Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 19 of 19
  1. #11
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Quote Originally Posted by sectionate View Post
    when you select xmp proilfe write down the voltages its going to use. Then change the setting to manual and enter in the volts it had selected. Manual always runs better then "profiles". u got it ? or
    Yea I already tried that, I put the voltage in manually.

  2. #12
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    VCCSA and VCCIO (otherwise known as VTT) are probably best kept about same level if that was the question you were asking and 1.1v is a pretty normal voltage....nothing wrong with running at that voltage for 2133.

    The guys are simply suggesting that you reset the BIOS and then set XMP for the RAM. Then with this set you can look at what voltages that XMP profile is actually setting....you can read them off from the BIOS....it will help you to know what voltage the RAM's own profile is trying to set.

    You can use the voltages you note down as the starting point for manually setting up your RAM. If you set AI overclock tuner to MANUAL you can take full control of your voltages and often run the RAM at voltages lower than the XMP profile would set.

    For example if you see VCCSA and VTT are set to 1.25v and VDIMM to 1.68v by the xmp profile you can set that manually to start off and then reduce VCCSA and VTT slowly towards 1.1v and VDIMM to 1.5 or 1.65 (whatever the kit is rated at) while you test for stability...
    Yea I already tried that, the VCCSA / VCCIO the XMP profile set was the same as without XMP which is 0.925 (same as Auto). And the Ram voltage the XMP sets was 1.6v which is what this Ram kit is rated at. I already tried these and it wasn't stable.

  3. #13
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    509
    Posts
    13,689

    Right you are....I've seen a few times that auto sets low VCCSA and so low for 2133 I don't think is good...surprised XMP is trying to set this value..... Try 1.1 or 1.15 and see if that keeps you stable.....

  4. #14
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Yea I tried 1.0v and that didn't work. Right now Im trying 1.05v, and so far it 's going good. Hopefully I won't have to go up to 1.10v Im just worried that running VCCSA at anything higher than 1.0v will degrade the cpu. But I've seen a lot of ppl are running at 1.10v for 24/7 and they said it's fine. So it's not clear to me whether it's good or bad.

    Also, since this is an Asus forums, does anyone know why they didn't put the VCCIO option in the bios for the Z77 Sabertooth board? If any official Asus agent on here can share some lights?

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    509
    Posts
    13,689

    1.1 is a perfectly safe voltage (indeed 1.05 is considered the base voltage so...) up from 1.15 I would start to wonder. 1.15 is probably fine too but 1.2 1.25 etc I would not want to run 24/7 personally...

    Of course the lower the better while stable is what you are after. However I have seen recommendations to maintain VCCSA and VCCIO within a certain distance of Vcore and vdimm....on X79 that's within 0.3v of vcore and 0.6 v of vdimm....not sure about exact deltas on Ivy

  6. #16
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Do you think it's better to run a fixed cpu voltage? or have the Speed Step enabled and let the cpu lower the vcore and speed when idling or searching the web?

  7. #17
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,358

    It depends what you doing with your system... for benching it is usually better to disable all power saving features, but for everyday use i would enable them...

  8. #18
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Does it make a difference for stability though?

  9. #19
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    509
    Posts
    13,689

    Not for normal OCs. these days you can run a pretty high OC and keep these features on....you can have your cake and eat it these days. The modern processors aren't like the old ones the disable everything rules no longer apply.

    As Zka17 said this changes for very high clocks and benchmarking...

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •