Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Crosshair V Formula - Memory Upgrade

    Good evening all

    As the subject states I'd like to pull away from the 1333MHz RAM I've been using since my last system and speed things up a bit, I checked over the QVL for the Formula V, but it's not been updated since 6/2/11. Ideally, I'd like to max out the systems capabilities, there's no current budget in mind. Seeing as the systems been out a while I'm sure there are others out there who have found some stable DIMMs. I took a gamble on some 1866 Corsair Vengeance from another system, I thought maybe I could tweak it to work... Alas, after 4 hours of tweaks, I come to you all with an outstretched hand, lol. Any stable 32GB high frequency solutions out there? Thanks in advance, I sincerely appreciate the assist!!
    CPU: AMD FX8530 Memory: 16GB Corsair XMS3 1333MHz
    Mobo: ASUS Crosshair V Formula BIOS ver: 1703
    OS: Win 7 x64 Ultimate GFX: GTX560Ti 2GB (x2 SLI)
    Monitors: 3x ASUS VE278Q 27" (5760x1080)
    SSD: OCZ 120GB Vertex 3 HDD: WD 2TB SATA 6GB/s
    PSU: Rosewill 1000w Case: Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  2. #2
    AntiMatter Guru ROG Array chrsplmr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Reputation
    295
    Posts
    6,113

    Welcome to ROG Gone_Crazy ..
    There is a Sticky on just this subject actually:
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?4045-Crosshair-V-memory-stability-Data-Base&country=&status=
    You just happened to use the one that the CrossHair just hates playing nice with. Vengeance. [it depends on the individual cpu really]

    That said, I have had great luck with Dominator GT in both the 1866 and 2133 flavors.
    [[ i know, these are not on the QVL -- but are featured in many ROG OC successess ]]
    The Dominator Platinums are quad channel while the CH V is Dual .. but also work fine as I have seen.
    [try to get a kit if possible] but if you get 2 16gb's make sure the sets are in there own channels (blacks with blacks/reds with reds)
    Everyone has their favorites .. how well they work for you depends much upon your cpu.

    Best of Luck. Keep us Posted.c.

  3. #3
    imMortal Kombatant Array Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage IV Formula
    ProcessorIntel i7 3930K
    Memory (part number)8GB Corsair XMS3 1600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Radeon 7970 3GD5
    Sound CardROG Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster SA300
    Storage #1Corsair Neutron 128GB
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair A50 Pro Air Cooler
    CaseBitFenix Merc Alpha
    Power SupplyThermaltake Litepower 700W
    Keyboard Alienware TactX Keyboard
    Mouse Tesoro Gandiva H1L
    OS Win7 Ultimate x64
    Myk SilentShadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    5,241

    There are dom plats that are dual channel too Chris

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    That's fantastic news, that's just what I was hoping to hear. The QVL, while good information for 8-16GB setups, was rather lacking in 32GB solutions, lol. I am sorry I missed the sticky though, still learning my way around, I appreciate you pointing that out to me and I'll be sure to give it a very thorough once over before ordering another kit That 2133 flavor you were talking about dooooes sound good though, lol... although after flashing the BIOS this past weekend I've noticed a 2400 Flavored option there as well, I'll have to look into both of them!!

    Thank you both for the tips! I'll let you know what I decide on!!
    CPU: AMD FX8530 Memory: 16GB Corsair XMS3 1333MHz
    Mobo: ASUS Crosshair V Formula BIOS ver: 1703
    OS: Win 7 x64 Ultimate GFX: GTX560Ti 2GB (x2 SLI)
    Monitors: 3x ASUS VE278Q 27" (5760x1080)
    SSD: OCZ 120GB Vertex 3 HDD: WD 2TB SATA 6GB/s
    PSU: Rosewill 1000w Case: Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  5. #5
    AntiMatter Guru ROG Array chrsplmr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Reputation
    295
    Posts
    6,113

    Well to tell you the truth from my experience .. others have more and may have other ideas .. but
    1866 seems to be a real sweet spot for amd's .. not that i have had issue with 2133.
    As to the 2400 ?? no idea .. havent had the pleasure.

    i run bios 506 with an 1100T and 1866 ... where i will stay until amd and ROG come out
    with a new chipset and board respectively.
    ROGon.c.

    Thnx Myk.c.

  6. #6
    Here is my ROG title Array Granger PC Specs
    Granger PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair Formula V
    ProcessorPhenom II 1100T
    Memory (part number)G-Skill RipjawsX 2x4Gb@1838Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire HD7970 OC VaporX
    MonitorSamsung Syncmaster 2253LW + 2 Packard Bell 19.5" vga
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 850EVO 250gb
    Storage #2250gb SSD + 4 HD 3Tb total + NAS 3Tb
    CPU CoolerSwiftech custom loop
    CaseCoolerMaster HAF 932 modified
    Power SupplyCoolermaster SilentPro Hybrid 1300W
    Keyboard Razer Black Widow Ultimate
    Mouse Razer Ourobouros
    Headset Razer Tiamat 7.1
    Mouse Pad Razer Exact Mat
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterISP provided (Free)
    Accessory #1 Razer Hydra
    Accessory #2 Madcatz Arcade Fightstick
    Accessory #3 Belkin n52te
    Granger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    419

    I agree with you on that chrsplmr, but only for the Phenoms, I believe the Piledrivers are capable of running the 2133 without too many problems. Not too sure about the 2400?


  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Corsair Dominator Platinum 16GB (4x4GB)
    DDR3 2400 MHz (PC3-19200) 10-12-12-31
    PN: CMD16GX3M4A2400C10


    Looking at these and drooling a bit, really sweating at the palms to try that 2400Mhz option that popped up in the BIOS after this weekends flash, LOL. Can't hang a carrot like that in front of me... GAH!!! I did however drop my desire for 32GB to the 16GB kit... logic kicked in after the price tags slapped me in the face, lol... dropping to 16GB drops about $200 off the tag. I've yet to go above 10GB really unless I'm torture testing, and I don't really see my usage changing much in the next 3 years which is the time frame I usually try to forecast my needs for.

    And unfortunately once the logic starts its hard to get the Genie back in the bottle...

    Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 16GB (4 x 4GB)
    DDR3 DRAM 2133MHz (PC3 17000) 9-11-10-30
    PN: CMD16GX3M4A2133C9



    1333Mhz CL9 - 13.5ns latency (current)
    2133Mhz CL9 - 8.43ns latency
    2400Mhz CL10 - 8.33ns latency

    Soooo definitely wanna get a new set for that extra 75% speed jump between the 1333 to the 2133, but I'm not entirely certain the 2400 is worth the extra $40-$50 for an additional tenth of a nanosecond... Sadly... it looks like logic is going to prevent me from testing that sweet new 2400 number that appeared in my BIOS, lol... could always overclock the 2133 to the 2400... heh.

    Whatcha think? Any concerns I've not considered? Can someone think of a reason i want the 2400 that I can't think of? I mean aside from the fact that 2400Mhz would look nice in my signature, lol.

    Formula i used for latency was "(CL/Mhz) * 2000 = latency (ns)"
    Last edited by Gone_Crazy; 06-05-2013 at 08:14 AM. Reason: added formula
    CPU: AMD FX8530 Memory: 16GB Corsair XMS3 1333MHz
    Mobo: ASUS Crosshair V Formula BIOS ver: 1703
    OS: Win 7 x64 Ultimate GFX: GTX560Ti 2GB (x2 SLI)
    Monitors: 3x ASUS VE278Q 27" (5760x1080)
    SSD: OCZ 120GB Vertex 3 HDD: WD 2TB SATA 6GB/s
    PSU: Rosewill 1000w Case: Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Or... maybe I should get:
    Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum Series 16GB (2 x 8GB)
    DDR3 DRAM 2400MHz PC3 19200 C10 10-12-12-31
    PN: CMD16GX3M2A2400C10

    That way I can buy 2 more 3, 4 months from now for the 32gb ... *sigh* ... too many options, lol.
    I've been looking at them too long and I'm just stuck in a loop, tomorrow I'm just gonna hit buy.
    ....Tonight though... I sleep, lol. Extremely long night.
    CPU: AMD FX8530 Memory: 16GB Corsair XMS3 1333MHz
    Mobo: ASUS Crosshair V Formula BIOS ver: 1703
    OS: Win 7 x64 Ultimate GFX: GTX560Ti 2GB (x2 SLI)
    Monitors: 3x ASUS VE278Q 27" (5760x1080)
    SSD: OCZ 120GB Vertex 3 HDD: WD 2TB SATA 6GB/s
    PSU: Rosewill 1000w Case: Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    I am not even sure what gains you will notice with your purchase to be blunt. Size matters more in memory these days, and not frequency. Look if you are going 2400MHz then yeah some stuff will open two or three microseconds quicker.

    Are you not able to OC your current ram to 1600Mhz?
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •