cover back in, and slide in the newly installed HDD Caddy
    Step 8: Set up your new hard drive, wait for your computer to recognize it. Open or Download AOMEI Partition Assistant, Right click on your new hard drive and choose format, Set your new hard drive as NTFS
    Last edited by Avensky; 05-19-2013 at 10:29 PM. Reason: Added instructions

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,761

    @Avensky, +rep for the excellent set of instructions. Thanks for sharing! I'm highly impressed with the whole thing, since it is very wel done. Welcome to ROG! I'm curious about the performance of that 1 TB SSHD?
    I am disturbed because I cannot break my system...found out there were others trying to cope! We have a support group on here, if your system will not break, please join!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=16
    We now have 178 people whose systems will not break! Yippee!
    LINUX Users, we have a group!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=23

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    5

    It's hard to test the performance for hybrid drives since they get faster each time you load a certain file/program.

    I ran a simple test to see what would happen and it actually showed normal/slow hard drive access times on the first test, but during the second test the hybrid drive actually memorized the test and speed up it's access time to that of my solid state drive.

    First Test
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	HDTune_Benchmark_ST1000LM014-1EJ164.jpg 
Views:	9 
Size:	79.8 KB 
ID:	20806
    Second Test
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	HDTune_Benchmark_ST1000LM014-1EJ164(2).jpg 
Views:	9 
Size:	67.8 KB 
ID:	20807

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,761

    That is really interesting. I might have to try benchmarking my hybrid drive and see if it memorizes the tests as well. Is yours a 5400 RPM drive? If so, that would explain the slower access times, since the 1 TB drives are often slower than some of their smaller counterparts. I am aware of the timing issues with hybrid drives, since I have one myself. Those are some interesting results, especially that latency!
    I am disturbed because I cannot break my system...found out there were others trying to cope! We have a support group on here, if your system will not break, please join!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=16
    We now have 178 people whose systems will not break! Yippee!
    LINUX Users, we have a group!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=23

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    5

    It's 5400rpm, I was amused by the latency test too. It's exactly the same as my Kingston Hyperx 3k ssd on the second run.

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,761

    Quote Originally Posted by Avensky View Post
    It's 5400rpm, I was amused by the latency test too. It's exactly the same as my Kingston Hyperx 3k ssd on the second run.
    I guess that will just have to do. LOL.
    I am disturbed because I cannot break my system...found out there were others trying to cope! We have a support group on here, if your system will not break, please join!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=16
    We now have 178 people whose systems will not break! Yippee!
    LINUX Users, we have a group!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=23

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •